We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stories Hotel Karakol
Ranked #418 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel is worth the effort to find, it takes you off the main streets and opens another world. I have stayed in the Old City part of Istanbul on three previous visits and may have been converted to this lively part of town close to taksim square where airport transfers are easy and inexpensive. The hotel was readily willing to hold one our bags for a week which is appreciated. Also appreciated was the room upgrade that was offered without request. A genuine sanctuary.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
48
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights late august. Originally booked for stories kuloglu but was transferred down the road to karakol as the AC wasn't working.
For us the area was perfect, located off from a VERY busy shopping district. At night the place was simply alive with people and corn/kebab stalls. It is a 3 minute walk to Taksim square and public transport. Despite the presence of riot police, there was absolutely no sign of any trouble.
The was some street noise at night if you leave a window open, but minimal noise if left closed and the AC on.
No breakfast provided, but plenty of local eateries supplying the local fare at cheap prices.
Rooms are modern, clean, well-serviced.
Downside is also the location. Some people may not like its proximity to Taksim square. Didn't bother us and we were walking during the hours of 6am and 11pm. Probably best not for small kids though.
Can be hard to find initially when transferring from the airport.
Apparently Stories Kuloglu has a better/quiter location, owned by the same group.
Overall I can recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I just happened to spend 4 nights there last week to conclude my Turkey trip. This place was a little hard to find at first because I wasn't use to the street in Istanbul, and I arrived too early than their regular check in time, but the staff was very helpful and can get me to check in right away!

The place is very nice with big bed and very nice bathroom. With the great location that I can get to both subway and tram, I will definately be back!

PS. One of the stop of Taksim tram is in front of the hotel street.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

It is a very nice hotel, centrally located although difficult for the taxi driver to find.

The service was very good and overall it provided good value for the money.

Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

For the price of a 3 star hotel, I received 4-5 star accommodations and service. Excellent room. Very well located in the Taksim/Beyoglu areas. Charming neighbourhood filled with restaurants, bars and local businesses. A one minute walk to Istiklal. I will stay there again anytime I am back in Istanbul

Room Tip: Travel when there are protests in Istanbul. Tourists stay away and you can negotiate the price of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoreyGilShuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Booked a room for one night whilst in Istanbul. Great location based just off istikal street (Taksim). Nuray and Mustafa were extremley friendly and assisted in all my requests. Great price for beautiful room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shekhar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

A very pleasant, clean and well-presented small boutique hotel in a popular area of Istanbul. Very welcoming staff who were very helpful, and the rooms are well-sized, airy, well-equipped and very up-to-date. The hotel is located off the main shopping road on one of the many side streets, close to many bars, restaurants and cafes, and close to Taksim Square. It is a bustling area but our room (at the back of the hotel) was very quiet - and all rooms are double glazed anyway. I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I don't know if the front rooms are noisy, but the back rooms weren't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve1982uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Next2 Hotel
Next2 Hotel
#89 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Beyoglu
Stories Hotel Kuloglu
Stories Hotel Kuloglu
#445 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Beyoglu
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
#572 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Misafir Suites 8 Istanbul
Misafir Suites 8 Istanbul
#334 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Beyoglu
Taxim Lounge Hotel
Taxim Lounge Hotel
#431 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Beyoglu
Hotel Residence Istanbul
Hotel Residence Istanbul
#710 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stories Hotel Karakol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stories Hotel Karakol

Property: Stories Hotel Karakol
Address: Kuloglu Mah. Sadri Alisik Street. No : 26 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#129 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stories Hotel Karakol 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stories Hotel Karakol is an exquisite Istiklal Street hotel within walking distance of tram stations and Taksim Square. Stories Hotel Karakol is in a building of lovely French architecture that dates back to the early 1900s. It has been recently renovated to improve its infrastructure without losing its historic charm. Among the modern additions are an up-to-date fire alarm system, video surveillance security, and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stories Hotel Karakol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stories Apart Karakol Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing