We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel very nice staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stories Hotel Karakol
Ranked #436 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel very nice staff!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We booked through booking.com on arrival we realized that we had booked and prepaid for the dates we thought, but for the next month! The hotel staff were very professional and because they had space they said they could of course honor our booking and prepayment then instead. Great service throughout our stay. When we were there on Saturday night, as we gathered regularly happens, there were riots in Taksim Square and tear gas in the streets. We felt very safe in the hotel and my only complaint, which is not the fault of the hotel, but something to be aware of is that as some tear gas was released on the street the combustion smell did enter the room a bit. This is something that I'm sure any hotel in Beyoglu must deal with and it still appears to be the best place to stay. The other thing is that a bar across the street can sometime play loud music until 12 or 1 am, this did not matter much for us and the hotel windows are thick, but you may want to request a room on a high floor or interior facing. The hotel staff were very kind and helped us to figure out everything we needed, even those who did not speak much English went out of their way to be accommodating to us.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing the street, if possible maybe on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
48
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Would recommend it wholeheartedly. An excellent boutique hotel with excellent service, located near the center, with marvellous aesthetics. We had a lovely time as a couple visiting Istanbul for the first time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Lampros1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali O, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Karakol, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to leave your impressions of your stay at the Stories Hotel Karakol on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were generally satisfied with our services and the staff. We truly hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
187 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had a good experience at this hotel. It's pretty small and quite charming, the rooms are very well decorated, and the lobby is nice and spacious. It is great value for what you get. The only problems are the location, although very close to Istikal, it was really hard to arrive by car, which caused us some problems with taxi drivers. The service was also not great, not really friendly and a little bit cold. But it is good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali O, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Stories Hotel Karakol, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at Stories Hotel Karakol and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
Normally before guests arrival if we do have their contact email ,we do send them a a map with our hotel location so they can print it , and directions in Turkish from airport to hotel if they choose to came by taxi ,also we do have transfer service.
In this way they should not have difficulties in finding us.
Thank you again ,we are most concerned with the satisfaction of all our guests and your feedback is a great value to us.

Best regards from all staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Very convenient for Taksim Square but the hotel is loacted in a local neighbourhood.
It's crammed between other houses and shops...
The hotel itself is neat and tidy but very basic and tiny !
I have not seen a small hotel than this before.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This place was quite hard to find, even the taxi driver had some grief locating it. Even when I knew where it was I kept walking past it as it is so well camouflaged to the street.

Anyway, very nice room but tiny! The cleaner didn't refill my toiletries however.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank zipfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The stay here was perfect, as the hotel location is fabulous, right in the middle of everything, and the metro close by. we stayed in the kings deluxe room, everything was perfect in the room, very nicely done up and extremely comfortable and clean. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The only thing is the hotel does not have breakfast options but that is not a problem because as you step out there are hundreds of cafes and restaurants. will definitely go back here.

Room Tip: choose the deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saahilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel is worth the effort to find, it takes you off the main streets and opens another world. I have stayed in the Old City part of Istanbul on three previous visits and may have been converted to this lively part of town close to taksim square where airport transfers are easy and inexpensive. The hotel was readily willing to hold one our bags for a week which is appreciated. Also appreciated was the room upgrade that was offered without request. A genuine sanctuary.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Next2 Hotel
Next2 Hotel
#92 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Beyoglu
Stories Hotel Kuloglu
Stories Hotel Kuloglu
#465 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Beyoglu
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
#552 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Misafir Suites 8 Istanbul
Misafir Suites 8 Istanbul
#321 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Beyoglu
Taxim Lounge Hotel
Taxim Lounge Hotel
#414 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Beyoglu
Hotel Residence Istanbul
Hotel Residence Istanbul
#713 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stories Hotel Karakol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stories Hotel Karakol

Property: Stories Hotel Karakol
Address: Kuloglu Mah. Sadri Alisik Street. No : 26 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#129 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stories Hotel Karakol 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stories Hotel Karakol is an exquisite Istiklal Street hotel within walking distance of tram stations and Taksim Square. Stories Hotel Karakol is in a building of lovely French architecture that dates back to the early 1900s. It has been recently renovated to improve its infrastructure without losing its historic charm. Among the modern additions are an up-to-date fire alarm system, video surveillance security, and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stories Hotel Karakol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stories Apart Karakol Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing