We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice boutique hotel in a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
Ranked #450 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is nicely designed and very clean. Upon arrival, they offered us a free upgrade from a standard room to a deluxe room. It was very comfortable and bright, and a kettle, coffee maker, tea, and even 2 stovetops were provided in the room. We were on the 2nd floor, so we could hear a bit of street noise at all times of the day/night, but it did not bother us at all. The hotel is located literally a fews steps from Istiklal Caddesi, very close to Galata Tower, and a 5-10 min walk down to the tram to get to Sultanahmet. However, beware that the whole area from the hotel down to the river is on a VERY steep hill. One of the people at reception was a little less knowledgable/helpful than the other, but still nice. Also, the city map they gave us was not very good - you can get much better ones at other hotels.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher room in case you are bothered by light-moderate street noise when you sleep.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spf701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear spf701,

We would like to thank you for putting forward our strong points as well as the weak ones which
we will take to a big consideration and improve them. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay
with us and it was our pleasure to have you. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

We ended our trip to Turkey by staying three nights in this hotel and we were very pleased. Its a great value, the rooms are clean, well decorated, well appointed, spacious and the shower is lovely. It was nice to be able to relax on a couch in our own room and the complementary tea and water (2 small bottles) was appreciated. The location is great - you can walk right onto Istiklal and head towards the water and Galata tower or up towards Taksim Square. Lots of lovely eating places and shopping nearby. I recommend checking out the Istanbul Museum of Modern Art as well as ARTER (just up the street from the hotel) if you are a fan of contemporary art. A taxi is cheaper than their shuttle service if you are looking to get to and from the hotel. We were a bit annoyed that neither our shuttle drive nor hotel had change so we had to give a fairly large tip to the driver. Make sure you have small bills if you decide on that route.
I guess my only complaint would be that we were never told there was a breakfast included (as I read in several other reviews) so we never tried the breakfast but we enjoyed ourselves at some lovely places nearby that were quite reasonable.

Room Tip: The regular rooms just have a small window that don't look out onto anything so if you like to h...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrinterBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Stories Hotel Kumbaraci in May. We found the hotel extremely nice. It was tastefully decorated, quiet, and a good value. The staff were always very helpful and friendly. The shuttle that was arranged to transfer us from the airport to the hotel was on time, and the driver made us feel very comfortable (unlike in other cities, where they often drive like maniacs). The location worked out very well for us. Our only recommendation might be that the breakfast have some choices available. We stayed at the hotel for six days, but only ate breakfast twice because it was the same thing each time.

Room Tip: We selected the room that did not have a view and had little direct sunlight. This was not a problem...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junerose33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear June,

We are really thankfull to you for taking your time and writing such wonderful comments for us.
We are quite proudfull that our guests do like our decoration which we had the pleasure of creating.

Your reviews towards breakfast will be taken to consideration and we have the promise to improve
ourselves in such service. We looking forward to have you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Me and my spouse were at the hotel in the beginning of April 2013. We liked Stories Hotel Kumbaraci. Everything in the hotel was nice. Personnel is friendly. Service is perfect. We would like to note one remark only. Unfortunately, breakfast was outside the hotel. It is a little bit inconvenient. In other respects it was perfectly well.
I hope we will visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmitry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Dear Mr. Dmitry,

We really appreciate the time you have taken to write this review. Feedback is extremely important in order for us to know what we are doing right and what we can do to improve. The days you were staying at our hotel we were remodeling the restaurant. Now everything has done and we serve the breakfast again at next door. It would be an immense pleasure for us to have you back at Stories Hotel very soon !
Best regards,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This is indeed my first time writing a review on an hotel. But it's really worth it. I have been travelling in 66 countries and have lived in Turkey for almost 5 years now, but living in Ankara I often go to Istanbul for business. I visited all the hotels in the area of Beyoglu and can easily say this is the best compromise in price-quality wise.

First thing you need to know is that the location is great. A few steps from Istiklal, 5 min from Galata, near all sorts of good restaurants and the Sishane Metro Station. In that sense there is really no one like this Hotel.

Second the staff is professional, kind, and speaks perfect english.

Third the rooms are spacious, with all the comforts you can want and silent (the latter is maybe the most important criteria when choosing an hotel in the area). Yes because it's true that Beyoglu never sleeps with all its clubs, restaurants, famous places and the Istiklal Road but it is very difficult to find a nice hotel where you would not be bothered by all the noise. After trying at leasdt 15 hotels in the area this is indeed the best.

I strongly recommend it. It is so good I took the time, like never before, to make this review.

Enjoy it.

The staff at the entrance is great

PS: I was looking for some critical points to make this review really honest but the only thing that I could find is that You need to move next door to have breakfast in the Italian Restaurant. I do not care and it was actually good ... but for the sake of honesty ....

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frontesquieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you have taken to write this fantastic review. Feedback is extremely important in order for us to know what we are doing right and what we can do to improve.We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and we do hope you will be back to stay with us in the future.See you soon.
Kind Regards,

Hotel Team Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

high quality and clean rooms.. everything was perfect thanks to polite staffs.. just little bit cold on winter thats it:) Location is the middle of istiklal street, so close to night life and historical places. good choice if you wanna go to magical istanbul

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coffin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review.
Once you are in Taksim, it is pretty easy to switch into holiday mode no matter what you are here for. It is a special place.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back here soon.
Warm Regards,

Hotel Team Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

If you are looking for a very clean, attractively furnished, functional, quiet, and comfortable hotel room without the frills (lobby, shops, pool, view), this is a superb choice. The internet service is excellent, as is the heating/cooling system. An added plus is that the staff are very friendly and consistently helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Mr. Kuran,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment. We really appreciate the time you have taken to write this review. Feedback is extremely important in order for us to know what we are doing right and what we can do to improve. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to see on next month.Kind Regards,
Hotel Team Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Hotel Gritti Pera
Hotel Gritti Pera
#714 of 1,159 in Istanbul
48 reviews
Beyoglu
Meroddi Galata Mansion
Meroddi Galata Mansion
#341 of 1,159 in Istanbul
228 reviews
Beyoglu
By Murat Crown
By Murat Crown
#410 of 1,159 in Istanbul
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Purl Hotel
The Purl Hotel
#437 of 1,159 in Istanbul
24 reviews
Beyoglu
Occidental The Public
Occidental The Public
#149 of 1,159 in Istanbul
246 reviews
Beyoglu
Sanat Hotel Pera
Sanat Hotel Pera
#373 of 1,159 in Istanbul
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stories Hotel Kumbaraci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stories Hotel Kumbaraci

Address: Kumbaraci Yokusu No 66 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #450 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £39 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stories Hotel Kumbaraci 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building named after Kumbaracı Ramp, one of the most well-known streets of Beyoğlu consists of 24 rooms with a surface area of approximately 23-61 sq. meters and bar with a fireplace, restaurant and bistro.This building that attracts the attention of people walking by in Istiklal Street with its historical exteriors is located in Asmalı Mescit that became the center of not only our cultural heritage but also the entertainment with lively cafés and restaurants.Asmalı Mescit, the most well-known area of Beyoğlu and the most popular district of historical Pera resisting to being forgotten and defeated by time is the meeting point of entertainment lovers thanks to its night clubs and bars. Current historic fabric was restored with modern lines and it is surrounded by boutique hotels, restaurants and entertainment facilities. Thus Asmalımescit, the center of night life in Istanbul and the mirror of Beyoğlu not only entertains but also displays the finest details of cultural heritage. The building of Stories Hotel Kumbaracı dating back to early 1900s and matching with this location elegantly features the typical characteristics of French architecture that forms the architectural style of Beyoğlu predominantly. It was intended to create large suit rooms in this building which was decorated successfully to maximize the functionality.Stories Hotel Kumbaracı combines the modernism and history with its high ceilings, large passageways, marble spiral staircase and bar in the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stories Hotel Kumbaraci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing