We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular property and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stories Hotel Kuloglu
Ranked #481 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular property and staff”
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

We took a long-weekend break to Istanbul; first visit to the city. I've relied heavily on Tripadvisor in selecting hotels for a couple of years, but this is my first time to post a review.

I travel quite extensively for work and leisure around Europe. I don't hesitate in saying this is the best value-for-money hotel I've stayed in on any of my European travels over the last 3.5 years living in this part of the world.

The physical property was immaculate, and had a proper high-end feel and touch to it for the value. The staff were splendid and graciously arranged for taxis and offered helpful tourist advice (even calling certain attractions to verify opening hours etc). We stayed in a junior suite which was spacious, well proportioned, and lots of natural light and recommended by me particularly to fellow American travellers more use to 'extra space'.

The one general cautionary advice I would give (not specific to Stories) is regarding the Taksim neighbourhood overall. It's crowded and loud until the wee hours so a laid back attitude and a pair of earplugs definitely come in handy -- no matter which hotel in this area you choose no doubt. With that said this part of town was fun and did not feel touristy to me so in my opinion well worth the small trade off.

I have already recommended Stories to my friends back in London and look forward to a return visit one of these days.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
38
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The hotel is comfortable, clean, spacious, and nice decorated. It's very close to Taksim for ppl who want night life there. But he hotel is not really right for us.

The hotel is very difficult to reach. The taxi driver claimed to know the location, but did not take the route as the hotel suggested in the map. After I requested the driver to talk to the hotel, the hotel was not able to convince the driver to get to the narrow street next to the hotel. We requested the hotel to send the staff to meet us at the drop off place, which is 2-min walk according to them. The gentleman said he could not because he is the only person in the hotel! We ended up walking for 15 mins up and down in the narrow alley with two heavy suitcases. Unless you want night life till AM, i would have stayed at old town and take the tram to reach Taksim.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This place beats 4 star hotels in the US. Friendly people,attention to details, simply Great! I guess the only bad thing I can think of is that it took the Cab driver a while to find it. It is in a small alley st and it is hard to find if you don't know the area. I do strongly recommend this place to family and friends.

Room Tip: Rooms are small....but not really a big deal when your consider everything else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ftabbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kuloglu, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Mr. Tabbara,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave your impressions of your stay at the Stories Hotel on TripAdvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were generally satisfied with our services and the staff. We truly hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back! Best regards,
Hotel Team Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Last month we stayed for 4 nights at this boutique hotel. Initially, we had a very difficult time locating the place. As unbelievable as it sounds, the taxi driver who took us from the airport, spent two and a half hours going around up and down the hills of Pera trying to find it. But despite this initial negative experience, once we arrived at the hotel, its staff (and especially Mohammed and Sedar) made every effort to assist us. For example, Mohammed found on a Sunday a 24 hour pharmacy which we required summoned the taxi explained our needs and sent us on our way. One thing, English is not widely spoken in Turkey but the staff here had no problem conversing with us and offering information and assistance. Yes the hotel is located off the busy Istiklal Caddesi that never sleeps, but our room on the 3rd floor, was remarkably quiet. It is very clean and well cared for by its maintenance staff. It offers amenities such as sleepers and bathrobes that one does not expect to find at a hotel of its size. It has an elevator, and its amenities include tea, coffee, water bottles (free of charge, again, something one does not find in many hotels worldwide) plus a mini bar. The hotel now offers a free breakfast but if you expect croissants and the likes you will not find them here. The breakfast offered is typical Turkish. Two or three kind of cheeses, bread, jam, a hard or a soft boiled egg, olives, tea or coffee. However, as has been pointed out the hotel is located near many restaurants and cafes so there are many choices. We would certainly stay here again in any future visit to Istanbul.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selene32607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kuloglu, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Stories Hotel during your trip to Istanbul and for sharing your appreciation with us .
We were very pleased to read that you appreciated the assistance of our staff , Mohammed who helped you in finding a plarmacy and Serdar .
However ,we are very sorry to hear that your arrival by taxi to our hotel took you so long .That is why we are usually sending with few days before guest's arrival a pre-welcoming mail and explaining them the easiest way to get here ,including a map with directions..
We are sorry if we were not able to send you this email ,as most probably your mail address was not included in reservation details.
We really hope to see you again .
Kind Regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2012

It has been my first Istanbul experience. This Hotel helped me to make it memorable!
Great and helpful staff, they made me feel as at home..
Located in the heart of the city, but few steps out of the crowded areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matteofortin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kuloglu, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Mr. Fortin,

We would like to thank you for choosing Stories Hotel as your accomodation choice during your stay in Istanbul ,and for taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor .
We were very pleased to read that you appreciated the assistance of our staff and enjoyed your visit in our hotel.
Your kind words have been passed on to our team .This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work .
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Istanbul.
Warm Regards ,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed here on our first visit to Istanbul, not knowing what to expect. Beautiful hotel, modern decor and rooms are very nice. Housekeeping did a great job, room was super clean, fresh towels, and toiletries kept replenished. Staff was friendly and helpful for directions. Location is good, next to Taksim square for shopping and restaurants and easy transit to sultanamet. Can be a bit noisy at night due mot the proximity of local cafes and bars.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameera T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

just came home after 4 days in this nice quiet place, everything is perfect and very helpfull staff to. No breakfeast or bar in hotel but just go 100 m out and there are many places for good breakfeast, lunch and dinner. Taksim area and especially this hotel was super. And don´t forget to eat at Maidens tower. Exspensiv but where can you have the chance for a romantic dinner in the middle of the sea. And to be picked up by private boat.

Room Tip: room 110 is a de-luxe king room, very quit and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nette09_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Stories Hotel Karakol
Stories Hotel Karakol
#451 of 1,156 in Istanbul
90 reviews
Beyoglu
Corinne Hotel
Corinne Hotel
#120 of 1,156 in Istanbul
323 reviews
Beyoglu
Misafir Suites 8 Istanbul
Misafir Suites 8 Istanbul
#313 of 1,156 in Istanbul
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Taxim Lounge Hotel
Taxim Lounge Hotel
#397 of 1,156 in Istanbul
40 reviews
Beyoglu
Next2 Hotel
Next2 Hotel
#107 of 1,156 in Istanbul
156 reviews
Beyoglu
ODDA Hotel
ODDA Hotel
#476 of 1,156 in Istanbul
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stories Hotel Kuloglu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stories Hotel Kuloglu

Property: Stories Hotel Kuloglu
Address: Kuloglu Mah. Ayhan Isik Sok. No:30 Tarlabasi, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #481 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stories Hotel Kuloglu 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stories Apart Kuloglu offers self-catering apartments in Istanbul, Turkey, boasting a modern and eclectic style. The apartment complex in located within 2 minutes walking distance to Taksim Square, in Ayhan Isık Sokak Street next to İstiklâl Caddesi Street and is easily accessible by public transport (tram, subway, and bus). These apartments in Istanbul's Beyoğlu district is ideal for those looking for accommodation in the most active art, entertainment and night life centre of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stories Hotel Kuloglu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing