We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did I stay at a different Sultan Palace Hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sultan Palace Hotel
Ranked #563 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Lisbon
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Did I stay at a different Sultan Palace Hotel?”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I have just returned from a trip to Istanbul, and after some careful reviews on different sites, I decided to stay at the Sultan Palace Hotel. The hotel, although on a slope, was very well situated. I could walk to almost all the attractions - Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Haya Sofia, Tokapi Palace, the University and a couple of mosques nearby. It was about 5-7 minutes from the Sultanamet Square, with all the restaurants, shops and public transportations.
Although not luxurious, but then at 100€ per night in Istanbul you are not likely to find any luxury hotel that is centrally located, I found the room to be extremely clean, very well kept, with English channels TV, free internet, safe and a mini bar. I could not find any fault in the rooms. They were not big, but it was adequate for 2 paxs. The bathroom was compact, but shower was good. The girl at the reception skope English and was extremely helpful with information, tours and transfers. Although the manager did not speak English, he did his best to fulfill all our requests.
I know nothing about entering through the kitchen door, because while I stayed there (from April 26-May 2, 2012) I always entered through the front door.
Breakfast could be better, but then, we are in Istanbul, and they are different.! They did provide some fruits, ham and cheese and throughout the day, we could help ourselves to coffee and tea. A toaster would have been much appreciated.
But on the whole, I like the hotel and would no doubt recommend it to all those who want a clean hotel in a central location for a reasonable price. I have stayed in much better hotels before, for more or less the same price, but this is Istanbul, and clean and central hotels dont come very cheap.It is a no fuss hotel, but quite good.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 304.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    35
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
18
47
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We arrived in the evening (end of December) and, as a man in the street told us, the hotel had been closed by the police for a missing certificate.However, staff of the hotel let us enter through the kitchen, each time lowering the shutter behind us!!!???
During the night it was impossible to sleep, because of the noisy girl in the room close to us, receiving men from the afternoon to 2 am...The breakfast was poor, without milk. The day after we came back to hotel at 7 pm and the room was not cleaned: 110 euros per night for a double room and not cleaning service included? And the girl of the room close to us was still "making noise" with a man...
Therefore, we decided to go away. The staff of the hotel forced us to pay also the second night, even if we protested against the cleaning, the noise and the hotel closed...they just offered us to change room and promise to clean the room the day after...after a discussion we accepted to pay the second night and went away, because we did not want to stay there! We were also scared, because it seemed that the only customers of the closed hotel were us and the prostitute!
Terrible experience...we found another hotel in sultanhamet, cheaper, bigger, more beautiful and clean!! And, moreover, OPEN, without policel seal!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chiara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Beach SA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed here 4 nights. The first night, the hotel was over-booked ( can happen) but we were not informed about it until credit card debit had been blocked. First we signed and then we were told it was full. The room we were given in another hotel was a downgrade to a room size of about 9sqm and cost €59 on the web as to the €99 we had had blocked on our card. The difference was not offered to us straight away and we had to fight to reach an agreement that we only pay €25. Correctly for all the upheaval involved, we should either have had to pay nothing for the night or an upgrade in hotel.
The next day we did get put in a nice twin on the top floor with balcony and sea view which was quite comfortable. I did mention to the owner that the balcony window, altho new, was either warped or not installed correctly as there was 1cm gap the length of the window where the wind blew in from outside at 4°. In the bathroom the plug socket was hanging out the wall, there was no heating on in the room altho it was 4° outside and we couldn't get the aircon to blow warm air but it was warm under the blanket. The bedding and beds were quite comfortable and internet worked well.
The hotel still has its main entrace sealed closed with an official wire and tab and all guests were ushered out the back door thru the kitchen. The kitchen door is always kept closed by a blind and some-one is there to open the blind and close the blind as you go in and out. So as Eire 2002 mentions above, we, as guests had the feeling of being smuggled in and out.Not quite what one would expect for €99 per night. But the taxi and shuttle drivers all seem to be informed as we were always collected at the back door. Something not quite right there. The breakfasts were nice with plenty of fruit, egg, cheese, ham, turkish specialities. The staff working there all pleasant and helpful

Room Tip: ask for a balcony and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fynbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We spent 4 nights at the Sultan Palace hotel.

The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is good, however:

1) on our second night at 3am, one of the staff (Emin) entered our room and I immediately woke up. Before I could speak to him, I heard him saying sorry and he quickly left.. My wife woke up and rang reception. Emin said he entered our room by mistake, as he allegedly was organising a taxi for a sick kid in room 104 (we were staying in room 401). Although the sick kid story was true, we still can't understand how we got our room mistaken for one on the first floor and why he decided to enter the room using a staff key without knocking or ringing. Needless to say, myself and my wife were terrified and couldn't sleep properly after that.

To make things worse, on the last night another staff member did exactly the same, opening our door without knocking or giving any notice. I wonder if they keep a note of where their guests are staying at all... A few hours later the same staff member comes knocking on our door offering us a big plate of fruit (all we wanted was to be left alone and be assured no one would bolt through our door again...)

2) during our stay, we couldn't use the front door of the hotel and staff would insist we leave the hotel every morning through the kitchen door at the back of the hotel (see non-English review below). One day we left and walked around the corner to see 3 police cars and 6 policemen standing at the door discussing something with staff. We asked them about it and no one gave us any explanation. At night, one of the staff would sit on a sofa on the street keeping an eye out on the door and the whole reception would be kept in darkness.

Only on our last day, one of the managers (the only one who could speak English properly) told us that they had to keep the front door locked because the building being refurbished next door (it had some tarpaulings but wasn't about to collapse...) was unsafe and the Turkish authorities wouldn't let them use front door (that didn't seem like a good explanation to us). On one of the nights they seemed to be moving guests from the rooms facing the front of the hotel to the rooms at the back (on kitchen side). Regardless or not if that story is true (I suspect there is something more to it...), having to leave through the back door of the hotel felt like we were being smuggled in and out of the hotel and just doesn't feel right when you are paying 109 euro a day for your room...

3) We booked a room with sea view, and on first night they said they only had a room on the first floor, from which you struggle to see the sea (you have a tiny glimpse of the bay). The next day they moved us to the 4th floor, where you could actually have a proper seaview and balcony. So I would be a bit careful with their definition of seaview...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eire2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The hotel is conveniently located close to the square and the blue mosque. It was very clean and had fairly spacious rooms. There were four of us, our two boys ended up with a room with a nice view. Our room was smaller and didn't have much of a view. When we asked for a change, there were no problems and we ended up with an equally nice room. The owner Senol Fehmi and Sefa, the receptionist were both very helpful. They helped us book our next place and had to work hard at it since a lot of places in Bordrum were already booked up. I'll never forget as the taxi got there to take us to the bus station, Sefa handed me 4 bottles of cold water and stood there waving goodbye and we left.
The only problem is the hotel is tricky to find and our taxi driver had to ask around.
Breakfast buffet was amazing. It's typical turkish with the choice of different cheeses, cucumbers and tomatoes, olives, bread, honey, different fruit preserves,fruits, baclava and other sweets, boiled eggs, tea and coffee. I might have missed something.
My boys loved the bathroom..it was small but modern.
Beds were comfortable, there is also a little safe you can set a code to, to put your valuables.

Room Tip: The rooms with sea view are more spacious i think cost a little more but worth it. There is good so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shehnaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
İstanbul
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

İ recommend Sultan Palace Hotel ın Istanbul (Katıp Sinan Camii 38) in SultanAhmet. EasyJet lost my luggae for a whole week (thanks guys!). Easy Jet not helpful but the hotel people made phone calls daily on my behalf resulting in my luggage being located about 12 hours before being due to leave. Then they got a young guy to come with me and carry my luggage back.
Anyway staff are very friendly and helpful. Superclean and new. great view over the sea if you ask for it. breakfasts are good. Free use of laptop!! airconditioning. would definitely return here. Lynne Smıth Toowoomba.

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank lcsmith11293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

The wonderful hotel and amazingly welcoming staff Sultan Palace Hotel were absolutely fantastic from the moment we arrived. Entrance is thru the kitchen.. according to Senol the front door should be open soon after some ironing of terms with the local Turkish gov't. The hotel is located 50 meters from the entrance of the Mehmet Pasha Mosque. About 5 - 15 min on foot to the Hippodrome, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, and the little tram stations Cemberlitas and Sultan Ahmet. The hotel is new, rooms are not big, but very clean and very comfortable with sound proofed windows (helps if you don't want to be woken up by the early morning "call to prayers". They have a roof terrace which has good views of the Sea of Marmara -- unfortunately without furniture (yet). The breakfast was excellent and quite varied. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Senol had offered an airport pick up upon arrival via email, unfortunately we read it when we were already at the hotel. He also gave good information on all queries we had and has tips for everything in Istanbul and Turkey in general. We came back to the hotel around 10pm on our first night and were looking for some places to eat, the staff helped us order from Saray restaurant and had food delivered to the hotel for a few TL -- the food was absolutely fantastic! We greatly appreciate Senol and his staff as they helped us book another hotel late one night for our trip to Selcuk, offered to use their laptops for free, had free wi-fi in the rooms, arrange our taxis for the airport and prepared breakfast for our early departure (7am). Senol and his staff were the epitomy of Turkish hospitality at it's best. We plan to return to Istanbul in the future and will definitely stay at the Sultan Palace Hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NeedToTravelOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#232 of 1,148 in Istanbul
312 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Laleli Gonen Hotel
Laleli Gonen Hotel
#461 of 1,148 in Istanbul
217 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#296 of 1,148 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Avicenna Hotel
Avicenna Hotel
#220 of 1,148 in Istanbul
1,087 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#79 of 1,148 in Istanbul
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Palace Hotel

Property: Sultan Palace Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Katip Sinan Sokak No: 38 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #563 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sultan Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Palace Hotel offers accommodation with elegant furnishings and flat-screen TVs. It is situated in the historic centre of Istanbul’s old city, just 300 metres from the Roman Hippodrome. Rooms feature cable TV and free Wi-Fi access. Each is fitted with wooden floors and air conditioning while some also offer a seating area. All rooms have modern bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sultan Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing