We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value. Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sultan Palace Hotel
Ranked #557 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good value. Great location”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We ended up here after our original hotel gave our room away. We ended up much better off. Building has been modernised. Room was quite large. The view from the terrace was amazing and there was plenty to eat at breakfast. It is very close to Blue Mosque, about 10-15 minute walk, but it is quite a steep hill to start. Staff had only reasonable English but were friendly and helpful. We would stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    35
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
18
47
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

When we arrived at the hotel, the owner said that he had to cancel our booking and give the room to somebody else because our credit card did not respond which is a big lie because I never had this problem. Additionally; even it happened, he should have still kept the room because we arrived for check-in at 5pm which is not a late hour. He said that he found us a place on a friend of his hotel which is nearby. It was an average place, maybe the same quality like the hotel but I don't care, I don't need surprises during my holidays. The breakfast was average, the view on top is nice but you cannot have the breakfast there so what's the special thing about it? The only good thing is that it's nearby Sultanahmet. I would never go to this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beste D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We spent a week here. My wife, our baby and myself. It was a great location; few steps from Sultan Ahmed Mid an, but steep hill and needed a good effort to push the buggy up and down. Mehmet the owner was very helpful despite the language barrier. As a general rule while in Istanbul it's better to prepare yourself and reduce the need to ask people about anything as English isn't widely spoken. Noise was a big issue as we had our baby with us. Breakfast and availability of tea coffee for the whole day was a bonus. Thanks to staff and the owner who is always doing his best to make your stay memorable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mojahid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

- The hotel and room was very, very clean and they cleaned and tidied it everyday during our stay.
- The breakfast was nice with various types of fruit, few pastries, veges, omelette, and bread & butter.
- The room was a bit small, but enough us, 2 petite Asian girls.
- They have 24 hour reception so we could come back to the hotel even at midnight.
- Great view from the terrace.
- The only thing we disliked: they've got only 1 iron and at one time we couldn't use it because another room had requested it first.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yann07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I think there's a spread in reviews for this hotel bc it depends on what you compare it to. Our room (standard) was clean, the shower was great, there's a safe inside the room and plenty of closet space for longer stays and slippers! The front desk staff was okay (limited in english) and the breakfast was okay (in comparison to other bnb's in Istanbul). There is a lovely rooftop terrace and wifi in the rooms. From the hotel, there is easy access to Blue Mosque etc. Maybe about a 5 min walk to Hippodrome. One downside was that we had an early flight and the hotel does nothing to accommodate take-away breakfast. That may be standard in Turkey but in Egypt, they pack up your breakfast to take with you! Oh yeah, bc it started raining while we were there- our room got cold. We tried the heaters but couldn't get them to work. HOWEVER, we didn't ask the staff for help so there was probably something simple we missed.

Overall, Sultan Palace is good. Very good.

Room Tip: We were in room 404 which was nice bc it had a balcony (teeny but still- it's a balcony) from wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Very friendly staff, great service and very friendly staff!
Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable.
Would recommend this hotel.
Very affordable.
The hotel is in the perfect location to the popular sights.

Alexia and Kathy

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

I took the sea view room it was very small and not a good furniture the hotel is cheap no soap or shampoo only soap dispenser and the room was very small the size was not as I expected not a good cleaning only one lady can not clean the hole hotel the towels and sheets only changed upon request I had the room changed after 2 days to a bigger one wich was better size wise the hotel still need fixing the bathroom also small
Breakfast has no fresh juice
The staff were helpfull but only if you ask not a good recommendation for the hammam too over all too much for the price the only thing good is the location

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#223 of 1,154 in Istanbul
316 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Laleli Gonen Hotel
Laleli Gonen Hotel
#485 of 1,154 in Istanbul
221 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#296 of 1,154 in Istanbul
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rox Hotel
#276 of 1,154 in Istanbul
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Palace Hotel

Property: Sultan Palace Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Katip Sinan Sokak No: 38 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #557 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sultan Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Palace Hotel offers accommodation with elegant furnishings and flat-screen TVs. It is situated in the historic centre of Istanbul’s old city, just 300 metres from the Roman Hippodrome. Rooms feature cable TV and free Wi-Fi access. Each is fitted with wooden floors and air conditioning while some also offer a seating area. All rooms have modern bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sultan Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing