We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perula - a friendly home away from home, in the heart of the city”
Review of Hotel Perula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Perula
Ranked #372 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Geelong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perula - a friendly home away from home, in the heart of the city”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The delightful Hotel Perula became a home away from home for us during our time in Istanbul.

We stayed at Perula three times over the course of our three & 1/2 weeks away, in transit between other destinations. While Perula is only a small, boutique hotel, with quite cosy rooms, and fairly basic facilities by international hotel standards, it felt like a welcoming, friendly and comfortable place to come home too each time we returned.

The two absolute best things about the hotel are it's superb locale and the friendly, warm, welcoming, and helpful management and staff. Located a 5 minute walk to the north, and literally at the end of the hotel's street (Peykhane sk) you find yourself in the precinct of the Grand Bazaar, Nurosmaniye mosque, shops, cafe's, pedestrians, tourists, traffic, and the Cemberlitas tram stop. While, literally 1 minutes walk south to the plaza reveals the Blue mosque, the Hippodrome and the Hagia Sofia museum. It's easy to see why this hotel was fully booked each time we stayed.

The front desk management and staff were particularly friendly and helpful, happy to chat, help with directions or resolve travel queries, and to help us practice our few Turkish words. A welcoming "Gunidin, Nusisin?" and corresponding "Eim" ("Good Morning, How are you?" "I am well"), or simple "Merhaba" ("Hello") were always exchanged warmly by both parties. The duty managers spoke great English which helped us Aussies. We were able to store luggage in between stopovers, albeit in a downstairs corridor, and availed ourselves of the traditional marble hamam, a luxury in this little hotel.

The rooms were 'cosy', but also adequate in size (we stayed in far smaller, less suitable places), well laid out, warmly furnished, and welcoming, and the beds supremely comfortable, easily the best of the whole trip, and we stayed in at least 6 other equivalent hotels. The bathroom was well laid out and adequate, and a lovely spacious shower was a treat. No complaints on that front. The only thing I would have wished for was a kettle in the room, for a cup of tea - sometime you just don't feel like going out for it.

Other than that the only other things I would alter would be to improve the quality of the breakfasts and the coffee, from a Nescafe machine as was often the case in equivalent places, but freshly brewed filtered coffee, and a toaster, and some nicer quality sliced meats and perhaps some stewed fruits, apricots and figs, etc would have been greatly appreciated. The cooked food could have been kept warm - it was in bain-marie dishes but with no heat applied underneath nothing stayed warm (this is not a complaint limited to Perula but applied to virtually every hotel we stayed in across Turkey).

All in all, I would recommend the Perula wholeheartedly, and will certainly stay there next time we're in Istanbul. There are other more expensive and spacious places you could stay, of course, but the welcoming and comfortable atmosphere and terrific location can't be beaten. Thanks so much to all the staff who made our stays at Perula so enjoyable!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are virtually the same in size, style and facilities. Both rooms we stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeMelMissMeliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    84
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
25
93
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Great hotel in the perfect location! If walk out of the hotel, make a left and walk a block, you'll end up at the bottom of the Hippodrome. The ATMs and the Sultanahmet Tram stop are on the north end of the Hippodrome, which is perfect if you want to explore other areas of Istanbul. I booked my room directly through the hotel and got the free airport shuttle (stay 3 nights) which was very convenient. Breakfast was standard (cheese, boiled eggs, meat, rolls, drinks). Close 10min walk to Akbiyik street (east of Blue Mosque) where all the bars were. I felt very safe in this location and would book again next time I'm in Istanbul!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinaZ4833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

we (young couple) have stayed 5 nights at Perula Hotel, in December/early January 2013:

- the pros: location (2 min walking distance from Blue Mosque, very close to Saint Sophia and Bazar as well, nice neighborhood, absolutely safe and quite) ;

- the cons: breakfast was clearly disappointing (nothing "extraordinary" contrary to what the website says) ; service was just ok (each time the room had been prepared by the staff, we had to ask the reception to send towels ; contrary to what pictures on the website suggest, there is no bar in the hotel (you'll have to go outside for a beer or a glass of wine) ; once, two staff members started to argue loudly in the breakfast room ; we got kicked out of the Turkish bath once because other clients had "booked" the place - we learned later that it was absolutely not the hotel policy to make bookings to use the Turkish bath).

So, just a nice hotel (clear, pleasant area, nice staff) but we are sure you could find a better value for money elsewhere in Istanbul.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romain p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel before and and after our trip of Turkey and enjoyed our stay. Evyryone was very friendly, very polite and welcoming. We learned few words and used them a lot - everyone's face would lit up every time we say something in Turkish, you could see it they loved that!
Place is very new (renovated), very tidy and within walking distance to the biggest tourist attractions in Istanbul - Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazar, Topkapi Palace, Cisterna Basilica. And it has its own hamam! It may be not as good as Cimberlitas Historical Hamam (that is just a 5 min walk from Perula by the way), but it is marble, just like any real hamam is, provides you with towels and it is free.
Rooms are a bit on a small side, however it is not a problem at all - there is so much to see and do in Istanbul, you really won't be sitting in your at all. Beds are comfortable and we always felt well rested in the morning.
We liked breakfasts, perhaps the only complaint about breakfast would be lack of good coffee. There is coffee, but it is a coffee-machine coffee and very average even for a coffee machine. That said, just outside of the hotel there are plenty of places to have a real turkish brew. There is a restaurant in the hotel and plenty of places to eat in surrounding area. As soon as you walk away from the main drag, prices do drop dramatically. Two doors away from the hotel, on the same side of the street, we found a tiny little shop that sells absolutely wonderful fresh gozleme (this is a must to try while in Turkey) for 1.5TL only!

Room Tip: Before we started our tour we were staying in the room that was right in the end of a corridor and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindenleaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I arrived in Istanbul (from the US) with a brand new, raging cold. The day and night staff, most of whom spoke good to excellent English (I speak no Turkish), provided me with pots of tea and hot water day and night, which I so appreciated. Everyone there was kind, polite, and helpful, including the cleaning ladies who were wonderful. The room was immaculate, the breakfasts were delicious, I felt lucky to be staying there for the three nights before I joined my tour group. Plus, the hotel is conveniently located near the Blue Mosque and the Aya Sophia. My tour group leader recommended this hotel to me, and I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

A Wedding Anniversary suprise getaway present for my wife and first time visit to Istanbul, on arrival at the local tram stop "Cembrutine" I was taking back a little by the localised and narrow back street feel - Amsterdam like... with a turkish twist.

Location is key: By sheer coinsidence, it turned out we could'nt have chosen a better location as tour coaches actually came from other areas to set down other adventurers who chose hotels further out 5 - 7 minute walk to the "Blue mosque", 10 mins from the "Topkapi Palace" and the "Sophia museum" The grand bazzar 15min walk. in summary the key sites which summise a visit to Turkey is all located within this square mile.

Staff/Hospitality: Start with a smile and watch barriers fall aside... we found all levels of staff ranging from security staff to managers full of smiles and always going the extra mile to meet your needs.

Communication: As expected, always make an effort to learn key phrases in local tongue such as Hello - "Marhaba" or "Tesekkur Elderim" - Thank you very much.

Tips:
Local currency is Lirasi or the Euro.
Best weather June - September (personal opinion)
Street Hawkers always on approach always be firm but polite if not interested...
Do your own research

Hope this helps, all the best.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Very confort and nice room.
Excelent location! Near the main attractions (blue mosque, hagia sofia, topkaki palace) and best places to chil out. Brand new place with new forniture and elevator.
Really recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelipeGargiulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Celine Hotel
Celine Hotel
#327 of 1,148 in Istanbul
156 reviews
Sultanahmet
Timeks Hotel
Timeks Hotel
#315 of 1,148 in Istanbul
116 reviews
Ant Hotel
#887 of 1,148 in Istanbul
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#164 of 1,148 in Istanbul
530 reviews
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#333 of 1,148 in Istanbul
339 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#129 of 1,148 in Istanbul
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perula

Property: Hotel Perula
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Peykhane Sok. No 45 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perula 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Perula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing