We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Old Town Istanbul!”
Review of Hotel Perula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Perula
Ranked #349 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is wonderful, from the staff to the facilities along with a free breakfast. I will be returning and staying here again! The hotel is modern with LED TV's and WI_FI on all floors. Staffed helped us secure tours from the hotel that were reasonable priced. Also, they offer a free pickup at the airport to their hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Perula
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

Small but excellent hotel close to all city attractions, staff were fantastic and very helpful. Cannot fault the hotel or its staff, easy to recommend to anyone. Would we stay there again, of course we would.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter4213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I had a 7 night stay at the Hotel Perula, booked less than a week before the trip through Hotels.com. It was a nice location, close to the Blue Mosque and the tram station, just a few blocks away. The room was clean, but a bit small, but to be expected. Breakfast was good, although there wasn't too much of a variety from day to day.

There's a small shop to buy drinks and supplies a few doors down as well as a cleaners that does a bag of laundry for 7 Lira. The Chinese restaurant across the street is surprisingly good and there are several other dining options within a block or two.

Overall it was a nice place and I'd stay there again if I ever go back to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I recently helped organize travel for a group of Rotarians who were headed to Africa to do a volunteer service project. Routing our flight via Istanbul was an option and having visited there before and having stayed at the Perula Hotel it was the perfect stopover choice. Turkey is a very special destination and the Perula Hotel is the place to stay in Istanbul Our group spent 5 days in Istanbul and the Perula delivered the same fantastic experience as in my previous visit (see my previous TA review).

The staff are the best... friendly and helpful in every possible way. A written review can never adequately describe a staff experience but I would be amiss not to mention three especially friendly and helpful people - Ҫumali, Ünal, and Betül. They're the best!

As other reviewers have said, the Perula is ideally located within a short walking distance of the popular sites in the historic Sultanahment area of Istanbul, and to the tram for quick access to other areas of the city. The rooms are modern, well appointed and clean, the daily breakfast is sumptous and the dining room very pleasant.

To a person, every member of our group was delighted with their stay at the Perula. You'll find lots of hotel choices in the Sultanahment area of Istanbul, the Perula stands out from the crowd.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are virtually the same, however I prefer the rooms in the front of the building (as...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I arrived in Istanbul with a group of university students from Switzerland during the height of the protests at Taksim Square. Some of the parents of the students were a bit anxious.

The hotel staff welcomed us like members of the family. They organized excursions and made traveling as a group very easy by calling taxis, recommending restaurants, allowing us to occupy the lobby.

I would particularly like to single out Bedul for her warmth and efficiency. The General Manager, Baris Toprak, went way beyond the call of duty to ensure that we had maximum security and comfort. Thanks to all those unnamed staff as well.

Perfect location, excellent breakfast buffet and convenient to restaurants and all major sights in the historic center.

We recommend very highly!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryvelma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Clean comfortable rooms but they are very small compared to large chain hotels such as Sheraton, Hilton or Marriott. The staff were great! they were very friendly and were very helpful with directions, suggestions and with making arrangements. The hotel is very conveniently located in the heart of the historic Istanbul district. Easy walking distance to the top sight seeing locations. Close to the tram stop and was able to get to any destination with ease. Breakfast was simple but very good. My wife loved the olives and cheeses. I enjoyed the cereals, bread and jams. We would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rhyj Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The delightful Hotel Perula became a home away from home for us during our time in Istanbul.

We stayed at Perula three times over the course of our three & 1/2 weeks away, in transit between other destinations. While Perula is only a small, boutique hotel, with quite cosy rooms, and fairly basic facilities by international hotel standards, it felt like a welcoming, friendly and comfortable place to come home too each time we returned.

The two absolute best things about the hotel are it's superb locale and the friendly, warm, welcoming, and helpful management and staff. Located a 5 minute walk to the north, and literally at the end of the hotel's street (Peykhane sk) you find yourself in the precinct of the Grand Bazaar, Nurosmaniye mosque, shops, cafe's, pedestrians, tourists, traffic, and the Cemberlitas tram stop. While, literally 1 minutes walk south to the plaza reveals the Blue mosque, the Hippodrome and the Hagia Sofia museum. It's easy to see why this hotel was fully booked each time we stayed.

The front desk management and staff were particularly friendly and helpful, happy to chat, help with directions or resolve travel queries, and to help us practice our few Turkish words. A welcoming "Gunidin, Nusisin?" and corresponding "Eim" ("Good Morning, How are you?" "I am well"), or simple "Merhaba" ("Hello") were always exchanged warmly by both parties. The duty managers spoke great English which helped us Aussies. We were able to store luggage in between stopovers, albeit in a downstairs corridor, and availed ourselves of the traditional marble hamam, a luxury in this little hotel.

The rooms were 'cosy', but also adequate in size (we stayed in far smaller, less suitable places), well laid out, warmly furnished, and welcoming, and the beds supremely comfortable, easily the best of the whole trip, and we stayed in at least 6 other equivalent hotels. The bathroom was well laid out and adequate, and a lovely spacious shower was a treat. No complaints on that front. The only thing I would have wished for was a kettle in the room, for a cup of tea - sometime you just don't feel like going out for it.

Other than that the only other things I would alter would be to improve the quality of the breakfasts and the coffee, from a Nescafe machine as was often the case in equivalent places, but freshly brewed filtered coffee, and a toaster, and some nicer quality sliced meats and perhaps some stewed fruits, apricots and figs, etc would have been greatly appreciated. The cooked food could have been kept warm - it was in bain-marie dishes but with no heat applied underneath nothing stayed warm (this is not a complaint limited to Perula but applied to virtually every hotel we stayed in across Turkey).

All in all, I would recommend the Perula wholeheartedly, and will certainly stay there next time we're in Istanbul. There are other more expensive and spacious places you could stay, of course, but the welcoming and comfortable atmosphere and terrific location can't be beaten. Thanks so much to all the staff who made our stays at Perula so enjoyable!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are virtually the same in size, style and facilities. Both rooms we stayed in...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeMelMissMeliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#153 of 1,161 in Istanbul
533 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Fehmi Bey
Hotel Fehmi Bey
#373 of 1,161 in Istanbul
181 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#520 of 1,161 in Istanbul
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Celine Hotel
Celine Hotel
#319 of 1,161 in Istanbul
156 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aprilis Hotel
Aprilis Hotel
#263 of 1,161 in Istanbul
383 reviews
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#560 of 1,161 in Istanbul
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perula

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Peykhane Sok. No 45 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £32 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perula 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Perula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing