We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect location, Good free Wifi, Ok service, very small rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Perula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Perula
Ranked #364 of 1,114 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location, Good free Wifi, Ok service, very small rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

You can walk from hotel to every main attraction. Or you can walk to Tram station and it takes you to where ever you want to be in Istanbul. No more that 15 min walk is needed
It's also good that taxi's are passing hotel very often.

Breakfast is reasonable, service is mostly good. Nice to use once Turkish bath. Very reliable free Wifi.

Be prepared to hear clear and loud when moslems are calling for prayer.

But ... extremely small rooms

Room Tip: There are some rooms at the end of corridor which are bigger. And there are also chance to have two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Agur_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    83
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
25
91
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great location...walking distance from the Hague Sophia,the Blue Mosque and the Mueseum.
Well appointed but somewhat rooms if for family stay and free wifi.There is a cinema multiplex nearby a few steps away and an Indian restaurant opposite the multiplex which also is so near to a local tram station which is dotted by shops for buying gifts and trinkets.Frontdesk Staff was warm and also the stewerds at the restaurant.The breakfast is a 3/5 but serves the purpose.Was having apprehensions about staying at this type of a small hotel but picked this on advise of a local friend in Istanbul..no regrets a good overall experience since it was a short stopover stay alone to check out mystic Istanbul.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKS2013AKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
218 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I'd definitely stay here again - 4 Plus. Our tiny, double room was new and lovely - the only problem was total lack of suitcase space. Best planned tiny bathroom I have ever seen. Very comfortable bed, but I'd like a top-sheet/duvet. Dust bunnies under the bed and not a bright room - neither was a problem.

We asked a simple travel question of front desk and the service we got far exceeded anything we've had at a hotel recently! Emre not only answered our questions clearly and concisely in perfect English, but helped us book reasonable flights, organize our trip, and he arranged a great airport transfer for us - for that afternoon! It was like having a friend who knew all about traveling in Turkey! He gets 5* for stellar service - I never name names, but he deserves to be named here.

The included breakfast buffet was good, fresh and had some hot and cold items. Attendant was crouched behind the bar and didn't even bother to look up from his i-phone when we arrived and when we left he was still crouched over his phone and chatting with two girls. I had to pile my plates on the table next to me just to make space. I was there an hour and wasn't even acknowledged - 0*.

This small, quiet hotel is literally steps away from the Hippodrome's obelisk ... and a couple minutes further from the Blue Mosque, Aya (Haggia) Sofia, Cistern, and Topkapi Palace. The Grand Bazaar is about 4 minutes walk up the street the other way. The tram line is 2-3 minutes away. Unbeatable Location!!

Fast, free wifi. A little tricky to get to by cab. Found this little gem at a fab deal thanks to Booking.com.

PS There is a little grey tabby kitten at the Hippodrome end closest to the hotel... he's really friendly and loves treats! If you are a cat-lover, take treats or some meat for him please!

My Tips:
* Clean and beautiful hamman at -1 level - free for guests
* Take a hotel business card with you.. if you need directions, cab or transit back to the hotel, you can show it to people and they will point you in the right direction
* Tram stop is about a 3 minute walk away - you need to buy tokens from a machine to access the platform. It was 3lira for a ride. Often faster than cabs which are restricted by the traffic congestion, pedestrian zones and one-way streets
* There's a little store for water/snacks just up the street
* The best place to exchange money (from CND, USD or Euro) is in the currency exchanges you will find along the streets beside the bazaars. Best rates I found in the whole country and no commission. If I knew, I would have exchanged all my money here for much better rates than at home
* Many shops, restos etc accept USD, Euro as well as lira. However, you will not get best exchanges for your dollar paying this way

Room Tip: Front rooms probably have better light (windows) but more noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2-4-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel is eh okay, location is great, but there are countless hotels in that area too...breakfast is absolutely horrible, has nothing to do with Turkish breakfast, all canned stuff and never anything fresh, very disappointing. Cleanliness is okay but not great. They really need to teach their ouskeepers manners.. A housekeeper knocked at my door because I had mentioned that I did not have coffee in the room to someone, she knocked at the door although it had the do not disturb sign on there, pushed her way inside the room to check for herself if there was coffee in the tray, that really bothered me , what if someone was in the room that was not descent, she gave me no chance to stop her.
Upon. My xcheckout, I was I. The room still checking to see if I left anything behind, Nd to pick up my luggage, housekeeping were already in there cleaning it...really.... You could not wait 5 minutes for me to leave completely...
All in all, it was okay, but I have been in much better places for the same amount of money.

Room Tip: There are no sheets under the blankets, maybe you would want to ask for one if you do not like to co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and as other reviewers have commented, this hotel is very centrally located within all the famous sights in Sultanahmet. Room was spacious and has good facilities such as mini bar, spacious shower room and free wifi. Staff was welcoming and spoke good English. Special thanks to Jamal (sorry if I got the spelling wrong) for always welcoming us warmly whenever he sees us. The other male staff with the goatee was extremely helpful when our tour pick up was late and he helped us sort it out. Would stay again if I am in Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akbuk, Turkey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel is in a Super location for getting around Istanbul, a few minutes from all the main tourist attractions and two minutes from the tram station to take you further afield, many hotels in this area due to narrow cobbled street are difficult to find however as the tram runs through the main areas of Istanbul it's very easy to locate as you follow the tram line even whilst on foot. Also a few minutes away ( if you don't want to stray to far from the hotel in the evening ) is an area with pubs, bars and restaurants, very convenient .
The hotel is spotlessly clean and is very quaint. The beds and the shower are of a very high standard.
The staff are friendly, efficient and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnakinik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is wonderful, from the staff to the facilities along with a free breakfast. I will be returning and staying here again! The hotel is modern with LED TV's and WI_FI on all floors. Staffed helped us secure tours from the hotel that were reasonable priced. Also, they offer a free pickup at the airport to their hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#84 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Grand Bazaar
FER Hotel
FER Hotel
#182 of 1,114 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Sultanahmet
Celine Hotel
Celine Hotel
#285 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Djem
Hotel Djem
#270 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Sultanahmet
BEST WESTERN Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,114 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perula

Property: Hotel Perula
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Peykhane Sok. No 45 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 1,114 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perula 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Perula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing