We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is Fantastic”
Review of Galata Flats

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Galata Flats
Ranked #109 of 1,051 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Location is Fantastic”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This hotel is In a great location. It is just steps from the major walking area in Istanbul which is filled with restaurants and shops. It has public transportation less than 100 feet from the front door. Rooms are nice with all of the necessities rather you are staying a week or a month. My only complaint is the noise, but it goes with the location.

Pros:
Location
Accomodations (fast internet, washer/dryer, appliances, etc)
Large room (one bedroom)

Cons:
Noise (late hours of night)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricC883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    15
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
14
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Just leaving Istanbul after 3 days stay in this stylish affordable apartment. If you like a bit more space when you travel and prefer living with the locals than fighting your way through tour groups then this is the place for you. We shared a 2 bedroom apartment with another couple and with our 19 year old daughter in the living room sounds squashy but amazingly it wasn't. The apartment is well designed and her foldup bed fitted snugly down one wall of the lounge area. The apartment has a washer dryer and wifi all important extras. And they are not mean with the extras. Plenty of towels. Enough washing detergent to last our stay and dishwashing powder for the dishwasher.

Location wise it was great with the metro below, the tram up to taksim square maybe 100 meters away and the fernicular down to the Bosporus about the same. From the end of the furnicular we caught trams to blue mosque a mere3 stops away. Best of all you are not eating at tourist haunts but with the locals. Ok first night we succumbed and ate under galata bridge but otherwise we have enjoyed the local eateries and bars. Just lovely.

Tonight we are off to a roof top bar that we spied from the top of nearby galata tower. apartments are often hard to find and then are frequently out of the way, tired soft furnishings and often a little grubby. None of these apply to galata flats . Highly recommended.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaQ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The location is great close to Tunel and the metro stop. We had the corner room so some noise during the night from the cafe over the road. Staff were really helpful and obliging. Would have been useful to have some written info in the apartment eg how to use washing machine, safe etc. The apartment was well fitted out, great wifi, really comfortable. Felt very secure.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The flat was beautiful and modernly designed with cool local artwork throughout the building and in the apartments. It was in a quiet section of town and a great place for a relaxing stay. The flat was designed modernly and the workers were nice. Big Chef's was a great restauarent around the corner and views of the water and steps away from the Metro.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We spent six days in Galataflats. The apartment was wonderful. The rooms are very spacious, clean and nicely furnished. The service was excellent, the staff friendly. We felt welcome and always pleased to return 'home'.
The location was perfect for exploring the city. A few steps away from the Tunel- train to the Galatabridge, the metro to the Taksim square, taxi's on the corner. There are many nice restaurants and cosy cafe's in the neighbourhood; it is next to the main shopping street. A good place to come back to.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Me and my 6 friends, we have stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment with terrace on 4th floor. It was just too good to be true! Bedrooms were wall separated which really was great for privacy and full kitchen, new appliances, a micro, stove oven, more cooking utensils than my own home were also excellent! One of us slept on the sofabed, he tells us it was very comfortable and big. Daily cleaning was a lifesaver for us as well as the small tappas restaurant downstairs where we eat many times. Terrace with teak patio furniitures and mild weather during our whole 6 days of stay made our vacation truly an unforgettable one especially during our long dinners. Thick walls in apartments really is great for sound insulation. Apartment had 2 private bathrooms and believe it or not ours was inside our wall separated bedroom. Thank you all for everything and surely we will come back..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Can S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Myself & 2 friends stayed in the penthouse apartment for 3 nights in March, we loved it!!
Very clean, comfortable and beautifully furnished home from home in Istanbul.

The front desk staff were really helpful as was Ayse Hanim who greeted us on arrival and organized our trip to the local Hamam (a must have experience whilst in Istanbul!)
We (3 ladies), felt so safe and secure there and the surrounding area was full of great quality bars and restaurants. We walked for miles during the day visiting all the fascinating sights so close to hand.
At nights the view of the Galata Tower from our window and the call to prayer from the different mosques was magical.
I thoroughly recommend the Galata flats to anyone wishing to stay in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Go for the Penthouse wonderful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horseydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Ansen Suites
Ansen Suites
#439 of 1,149 in Istanbul
162 reviews
Beyoglu
Istanbul Place Apartments
Istanbul Place Apartments
#13 of 1,202 in Istanbul
98 reviews
Beyoglu
Louis Appartements Galata
Louis Appartements Galata
#10 of 1,202 in Istanbul
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Adahan Istanbul
Adahan Istanbul
#36 of 1,051 in Istanbul
129 reviews
Beyoglu
No11 Hotel & Apartments
No11 Hotel & Apartments
#31 of 1,202 in Istanbul
107 reviews
Beyoglu
MySuite Istanbul
MySuite Istanbul
#7 of 1,202 in Istanbul
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galata Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galata Flats

Property: Galata Flats
Address: Mesrutiyet Caddesi No. 84 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 1,051 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Galata Flats 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Tunel-Galata, which is where the other end of the famous Istiklal Street is, Galata Flats guests enjoy easy access to the Historical Peninsula, Beyoglu, Golden Horn and Taksim Square. The apartments are next to the Sishane Metro Station and a few steps down from Tunel trains. 1-Bedroom flats come equipped with a kingsize bed in the bedroom, a triple sofabed, a fold-out single bed (extra) in the living room, a full kitchen and a private bathroom. 2-Bedroom flats come equipped with kingsize and queensize beds in the bedrooms, a triple sofabed and a fold-out single bed (extra) in the living rooms, a full kitchen and 2 bathrooms. The 150 m2, 3-Bedroom Penthouse has kingsize and queensize beds in the bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen and a surrounding terrace with Galata Tower and Golden Horn view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galata Flats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galata Flats Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing