We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly personal and great localtion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portus House Istanbul
Ranked #14 of 1,239 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Very helpful personel (all speaking great english and german) and very clean and indivual rooms. Alle the rooms have their own flair. When I come back to Istanbul I will definitely book this hostel - which has definitely the quality of a hotel.

It is located near all the major attractions, but outside of the tourist area.
Nothing that I disliked at all! I will come back to my 2nd home soon :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

Perfect location in Galata, Karaköy and Tophane tranway stops near. Peaceful side street, easy to sleep: bed was really good, well cleaned rooms personally decorated. Lovely staff, make quests feel at home! Breakfast in kitchen, for me it was not enough. But there's a market right opposite the hotel, so you can run and buy juice, youghurt, fruit. 10 rooms. Free coffee and tea 24 hrs. Both central heating and air conditioning. Most quests were young people from all over the world, but also midde-aged (like me) fit if just perfect. Istanbul Modern arts museum near, worth visiting. Major attractions and Taksim near by walking or public transportation.

Süper otel, süper personel, süper yer.Tesekkür ederim! <3

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tarja_Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

f you want to travel to Istanbul and want to experience the city as a local, this is the place to stay. You can walk to Istiklal street within a couple of minutes. Istiklal street is full of restaurants, bars, and night clubs. You are a couple streets down from the awesome Bosporus. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. It is not like a standardized hotel design which is boring and tasteless. This place feels like home. The room design's are very original. Breakfast is a traditional Turkish breakfast which is very healthy and interesting (tomato, cucumber, olives, cheese, jam...). Lastly the staff is very professonal and knowledgable about the city. Apparently the owner wrote a guide book or something for Istanbul. She gave us great restaurant names, and trip advice. I can not wait to go back and do it all over.

Room Tip: Top floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I travel a lot and been in many hostels. I chose this hotel because I wanted more comfort during the stay and something more fancy. I would give 7 from 10 for this hotel. Location of hotel was good. But our room was in the hightest floor so we firstly had to get our stuff to fourth floor and every day to go up and down. Room was small and for two people was only one table. Staff was friendly but not helpfull with our luggage. As a hostel it would fit standarts but as a hotel - no. Breakfast very poor, no fresh fruits or juice, small portions.
I

Room Tip: Try to get a room in first of second floor. If you live in fourth floor, you'll have to climb ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elenaeleniokas z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

When I made the reservation I thought it was too good to be true, cheap, good location and very nice. It was kind of tricky to find the place but when we got there, so good! Perfect staff, clean, quiet, just great!

/Swedish surf guys

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rasmus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Friendly and funny staff especially Ismail. Strategic location, 10 min walk to spice bazaar and galata bridge, 3 min walk to Karakoy tram station and Funicular to Istiklal Caddesi. Stayed in a triple room with shared bathroom. The room is a little bit small but nicely decorated. Separated bathroom and toilet, Bathroom water pressure is weak. Breakfast served in a plate included tomato,cucumber, 2pcs ham, cheese, olive and jam. Will be better if cereal is provided. Overall is good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wei Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortusIstanbul, Manager at Portus House Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Wei Ken P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience here with future travelers.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us but also appreciate your constructive feedback. Please note, the water pressure in your room has been adjusted to above normal levels now and as per your suggestion, we have also added a selection of cereals to our breakfast.

We look forward to welcome you again here at Portus House.
Kindest Regards from our entire staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Great place to stay.

The kitchen, my room and the shared bathroom/shower were very clean and reasonably modern. Free wifi and the breakfast was simple but perfect. The guest house is located in a great area and the staff are very welcoming and quick to provide travel advice. They even have several travel guides you can borrow for your duration (lonely planet).

The only problem (and some may see it as a benefit) is that it is located on a very quiet street. I felt a bit uncomfortable walking back alone at night as the area was really deserted. If your 2 coming back at night I am sure it is fine.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KRicha16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortusIstanbul, Manager at Portus House Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear KRicha16,

Thank you for your high praises. We are happy that our staff was able to accommodate you with your special wishes.
As you mention, our location indeed is in parallel to the main street, to provide quiet comfort within this sometimes overwhelmingly bustling city. Due to the fact that it is not high season, coming back far after midnight you may not encounter too many souls on the streets, though rest assured it is absolutely safe.

Looking forward to again greet you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#36 of 1,159 in Istanbul
745 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#88 of 1,159 in Istanbul
209 reviews
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#48 of 1,159 in Istanbul
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
#37 of 1,159 in Istanbul
582 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#159 of 1,159 in Istanbul
175 reviews
Karakoy
Novotel Istanbul Bosphorus
Novotel Istanbul Bosphorus
#230 of 1,159 in Istanbul
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portus House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portus House Istanbul

Address: Mumhane Cad. 31 | Karaköy, Istanbul 34340, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,239 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £21 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portus House Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an Art-Nouveau building in Beyoglu, Portus Hotel Istanbul is a unique establishment designed and managed by travellers just like its guests. The main idea is to provide a feeling of comfort and safety. This comfortable hotel features 10 rooms with iPod docks and some flat-screen TVs. Portus Hotel is located in a quiet street by the lively Galata Port, in Istanbul’s prime starting point for tours in all directions by foot, by ship, by metro-tram and by bus. The Karakoy Ferry Terminal and the Galata Bridge are a 2-minute walk away. Free tea and coffee can be enjoyed throughout the day. Guest can also make use of the fully equipped, modern communal kitchen, where usually travelers like to mingle and exchange experiences. There is a supermarket across the hotel as well as plenty of good breakfast houses and restaurants. Decorated with modern art, all air-conditioned rooms offer free Wi-Fi. Some rooms feature a private bathroom with a hairdryer. At the 24-hour front desk, you can find luggage storage and book a shuttle service to Ataturk or Sabiha Gokçen Airport. Private parking is also available. Come and enjoy a fresh, friendly and fun environment, the entry Port for your adventures in Istanbul… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Portus House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing