We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, quiet pleasant hostel inmid of Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portus House Istanbul
Ranked #14 of 1,242 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We enjoyed to stay for 1 week in Istanbul in the Portus House.
Fred, the owner, is a relaxed person (which is important in such a vivid city). He helped us in every situation. He's speaking English (also important in this city...). The reception is open 24/7.
Judging the photos from the breakfast, we thought that it wouldn't be much - but that was obviously wrong! You get an egg, tomatoes, cheese, finest Simit (turkish brezels), jam ... and of course tea or coffee or both, if you like :-).

The rooms are clean and tastefully modern. There are not many rooms (I think 6 or so), so you are lucky if you can reserve one for you :-). Bathroom and shower are usually separate. If you book as suite you get them for you, so there aren't shared.

With respect to the location, you can't get it any better.
It's near to the Galata tower of Beyoglu. So if you wanna party all night, all you have to do is to walk 10min and you're in the Istiklal Road. In 5min you reach the harbor with its restaurants and the ferries going to Kadikoy.

Again thanks for the pleasant time to the Portus Team.
We'd like to come back someday!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ehotel.de
Thank Geooorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed here in October. The staff are super friendly, the place is new and clean, and the prices are cheap. On the downside, rooms can be a little noisy, but really, for the price you pay, it's fine.

Anyhow, they even have ipod charging docks available to charge your ipod. Location is good too, as you are not far from nice restaurants, an excellent baklava place (karakoy Gulloguolo -- or something like that), and the ferry. The area is also not too touristy, which I personally really liked.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skye_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Very helpful personel (all speaking great english and german) and very clean and indivual rooms. Alle the rooms have their own flair. When I come back to Istanbul I will definitely book this hostel - which has definitely the quality of a hotel.

It is located near all the major attractions, but outside of the tourist area.
Nothing that I disliked at all! I will come back to my 2nd home soon :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Perfect location in Galata, Karaköy and Tophane tranway stops near. Peaceful side street, easy to sleep: bed was really good, well cleaned rooms personally decorated. Lovely staff, make quests feel at home! Breakfast in kitchen, for me it was not enough. But there's a market right opposite the hotel, so you can run and buy juice, youghurt, fruit. 10 rooms. Free coffee and tea 24 hrs. Both central heating and air conditioning. Most quests were young people from all over the world, but also midde-aged (like me) fit if just perfect. Istanbul Modern arts museum near, worth visiting. Major attractions and Taksim near by walking or public transportation.

Süper otel, süper personel, süper yer.Tesekkür ederim! <3

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tarja_Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

f you want to travel to Istanbul and want to experience the city as a local, this is the place to stay. You can walk to Istiklal street within a couple of minutes. Istiklal street is full of restaurants, bars, and night clubs. You are a couple streets down from the awesome Bosporus. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. It is not like a standardized hotel design which is boring and tasteless. This place feels like home. The room design's are very original. Breakfast is a traditional Turkish breakfast which is very healthy and interesting (tomato, cucumber, olives, cheese, jam...). Lastly the staff is very professonal and knowledgable about the city. Apparently the owner wrote a guide book or something for Istanbul. She gave us great restaurant names, and trip advice. I can not wait to go back and do it all over.

Room Tip: Top floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I travel a lot and been in many hostels. I chose this hotel because I wanted more comfort during the stay and something more fancy. I would give 7 from 10 for this hotel. Location of hotel was good. But our room was in the hightest floor so we firstly had to get our stuff to fourth floor and every day to go up and down. Room was small and for two people was only one table. Staff was friendly but not helpfull with our luggage. As a hostel it would fit standarts but as a hotel - no. Breakfast very poor, no fresh fruits or juice, small portions.
I

Room Tip: Try to get a room in first of second floor. If you live in fourth floor, you'll have to climb ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elenaeleniokas z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

When I made the reservation I thought it was too good to be true, cheap, good location and very nice. It was kind of tricky to find the place but when we got there, so good! Perfect staff, clean, quiet, just great!

/Swedish surf guys

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rasmus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#35 of 1,160 in Istanbul
745 reviews
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#47 of 1,160 in Istanbul
363 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#70 of 1,160 in Istanbul
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
#37 of 1,160 in Istanbul
583 reviews
Karakoy
Novotel Istanbul Bosphorus
Novotel Istanbul Bosphorus
#248 of 1,160 in Istanbul
223 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#165 of 1,160 in Istanbul
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portus House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portus House Istanbul

Address: Mumhane Cad. 31 | Karaköy, Istanbul 34340, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,242 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £21 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portus House Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an Art-Nouveau building in Beyoglu, Portus Hotel Istanbul is a unique establishment designed and managed by travellers just like its guests. The main idea is to provide a feeling of comfort and safety. This comfortable hotel features 10 rooms with iPod docks and some flat-screen TVs. Portus Hotel is located in a quiet street by the lively Galata Port, in Istanbul’s prime starting point for tours in all directions by foot, by ship, by metro-tram and by bus. The Karakoy Ferry Terminal and the Galata Bridge are a 2-minute walk away. Free tea and coffee can be enjoyed throughout the day. Guest can also make use of the fully equipped, modern communal kitchen, where usually travelers like to mingle and exchange experiences. There is a supermarket across the hotel as well as plenty of good breakfast houses and restaurants. Decorated with modern art, all air-conditioned rooms offer free Wi-Fi. Some rooms feature a private bathroom with a hairdryer. At the 24-hour front desk, you can find luggage storage and book a shuttle service to Ataturk or Sabiha Gokçen Airport. Private parking is also available. Come and enjoy a fresh, friendly and fun environment, the entry Port for your adventures in Istanbul… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portus House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing