We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new place in Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portus House Istanbul
Ranked #16 of 1,248 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We arrived to Portus House by car and spent two days there. We were greeted by an extremely friendly receptionist with great knowledge about Istanbul and other places in Turkey who helped us find the best places to go. The hotel was very clean, the rooms are good and the people very friendly. I very much recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willemijn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

Portus is a beautiful hostel. It has a modern decoration with nice details. The rooms are super clean. The shared bathrooms are super clean too. The beds are comfortable. Portus has a sweet kitchen where they serve a traditional Turkish breakfast. The service at Portus is excellent. The personnel, Ismail, Murat and Jülide hanım are kind and always helpful.

Portus has a perfect location in Karaköy (Beyoğlu). It is off the Galata bridge, close to the Bosphorus. Portus is within walking distance of the most important neighborhoods of Istanbul: Sultanahmet, Eminönü and Taksim. It is also possible to take the tram or ferry to all the city's landmarks from the tram stop and pier nearby.

Portus is not like a hostel, but like a small, sweet hotel. It feels like a home, far away from home. Thank you Portus, I hope to see you soon!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Yasemin010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We, two young women living in the Netherlands, had a wonderful time in the Portushouse in Istanbul. The hostel is stylishly furnished and decorated (with good beds and airco) and the English speaking staff is really helpful and kind. They took the time for a chat, explain things we were curious about and gave some really nice suggestions on Turkish food, shopping and other tourist activities like which Hamam we should visit. The nice breakfast is served between 8 and 11 which is really convenient. The rooms were very clean. Even though the hostel is located quite central, the street was not easy to find (without a smart-phone) for the first time. It felt just a little uncomfortable walking there late at night. However, if we return to Istanbul (which is likely), we will certainly book a room in this hostel again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisPi_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I stayed in Portus for 5 days. It was a great experience. Location of the hotel is amazing. It is right by the Istiklal street where all the shops and restaurants.Historical places and gorgeous Bosporus is right by the hotel. Portus's staff is very knowledgeable about the historical place and nice restaurants if you need an advice. Rooms are very clean and modern with fast WiFi connection(I needed that). I will be back..

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ce23nkT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We loved the attitude, location, comfy beds, clean spaces, modern design, breakfast lady, curteous staff, options, black out curtains, little Turkish delights that greeted us in our room, proximity to the shore, atmosphere... it all contributed to us loving Portus and loving this wonderful city. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cicolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My fiancé and I stayed at Portus House for 6 nights in May and we loved it. The location of he hotel is very excellent. It is easily to reach Galata Tower, Galata Bridge, Spice Bazar, etc.
The beds were extremely comfortable, especially at the end of long days spent walking around the city. The rooms and the hotel was lovely and everything was clean, modern and designed to make the most of the small space. Wifi was reliable and much appreciated. Owner Cigdem & Firat were very friendly and approachable. We loved Portus Hotel and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Our choice for the Portus House followed a recommandation from a closed friend. We definitly are not disapointed about our one week stay at this hotel. The personnel, Murat and Ismael, along with the owner Cigdem made everything possible to feel us welcome to their lovely place. The location of this hotel is also an important feature for Istanbul visitors. Do not expect luxury at this place. But, you will find confortable beds, and extremely clean spaces troughout the property.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#36 of 1,163 in Istanbul
757 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#80 of 1,163 in Istanbul
214 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#2 of 1,248 in Istanbul
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#4 of 1,248 in Istanbul
929 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#14 of 1,248 in Istanbul
547 reviews
Sisli
Green House
Green House
#27 of 1,248 in Istanbul
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portus House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portus House Istanbul

Address: Mumhane Cad. 31 | Karaköy, Istanbul 34340, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,248 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £17 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portus House Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an Art-Nouveau building in Beyoglu, Portus Hotel Istanbul is a unique establishment designed and managed by travellers just like its guests. The main idea is to provide a feeling of comfort and safety. This comfortable hotel features 10 rooms with iPod docks and some flat-screen TVs. Portus Hotel is located in a quiet street by the lively Galata Port, in Istanbul’s prime starting point for tours in all directions by foot, by ship, by metro-tram and by bus. The Karakoy Ferry Terminal and the Galata Bridge are a 2-minute walk away. Free tea and coffee can be enjoyed throughout the day. Guest can also make use of the fully equipped, modern communal kitchen, where usually travelers like to mingle and exchange experiences. There is a supermarket across the hotel as well as plenty of good breakfast houses and restaurants. Decorated with modern art, all air-conditioned rooms offer free Wi-Fi. Some rooms feature a private bathroom with a hairdryer. At the 24-hour front desk, you can find luggage storage and book a shuttle service to Ataturk or Sabiha Gokçen Airport. Private parking is also available. Come and enjoy a fresh, friendly and fun environment, the entry Port for your adventures in Istanbul… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Portus House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing