We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in an incredible location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portus House Istanbul
Ranked #15 of 1,236 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Absolutely loved the Portus House. The location was a huge selling point: close to touristy Sultanmet and the Karakoy ferry, but in a more residential neighborhood that didn't feel touristy at all. Bonus: around the corner from the delicious chocolate baklava at Gulloglu! A bunch of great restaurants close by as well, and an easy walk up to Galata. Staff is kind and helpful--they even helped me find a nearby yoga studio! The complimentary breakfast is AMAZING, and the little breakfast room is super cute with a terrace and nice details. I visited with a friend and we stayed in a shared double. Room was clean, beds were comfortable, and we only shared the bathroom with one other room. Bathroom was clean and we never had to wait to use it. Highly, highly recommend for anyone visiting Istanbul.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for Portus House Istanbul
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Portus House is in Karakoy, in a a very hopping area, day and night. Only a few blocks from the Galata Bridge and an easy walk to Sultanahment (the Old City). Our rooms were beautiful, clean and sunny. We had 2 rooms on our own hall with our own bathroom and shower.

The real gem of this gem of a guesthouse is Ismael Gulum, who mans the desk most days. In his excellent English, this charming man will help you with anything you need, from changing a light bulb to telling you the best places to see or eat and how to get there.

Room Tip: Portus House offers an airport shuttle, but a taxi is much cheaper and easy to find at the airport.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1BAK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We loved the Portus House. Got great tips on where to go in the area, easy access to Galata, Istanbul Modern, ferries to Kadakoy. They can get you access to events and places where as a nonlocal you don't even know how to ask.

You may need to fortify your breakfast elsewhere and slip to Julius Meinl for espresso.

Room Tip: No views, so go for the lower floors to minimize stairs. Rooms on floors three through five.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The desk and domestic stAff were fantastic. They exceeded all expectations. They made phone calls for us ,researched information and organised tours The hotel has a central location close to public transport. Definitely reccommend Portus house

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rjcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Trying to figure out the best district to stay in Istanbul, we hit the jackpot with Portus. The house is located in the middle of Karaköy, on a busy street during the day, which turns quite at night. The ocean is just a few meters away, so taking various ferries was literally a breeze and so was walgin over the Galata brige to the old city. Trendy cafes, small local eateries, grand cocktails bars, traditional kebap houses... all within a few hundert meters. As a result, we were surprised how much time we ended up spending in the district itself, either slurping coffee at Karabatak cafe or enjoying the wonderful hamam at the end of the hotel’s street. This is definetely an area to be explored.

Portus House was very clean and our beds comfortable. The room size was adequate (we stayed in a double room ensuite), breakfast decent and staff very knowledgable & courteous. We ordered an airport pick-up after booking on the hotel’s own website, which turned out to very comfortable.

All in all, we would definitely stay here again and recommend it to everybody, who wishes to stay in a decent house with the best possible locations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Onur Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A very ordinary "boutique" hotel, not at all what I expected given the reviews. The room was the size of a shoebox and is very bare bones. Breakfast is exceedingly ordinary....with side by side cafes all over the neighborhood the only coffee that is offered here is instant Nescafé ...yuck. After sightseeing all day we returned to our untouched room and were told housekeeping had left for the day. This place is better described as a hostel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kmkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortusIstanbul, General Manager at Portus House Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Kmkis,

Despite the obvious harshness, thank you for your review. We value all sorts of feedback.
Most importantly though, I am happy that we were personally able to sort out the points you addressed here, though I too wish you would have told us these issues during your visit. With your permission, I would like to share our agreement with the rest of the community. Please feel free to comment, if you would like to add anything further:

1. COFFEE. We love coffee, especially good coffee. For this reason we offer filter coffee in a french press (Julius Meinl brand) and Nescafe as an option. Believe it or not, quite a number of people do prefer Nescafe and we very much respect that. Coffee and tea is available complimentary not only during breakfast, but throughout the day. I am sorry you were not asked specifically which one you prefer.

2. HOUSEKEEPING. After some investigation, I found out that our housekeeping lady had some miscommunication issues and thought you would prefer not to have the room cleaned. She was instructed to always inform the reception from now on for any special wishes, as English skills for housekeeping are indeed limited. Again, my apologies for not having changed the towels on your second night.

3. SHOEBOX. Thank you for putting this in a humorous way. It actually brought a smile to my lips. As an explanation for our reader's here our dear guest and I agreed that we were done a bit unjust here. Our guests arrived very early in the morning (08:00 AM) requesting an early check-in. I personallly explained that we would do what we can, if they accept the first room available for their first night. So at 10:00 AM they were tucked into a room to recover from an intercontinental journey (Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom). The very next morning they were relocated into a 4 bed room, which they had originally booked, as they obviously prefer large size. In addition, we refunded the difference of the first night of 17,00 EUR out of a courtesy. Kmkis agreed after this harsh review, that this was going above and beyond. Additionally, for the two hours waiting time we invited our guests to a nearby cafe and treated them to a complimentary breakfast with all whistles and bells (yes there was filter coffee). I wish these gestures of ours would have been taken into account when writing the review.

Dear Kmkis and all of the readers who bared with me reading until the end of this rather elongated response. We value every single one of your opinions and our primary goal is always only to contribute to a wonderful journey for you. Our mere consolation in this case is that Kmkis has agreed to visit us again sometime. We wish you will too, for all the good reasons Portus in Karaköy has to offer.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Home away from home

For my third visit to Istanbul, I decided to stay in Portus House. I was looking to stay in this area, because I wanted to explore some galleries and cafes/restaurants and this hotel turned out to be a great choice. I stayed in Portus House for 3 nights this April and it was beyond my expectations. I felt like I was staying with friends, not at the hotel. Everything about it was amazing, location, staff, rooms. The staff was very helpful and gave us great tips on where the locals hang out and eat, cool places to see and things to do. The hotel is situated in a wonderful neighbourood of Karakoy. It’s close to many galleries, cool cafes and great restaurants with variety of great Turkish and international cuisine and a recently renovated hamam. The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring the city. It’s located in a quite street, and it’s halfway between Sultanahmet and Taksim (a 2o minute walk will take you to each of these places). From Taksim you can take a subway and easily reach almost any part of Istanbul. And Bosphorus is just around the corner. The breakfast was very nice with freshly baked simit from a lovely bakery next door. There are also many magazines and books in the hotel, which you can pick up and read at any time. The hotel itself is beautiful, the rooms are nicely decorated, very comfortable, clean and well equipped. The price was very good, too. This was just a perfect hotel; it had everything I was looking for and the staff made my stay extremely pleasant. I can’t wait to go back to Istanbul and stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kisla_2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#71 of 1,159 in Istanbul
207 reviews
Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
#39 of 1,159 in Istanbul
576 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#38 of 1,159 in Istanbul
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#45 of 1,159 in Istanbul
342 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#161 of 1,159 in Istanbul
174 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#7 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portus House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portus House Istanbul

Address: Mumhane Cad. 31 | Karaköy, Istanbul 34340, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,236 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £23 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portus House Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an Art-Nouveau building in Beyoglu, Portus Hotel Istanbul is a unique establishment designed and managed by travellers just like its guests. The main idea is to provide a feeling of comfort and safety. This comfortable hotel features 10 rooms with iPod docks and some flat-screen TVs. Portus Hotel is located in a quiet street by the lively Galata Port, in Istanbul’s prime starting point for tours in all directions by foot, by ship, by metro-tram and by bus. The Karakoy Ferry Terminal and the Galata Bridge are a 2-minute walk away. Free tea and coffee can be enjoyed throughout the day. Guest can also make use of the fully equipped, modern communal kitchen, where usually travelers like to mingle and exchange experiences. There is a supermarket across the hotel as well as plenty of good breakfast houses and restaurants. Decorated with modern art, all air-conditioned rooms offer free Wi-Fi. Some rooms feature a private bathroom with a hairdryer. At the 24-hour front desk, you can find luggage storage and book a shuttle service to Ataturk or Sabiha Gokçen Airport. Private parking is also available. Come and enjoy a fresh, friendly and fun environment, the entry Port for your adventures in Istanbul… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portus House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing