We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good guesthouse near cruise port. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portus House Istanbul
Ranked #15 of 1,246 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Guest house with 10 rooms some with shared bathroom. Not hard to find, follow directions from their homepage. Located very close to cruise ports. Several very good restaurants in the neighborhood. Close to Galata Bridge. Our room number 0 was a large room with bathroom. Spotless clean and nicely decorated with a modern style. Very quiet and good air-condition. Breakfast is included served in the kitchen. Staff very friendly. Low rates, you have to pay cash, why 2014? If you want a clean nice guest house, low rate this is the place!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank R_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Portus House is a great little hotel in an up and coming area. The staff are friendly, very helpful and always have a smile on their face. At a first glance the front may be a little deceiving but the little air conditioned rooms are all you need!! The hotel itself is very clean. The true highlight how ever is the overall location. Once out the front door to your left is a bunch of new cafés and bars hidden away. To your right and a 5 min walk away near the bridge is the metro and Tunnel train which takes you to an area known as Beyoglu. This is an amazing part of the city. Full of young people, cafés, bars and cool little shops. This district itself was the highlight of our stay!! For the price we could not have been happier with the Portus house and of course this amazing "bucket list" city!!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Corey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Portus house is wondeful! Istanbul is an amazing city & Portus House is in a great location, close to major city sites, yet in a more authentic, safe and quiet area that is not crowded with tourists. The room was nice and clean and well decorated and the shared bathrooms were not a problem at all. The staff at Portus House are marvellous. They all go out of there way to ensure that you have a great stay & time in their wonderful city. The breakfast room is cute and the complimentary breakfast is the perfect way to start the day! We were able to leave our luggage there on the day we checked out until the afternoon, tea and coffee was always available and we were provided with a city map & tips on what to do and see. We felt extremely well looked after and had a lovely stay. I definitely recommend staying at Portus House.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Absolutely loved the Portus House. The location was a huge selling point: close to touristy Sultanmet and the Karakoy ferry, but in a more residential neighborhood that didn't feel touristy at all. Bonus: around the corner from the delicious chocolate baklava at Gulloglu! A bunch of great restaurants close by as well, and an easy walk up to Galata. Staff is kind and helpful--they even helped me find a nearby yoga studio! The complimentary breakfast is AMAZING, and the little breakfast room is super cute with a terrace and nice details. I visited with a friend and we stayed in a shared double. Room was clean, beds were comfortable, and we only shared the bathroom with one other room. Bathroom was clean and we never had to wait to use it. Highly, highly recommend for anyone visiting Istanbul.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Portus House is in Karakoy, in a a very hopping area, day and night. Only a few blocks from the Galata Bridge and an easy walk to Sultanahment (the Old City). Our rooms were beautiful, clean and sunny. We had 2 rooms on our own hall with our own bathroom and shower.

The real gem of this gem of a guesthouse is Ismael Gulum, who mans the desk most days. In his excellent English, this charming man will help you with anything you need, from changing a light bulb to telling you the best places to see or eat and how to get there.

Room Tip: Portus House offers an airport shuttle, but a taxi is much cheaper and easy to find at the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1BAK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We loved the Portus House. Got great tips on where to go in the area, easy access to Galata, Istanbul Modern, ferries to Kadakoy. They can get you access to events and places where as a nonlocal you don't even know how to ask.

You may need to fortify your breakfast elsewhere and slip to Julius Meinl for espresso.

Room Tip: No views, so go for the lower floors to minimize stairs. Rooms on floors three through five.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The desk and domestic stAff were fantastic. They exceeded all expectations. They made phone calls for us ,researched information and organised tours The hotel has a central location close to public transport. Definitely reccommend Portus house

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rjcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#38 of 1,163 in Istanbul
753 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#78 of 1,163 in Istanbul
213 reviews
Karakoy
Peninsula Galata Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Galata Boutique Hotel
#390 of 1,163 in Istanbul
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
#40 of 1,163 in Istanbul
586 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#2 of 1,246 in Istanbul
761 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#4 of 1,246 in Istanbul
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portus House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portus House Istanbul

Address: Mumhane Cad. 31 | Karaköy, Istanbul 34340, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,246 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £20 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portus House Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an Art-Nouveau building in Beyoglu, Portus Hotel Istanbul is a unique establishment designed and managed by travellers just like its guests. The main idea is to provide a feeling of comfort and safety. This comfortable hotel features 10 rooms with iPod docks and some flat-screen TVs. Portus Hotel is located in a quiet street by the lively Galata Port, in Istanbul’s prime starting point for tours in all directions by foot, by ship, by metro-tram and by bus. The Karakoy Ferry Terminal and the Galata Bridge are a 2-minute walk away. Free tea and coffee can be enjoyed throughout the day. Guest can also make use of the fully equipped, modern communal kitchen, where usually travelers like to mingle and exchange experiences. There is a supermarket across the hotel as well as plenty of good breakfast houses and restaurants. Decorated with modern art, all air-conditioned rooms offer free Wi-Fi. Some rooms feature a private bathroom with a hairdryer. At the 24-hour front desk, you can find luggage storage and book a shuttle service to Ataturk or Sabiha Gokçen Airport. Private parking is also available. Come and enjoy a fresh, friendly and fun environment, the entry Port for your adventures in Istanbul… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Portus House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing