We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The House Hotel Bosphorus (home away from home)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Ranked #167 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This hotel is a beautiful little place right down on the Bosphorus in the Ortakoy. It is convenient to just about everything. Our room was number 204 and it was a beautiful mini suite with a comfortable sitting room. The bed was large and comfortable and the linens were top notch. The pillows were big and fluffy. The bathroom and shower were typically European but very clean and functional with great water pressure. As our stay in Istanbul was our second week of traveling I needed to use the hotel laundry service. It was quick and well done. Each morning we took breakfast in the lounge area on the first floor. This is a wonderful room that opens out on to the Bosphorus. Breakfast in the early morning sunshine with the sound of the Bosphorus in the background. It was magical. The real gem at this hotel is the staff. The vast majority of them spoke English very well making our stay easier. They are under the command of the General Manager Bahar Karaca. This woman is a fireball. She immediately made us feel right at home and offered many suggestions for places to visit. ALL of her ideas were good ones. She was able to book us into places with short notice and seems to be well connected in Istanbul. We had an absolutely fabulous time at The House and always felt well taken cared of. I will not hesitate to book a room here on my next trip to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobSpears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The House H, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear BobSpears,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The House Hotel Bosphorus in detail. My team and I greatly appreciate your feedback and recognition.

It was a pleasure meeting you all, I am very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and recognized all the details that we care so much about.

Looking forward to seeing you again, please come back and visit us soon.

Warm regards to the West Coast,

Bahar Karaca
The House Hotel Bosphorus Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

If you want a fabulous Bosphorus view but without the pretension and prices of the super high end hotels, the House Hotel Bosphorus would be a great choice. Our room was a suite with a balcony and a separate room with a couch and mini bar. The bathroom is small but functional. Staying in this part of Istanbul is totally different than the vibe of the old city. Very upscale and lots of action. The breakfast and bar area is amazing, with a great open air view of the Bosphorus. The food was wonderful. Mainly, however, the staff are truly accommodating and lovely. They will go out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Elf58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The House H, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Elf58,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

It was wonderful meeting you and having you experience our hotel. I am very happy you enjoyed our hotel as well as our location.

Very much looking forward to seeing you again when you travel back to Turkey.

Warm regards,

Bahar Karaca
The House Hotel Bosphorus Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This gorgeous hotel sits right on the "spectacular" Bosphorus. Loved our room - it was large with a separate lounge area and small balcony. Bathrooms are glamorous with lots of mirrors and glass but are not big. Stunning view from the breakfast room and excellent meal to start the day. Great House Cafe next door with lots of action. They make a fab cocktail! We had our 2 sons with us - 23 and 19 so it was perfect for them. Ortakoy has many buzzy restaurants and nightlife. You can also ferry from the Old Town and avoid all the traffic. It's close to upmarket Babek with it's seafood restaurants and hip cafes. But most of all I want to comment on the delightful Hotel Manager, Bahar, and her staff. They were impressive! Booked great restaurants for us, gave us tips on "hidden" Istanbul and were fantastic for the week we had there. So pleased we chose this gorgeous Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Madeline200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The House H, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Madeline200,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The House Hotel Bosphorus. Your feedback and recognition are greatly appreciated by my team and I.

It was lovely meeting you and your family and having you as our guests. I am thrilled to provide our guests with insider information and help them experience the many faces of Istanbul. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed it all.

We hope you will come and visit us again.

Warm regards to Auckland,

Bahar Karaca
The House Hotel Bosphorus Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Having traveled most of the world, I can truly say that the House Hotel is our new favorite. Located directly on the Bosphorus, it is relaxing, hip, upscale, funky and vibrant all at the same time. The upgraded standard rooms were gorgeous, well furnished and stocked with coffee and mini bar. (I understand they have gorgeous suites as well which we plan to book next trip). Our room also had a wonderful balcony that overlooked the Bosphorus and the bars and restaurants along the water front. The international bridge to the Asian side is right out front and left, and has a fantastic light show every night.

The hotel bar and restaurant are lively but not over bearing...The hotel serves a fantastic breakfast from a gorgeous 2nd floor, waterfront dining room, and provides direct access to the Banyan Tree open air bar/Thai restaurant. (Definitely get a seat at the bar for sunset).

The hotel is also a short cab ride away from "must see" bar/restaurant "29", located high atop the hillside with 180 degree views of Istanbul, the Bosphorus and the Asian side of Turkey. If you go out to dinner just once, do not miss drinks at sunset, followed by dinner at "29".

The hotel staff all spoke English & always had time to answer questions, arrange taxi's, print boarding passes, etc. and even packed us a wonderful breakfast for our early (4:30AM) cab ride to the airport!

The jewel of the property is their Manager, Bahar Karaca. Knowledgable, always available, constantly going out of her way to ensure everything was perfect, recommended the best places for drinks, dinner (and insisted on making our reservations for us). She made us feel completely at home and is the #1 reason why we will stay nowhere else on our visits to this magnificent city.

Room Tip: Anything facing the Bosphorus...street side traffic is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bumbalockus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The House H, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Bumbalockus,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The House Hotel Bosphorus in detail. Your feedback and recognition are greatly appreciated by my team and I.

It was so wonderful meeting you and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Here at the hotel, we try to make our guests’ time in Istanbul as memorable and enjoyable as possible therefore I am so glad that you enjoyed our recommendations and insight.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards Scottsdale,

Bahar Karaca
The House Hotel Bosphorus Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The House Hotel Bosphorus is a nice spot overlooking the sea. I suggest to ask for full sea view.
We had room 102 - with a partial view on the sea just from the veranda. The hotel is located in a very busy area and therefore is quite noisy. The bath en-suite in our room was very small and was hardly to find a storage place for cosmetics and towels. The breakfast lounge is faboulous: direct view and a good choice. The personnel is extremely friendly.
In my opinion however, the price is not related to the expected comfort. Defintitely, in Istanbul there are better places for the same value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElettraStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The House H, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear ElettraStuttgart,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The House Hotel Bosphorus. Your feedback as a seasoned traveler is very valuable.

The input of our guests is of extreme importance to us and we take every single one into consideration. In terms of your final point about value for money, as you can imagine that is something which is rather subjective. As such, I hope you enjoyed the unique experience of staying right on the Bosphorus.

Warm regards to Stuttgart,

Bahar Karaca
The House Hotel Bosphorus Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We just got back from a couple of nights at this hotel, and I have to say - what a great weekend!!

The hotel is absolutely beautiful - the building itself is impossibly glamorous with a very funky bar/restaurant on the ground floor. Great area too, with lots happening all around it!

The rooms are on the small side because it's such a lovely old building, but they are wonderfully finished.... The thing that really makes this hotel though is the service!!

From check in, and Metan showing us around until we left - nothing was too much trouble!! The team were delightful and have perfected the art of being there when you need them without crowding you.

I would recommend this hotel without question ..... And we are very much looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxypuppy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The House H, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Roxypuppy11,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The House Hotel Bosphorus.

My team and I greatly appreciate your feedback and kindness. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and experienced what we are all about here at our hotel.

We also look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards to London,

Bahar Karaca
The House Hotel Bosphorus Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Great location - young and happening atmosphere.
Lots of action at night around the hotel.restaurants, street markets, boat docks, and music.
Be sure to request a higher room otherwise, it may be noisy.
Excellent helpful staff.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are less noisy and ask for Bosphorus views.bathrooms are small,.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The House H, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Carolyn B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The House Hotel Bosphorus.

I am very happy you enjoyed our hotel and unique location.

We hope you will keep us in mind should your travels take you back to this part of the world.

Warm regards to Santa Ynez,

Bahar Karaca
The House Hotel Bosphorus Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Sisli
The House Hotel Nisantasi
The House Hotel Nisantasi
#162 of 1,163 in Istanbul
464 reviews
Besiktas
W Istanbul
W Istanbul
#114 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#63 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,331 reviews
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#130 of 1,163 in Istanbul
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel Bosphorus

Address: Salhane Sokak No 1 | Ortakoy, Istanbul 34347, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £92 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The House Hotel Bosphorus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House Hotel Bosphorus is a landmark building built in late 19th century with magnificent views of the Bosphorus. Renovated by the internationally acclaimed design firm Autoban, the historical building has been transformed into a design boutique hotel. With its original features that have been restored, the Hotel combines historical glamour with contemporary design. The Ortakoy area where the Hotel is located is a lively area with restaurants, cafes and a wide range of stores. A few strokes away from The House Hotel Bosphorus is the landmark Ortakoy Mosque which is constructed on its own platform in the Bosphorus and offers almost 360 degree view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The House Hotel Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing