We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is like visiting friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Ranked #146 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
1 review
“This hotel is like visiting friends”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We just returned from a 4-day trip to Istanbul. The House Hotel Bosphorus was the hotel of our choice - and it was the right choice, for sure!
We stayed over the Republic day, in one of the Superior rooms with Bosphorus view, including balcony, thus having the perfect spot to watch the fireworks. But even if there wouldn't have been a national holiday...waking up, overlooking the Bosphorus is definitely the best way to start the day in a 20-million city.
Bahar, the GM of the hotel & her team gave us a real VIP treatment, from the moment we arrived till we left the hotel. Everything was just perfect: room with a stunning view, excellent service in all areas of the hotel: the welcome desk, the restaurant, the breakfast and finally the room service and the housemaids...friendly faces everywhere, always happy to help...everything runs smoothly and in a very natural, but still professional manner.
This really felt like visiting friends, rather than staying in a hotel - whenever we return to Istanbul, we will stay with our friends in the House Hotel Bosphorus again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Christoph M,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at The House Hotel Bosphorus.

It is a great pleasure for my team and I to know you had such a wonderful experience during your stay with us and enjoyed our hotel. Thank you for your amazing feedback and for recognizing our service philosophy.

We hope to see you again when you return to Istanbul.

Warm regards,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    118
    21
    7
    8
See reviews for
65
303
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

From the moment we arrived at our Hotel we realised that we had chosen a gem. The reception greeting and check in was very smooth and efficient. We were personally shown our lovely room and the Hotel facilities. We had the sensation we were in our own "home" Our entire stay was very memorable,not least the Republic day celebrations where "Our table" had been thoughtfully reserved,what an amazing view we had of the incredible firework display over the Bosphorus. The entire team working at the hotel were always helpful and smiling,nothing was too much trouble. The room we chose was very comfortable,beautiful decor as was the rest of the Hotel. Breakfast choice lovely,we had dinner in the Hotel also very nice.The Hotel manager made to us some recommendations for dinner/dessert in Bebek,they were also excellent. The best recommendation that I can give is that we will return to Istanbul and there is only one Hotel on the Bosphorus we will return to! The House Hotel Bosphorus. A great Boutique Hotel.

Room Tip: Have a balcony,great for early morning coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Audrey P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

My team and I are very happy you had a memorable experience with us and enjoyed your stay. We all appreciate your terrific input and thank you for articulating your experience with such a wonderful review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bosphorus again in the future.

Kind regards to Worchester,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was our first hotel experience in Istanbul and we had all the best of what we expected...
Hotel is located in Ortakoy by the Bosphorus which is never enough to watch it's beauty. Room
and beddings were comfortable, details were tasty and we will never forget the glamorous lights of the city through our balcony. Ortakoy is a crowded noisy area in Istanbul but we even enjoyed this and heard the heart beat of the city from the atmosphere.
We both enjoyed our breakfast and lunch, staff was friendly and professional.
"Bahar" is a gift for the hotel.
I can definitely recommend this place if you do not mind fighting with the traffic while going to the old city. Taxi is easy to find (ask from the reception, otherwise puffing cigar drivers can drive you crazy...)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueberry2292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear blueberry2292,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

My team and I are glad you had a terrific stay with us and enjoyed all aspects of our hotel including our neighborhood Ortakoy.

In terms of getting in and out Ortakoy, I like using public transportation as much as possible besides taxis belonging to taxi stations as you also noted. When coming back to Ortakoy from the Old City, I recommend using the public boat (called “vapur” in Turkish). There is a boat that leaves from Eminonu (Spice Market area) and makes a stop at Ortakoy. This is such a fantastic way of coming back to the hotel because of the convenience and of course fabulous scenery of the Bosphorus! Going into Old Town from the hotel, I recommend taking a taxi to Kabatas tram station then taking the tram straight to Sultanahmet.

Thank you so much for your feedback and for recommending our hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you again.

All the best,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had a lovely stay at the House Hotel. The hotel is right by the Bosphorus and makes the most of its location with the breakfast room where you can enjoy a lovely breakfast looking out over the shipping lanes. We ate in the hotel and had a very good meal and also had a few cocktails in the downstairs House Cafe which is a buzzy place if the service is a bit lacking. Bahar, the general manager of the hotel is an absolute star and really made the difference to our stay with great tips for a weekend break and how to get the most out of our time in this amazing city - thank you Bahar. The only downside is that the hotel is near the bars and clubs of Ortakoy. If like us you are out pretty late and live in the centre of a city in any event, this isn't a big issue. If you live in the countryside and aren't used to the "sounds of the city", maybe ask for a room which is on the more city side of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Sean P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus with this marvelous review!

On behalf of the entire team here at the hotel, my sincere thanks for your wonderful words and recognition.

We are very happy you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and had a great weekend get-away in Istanbul. You are of course right away Ortakoy which is infamous with its nightlife and entertainment. For a quieter area, my personal recommendation is our sister hotel in the Nisantasi district which is lovely and quaint.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Bosphorus again in the future.

Warm regards to London,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at the Bosphorus House Hotel for a long weekend in October and it was truly a memorable stay. Although the hotel is situated in an extremely busy area of Istanbul (Ortakoy) packed with tourists and locals, still the hotel manages to keep a "secluded" atmosphere with personalised service. A great "thank you" to the hotel manager, Bahar, for her recommendations for restaurants and booking a table for us. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear CHRK1,

Many thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The House Hotel Bosphorus.

My team and I are very happy that you had a great experience with us. Thank you indeed for such kind words and input.

We hope we will get a chance to see you again at our hotel.

Warm regards to Athens and efharisto,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

If you want a room with a view then the House Hotel Bospherous is it. I've been wanting to visit Istanbul ever since I was a child watching Michael Palin's Round the World in 80 Days. Istanbul seemed so exotic-the meeting of Asia and Europe, and did it live up to my dreams? Absolutely! It did help we were staying at the beautiful and historic House Hotel Bosphorus located away from the maddening crowds in central Istanbul. I loved listening to the call of prayer whilst standing on the balcony watching the giant tankers floating by to the Black Sea. The rooms are a little on the small side, but the bathrooms are perfectly formed with fab showers. The breakfast in the stunning dining room were something to really look forward to-again the view, but also because the staff are so friendly. I still miss the delicious American pancakes, and again there was that view to stare at. It's true what they say about Miss Bahar-she really is the most helpful, and warm manager I've come across, always ready to help and she gives out brilliant itineraries. I'd recommend Istanbul Modern and a must is Mikla Restaurant, which is one of the most incredible restaurants I've ever eaten in-Russell Crowe was there enjoying himself and when he saw the view I heard him say "Wow! This is cool", and our whole trip was just that.

Room Tip: Always chose a balcony room for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari72467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Mari72467,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience about The House Hotel Bosphorus with this amazing review!..

My team and I are thrilled to read your comments because this feedback and recognition mean so much to us all. I’m very happy you enjoyed your first ever trip to Istanbul and stayed with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bosphorus on your next visit. Istanbul really does offer quite a lot to explore so I hope we will get to see you again.

My sincere thanks and warm regards,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knokke-Heist, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The manager is Mss Bahar and she is the sweetest and the best!
Breakfast is top, do not hesitate to order an egg dish from the menu, it's included in the breakfast.

Maybe in the House Hotel Café there is too much personnel, and they should be able to serve faster... but overall this is one of the best addresses of Istanbul. Value for money is high!

We'll be back...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Axel D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at The House Hotel Bosphorus.

We are very happy you enjoyed your first time stay with us. Many thanks for your feedback and kind words.

We hope you will come back and see us again.

Warm regards,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
bahar.karaca@thehousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Sisli
The House Hotel Nisantasi
The House Hotel Nisantasi
#165 of 1,148 in Istanbul
457 reviews
Besiktas
W Istanbul
W Istanbul
#117 of 1,148 in Istanbul
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#72 of 1,148 in Istanbul
399 reviews
Besiktas
Turkuaz Suites Bosphorus
Turkuaz Suites Bosphorus
#156 of 1,148 in Istanbul
182 reviews
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel Bosphorus

Property: The House Hotel Bosphorus
Address: Salhane Sokak No 1 | Ortakoy, Istanbul 34347, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The House Hotel Bosphorus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House Hotel Bosphorus is a landmark building built in late 19th century with magnificent views of the Bosphorus. Renovated by the internationally acclaimed design firm Autoban, the historical building has been transformed into a design boutique hotel. With its original features that have been restored, the Hotel combines historical glamour with contemporary design. The Ortakoy area where the Hotel is located is a lively area with restaurants, cafes and a wide range of stores. A few strokes away from The House Hotel Bosphorus is the landmark Ortakoy Mosque which is constructed on its own platform in the Bosphorus and offers almost 360 degree view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The House Hotel Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing