We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Istanbul has to offer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Ranked #168 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Unfortunately we did not have the pleasure of staying in this beautiful hotel, but we did experience an amazing branch in its restaurant.

To be honest it mostly turned out to a branch-dinner as, as soon we had a look at the menu we had to have it all. From the cocktails to the starters, the salads, the main courses don’t get me starting on the deserts, everything was superb.
An ideal setting with the most magnificent atmosphere and amazing view over the Bosporus.

Need not say that I will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dimmi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Dimmi10,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

I am so happy you enjoyed your brunch/dinner at our Lounge and experienced the magical Bosphorus!

We look forward to having you as our guest at the hotel on your next trip to Istanbul.

All the best and Happy Holidays,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed with a friend four nights at the House Hotel Bosphorus during a short leisure visit and chose the place due to its location in Ortakoy. The location is beautiful, facing the sea and with various small restaurants and shops in the surrounding area. We had booked a deluxe suite as the standard rooms only have king beds and we prefer to sleep in separate beds. The suite is spacious and the extra bed fitted well into the living room. Upon arrival, we had a welcome letter from the GM and some chocolates in the room. Also included in the rate were one large and two small bottles of water daily.
WIFI is complimentary, but sometimes the signal can be weak in one spot so it helps to move in the room to see where it is strongest.
All usual amenities are provided including bathrobe, slippers and also a hairdryer. The bathroom is rather small with a shower only. The thing missing is a wardrobe. There is only a clothes rack which is built on a kind of table hence it fits only short items like shirts. Instead of this rack, they could have built a small wardrobe into this corner so that clothes are not hanging in plain views.
The breakfast buffet is good, nice selection of items and eggs dishes on order. However, food items are not cooled and there is no sneeze guard.
The big turn-off is that some adjacent clubs are really loud; I was not able to sleep throughout our stay. If you have a light sleep, this place is not for you. The music is playing until early morning and the noise level is hardly bearable. When we complaint after the first night, it was clear that we were not the only ones to suffer. The staff and general manager whom we met, are all aware and used to deal with this complaint. We received a bottle of wine and more chocolates as well as a reduction of our room rate.
Overall conclusion: nice little hotel, beautiful old building, great location, but be prepared for some noisy nights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProHospitalityCons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

It was a pleasant stay the lication is exellent surrounded by restaurants and cafes, the view is the best in Istanbul.

The breakfast is perfect you will find anything you like (traditional Turkish, English , American,waffles, omlets...etc)

The warmth of Ms.Bahar the manager and her staff can't be translated to words, their kindness, hospitality, assistance, excellent care, taking care of the little details, billboy, housekeeping, waiters, all staff were doing the best to make us feel comfortable
that really made me feel home.
The experience really exceeded my expectations. I have been around the world and tried many famous hotel chains but never felt like this. I already recommended the hotel to all my friends and surly I will go back as soon as I can

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawazin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear ZozoBobo

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

It is a great pleasure for my team and I to know you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed every minute of it. We are all humbled by your recognition, heartfelt thanks for your amazing feedback and kindness.

Very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Bosphorus.

Warm regards,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have just returned from a weekend in Istanbul staying at the House Hotel Bosphorus. This boutique hotel is charming and is located on the shores of the Bosphorus with the most amazing views from the lounge terrace on the first floor. The staff were all excellent and could not have been more helpful. On arrival, having booked a superior room, we were upgraded to the Ortakoy Suite which was beautiful and boasted two balconies with a partial Bosphorus view. The breakfast was lovely - be sure to have the menemen - Turkish scrambled eggs with peppers and tomatoes - while looking across at Asia from one of the three outdoor tables on the lounge terrace. Even in mid November the sun felt hot on this fabulous suntrap. The House cafe downstairs is a hip eatery but we were disappointed with the food and felt it lacked substance over style. Our only caveat about staying here on a Saturday night is the noise from late night music and partying which is a feature of this trendy neighbourhood of Ortakoy. In addition, the call to prayer at dawn from the nearby mosque was an unexpected wake up call! However, I would not give up the fabulous location on the Bosphorus that this hotel enjoys - go and enjoy it too at a fraction of the cost of the nearby Ciragan Palace Kempinski hotel or the Four Seasons Bosphorus which share the same stunning location.

Room Tip: Pay up for a room with a Bosphorus view as there is no other view like it in the world - but definit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 101ROD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear 101ROD,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience about The House Hotel Bosphorus in detail.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great experience. I am very happy that you liked our beautiful Ortakoy Penthouse Suite which is located in our private Mansion. This corner mansion was built around the same time as our main hotel building over a hundred years ago and has been an Ortakoy landmark ever since.

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback. As you described perfectly, Ortakoy is a gem because of its sensational views and location on the Bosphorus and nightlife and entertainment are definitely its most prominent
features. I would like to take this opportunity to mention that we provide complimentary earplugs for our guests who are on the noise sensitive side.

On a separate note, I will be sharing your valuable input about our neighbor The House Café with their senior management.

We hope we will get to see you again at Bosphorus when you return to Istanbul.

Warm regards to London,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the House Hotel Bosphorus. It is a charming and welcoming hotel with excellent staff and a cosy and warm atmosphere. All members of the staff made our stay unforgettable. Every question was answered in a competent, friendly and professional way. You can feel the good spirit among the staff who's primary goal is to spoil the guests. The location directly on the water of the Bosphorus is unique. We will return asap!

Room Tip: Book a room with view on the Bosphorus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Daniel K,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

My team and I are very happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and we appreciate your wonderful words. Thank you for recognizing the core of our service philosophy – we are indeed particular about spoiling our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Bosphorus on your next trip to Istanbul.

Warm regards to Switzerland,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed @ the House Hotel Bosphorus for 8 wonderful nights. The hotel was stylishly appointed with timeless classic decor & the views from our room & from the breakfast dining room were truly exotically beautiful. The service & respect from the staff from reception,waiters to the management was impeccable. The hospitality from Bahar the hotel manageress was so appreciated, she was friendly, sincere & most helpful. Hope to be back soon.
Thanks again to all the staff.
DashSadieB

Room Tip: Best rooms are those with the Bosphorus view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear DashSadieB,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

It was a pleasure having you as our guests here at Bosphorus and we are so happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your week with us. My entire team and I greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again when your travels bring you back to Istanbul.

Warm regards to Melbourne,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Lovely hotel with superb atmosphere.
Located in front of the Bosphorus
Extra thanks to the manager Bahar :)
All your recommendation where perfect!!

Very trendy, cool restaurant-bar with magic view of the Bosphorus
with all the fun locals :)

Area full of life, music everywhere...

Thanks again to the crew, Emil and the rest for all the tips.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenzazouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear kenzazouille,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience about The House Hotel Bsophrous.

It was a pleasure having you with us on this trip. My team and I are very happy you had a good stay and enjoyed our recommendations. Thank you for this terrific feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

Warm regards,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Sisli
The House Hotel Nisantasi
The House Hotel Nisantasi
#154 of 1,163 in Istanbul
464 reviews
Besiktas
W Istanbul
W Istanbul
#119 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#125 of 1,163 in Istanbul
663 reviews
Uskudar
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
#277 of 1,163 in Istanbul
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel Bosphorus

Address: Salhane Sokak No 1 | Ortakoy, Istanbul 34347, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £92 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The House Hotel Bosphorus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House Hotel Bosphorus is a landmark building built in late 19th century with magnificent views of the Bosphorus. Renovated by the internationally acclaimed design firm Autoban, the historical building has been transformed into a design boutique hotel. With its original features that have been restored, the Hotel combines historical glamour with contemporary design. The Ortakoy area where the Hotel is located is a lively area with restaurants, cafes and a wide range of stores. A few strokes away from The House Hotel Bosphorus is the landmark Ortakoy Mosque which is constructed on its own platform in the Bosphorus and offers almost 360 degree view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The House Hotel Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing