We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“on the Bosphorus” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The House Hotel Bosphorus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Ranked #117 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“on the Bosphorus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great location,right on the water.Excellent stuff,they can help You for everything.Delicious breakfast,with Bosphorus look.You can enjoy a little Bazaar and fish restaurants ,which located around.Thank You House

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mehmetmoldova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Mehmetmoldova,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

We are very happy you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
bahar.karaca@thehousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    115
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
65
294
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I never write on tripadvisor actually but I really felt that I want to recommend this Hotel.
My stay there was short but sweet. Great service, and most of all a really lovely elegant space and location.
A very generous staff and a very classy suite,
Thank you The house hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _josephiine_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear _josephiine_1,

Thank you for making an exception for us and sharing your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

It is a great pleasure knowing you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Hope to welcome you again when you travel back to Istanbul.

Warm regards,
Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
bahar.karaca@thehousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Excellent value in the new part of Istanbul away from the Sultanmet. Close to Taksim Square & an array of fine dining options like Munferit & Mikla. Positioned right on the water and providing service & hospitality like few other boutique establishments. Bravo to the fine crew working one of Turkey's newer offerings. Real surprise

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear George D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

We are delighted to read about your comments.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
bahar.karaca@thehousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great staff, lovely breakfast and surroundings. All round great stay. Travel into Central areas can be time consuming but all part of the experience. Ortakoy and neighbouring areas by Bosphorus are very nice. Very warm welcome by all staff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlurcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear mlurcher,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us here in Ortakoy.

Hope to welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
bahar.karaca@thehousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Good location on the Bosphorus, lively neighbourhood, attentive hotel staff, quality breakfast, free upgrade on the last date of our stay (special thanks !). Rooms overlooking Bosphorus are especially recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenisLysenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear DenisLysenko,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

It is wonderful that you had a great stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
bahar.karaca@thehousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a great stay at The House Hotel - Bosphorus during the last week of April into early May. Ideally situated in a cozy corner of Ortakoy - the hotel is a perfect location for a few getaway days in historic Istanbul. The staff is well trained and very attentive to client needs. The rooms have a great view of the Bosphorus sea and the super large hanging bridge right by the hotel. The rooms that overlook the sea have a spectacular view that are everlasting and will stay with the guests for a very long time. Enjoy the leisurely breakfast at your own pace - again with a great view of the sea. We loved our stay very much and we would like to thank the staff and management (with a very versatile and charming Manager) for being so caring throughout our stay. It is worth paying the extra amount to get a room that overlooks the Bosphorus sea.

Room Tip: Any room that overlooks the Bosphorus Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pradeep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Pradeep K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

Very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and had a good time. My team and I appreciate your kind words and recognition.

We hope to see you again when you travel back to this part of the world.

Warm regards,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
bahar.karaca@thehousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Having read many positive reviews my boyfriend and I decided to book a room at the House Hotel Bosphorus. Upon arrival everything seemed to be very nice: a lovely restaurant with good views over the Bosphorus, a nice building and an "artsy" lobby. As our room was not ready when we checked in we decided to spend the day around the city and returned at around 20:00 to find a very tiny extremely HOT room. When we asked if we could turn the AC on we were told that they were still in the "winter season" and therefore had no AC (May in Turkey gets hot). We then discovered some blood stains on our bed which we asked to be cleaned right away (eww). When we returned from dinner the room was even hotter and it was clear we could not sleep in there. We were then moved to a larger suite on the top floor, even though the room was more spacious it still did not make up for the fact that it was unbearably hot as well. We were offered "cold beverages" and were advised to open the windows... WORST advise since the neighbourhood is filled with clubs and bars which kept us awake until 5 am. At check out we were offered a 10% discount and no mini bar fees (we had nothing from the mini bar) which seemed like a bit ridiculous considering the amount of money we spent for a sleepless, noisy, bloody night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LuxuryWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear luxuryworldwide,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

I am disappointed your experience with us was less than perfect. All of feedback of our guests, whether positive or negative, is very important. Rest assured, please know I had looked into all the points you raise and would like to address them.

As with most hotels, our check-out time is at 12noon. Guests who were staying in your room the night before were still in their room, this is why your room was not ready at 11:30am in the morning when you arrived. Whenever possible, we do our best to accommodate our guests who request early check-ins. But we have only 26 rooms in the hotel so when it is busy, we are not able to guarantee or provide early check-ins. Since you are a top contributor to Tripadvisor hence a savvy world travel, you must be aware of this situation.

Our air-conditioning system is centralized therefore it cannot be set individually in the guestrooms. The month of May in Istanbul does not get hot, on the contrary it tends to be quite chilly for your information. Our centralized system was still on winter mode as explained to you. On the day you stayed with us, the temperature was 20 degrees Celsius high and 13 degrees Celsius in low with showers. Naturally temperature preference is a completely subjective issue therefore you were upgraded to our Penthouse Suite which is a much larger room. It is unfortunate this room was also not to your liking.

As you also mentioned in your review, our neighborhood Ortakoy is an extremely vibrant area. It is known for its active entertainment and nightlife, it is always busy and it is by no means a quiet area. Since you had read the past reviews about our hotel, you must have noticed the fact that a great number of Tripadvisor users who had previously stayed in our hotel make it very clear in their reviews that Ortakoy is not a quiet neighborhood.

Regarding your claim about our textiles, our bedding and towels are laundered on a daily basis. Our Housekeeping Manager investigated this situation and confirmed with her team as well as our laundry department that no trace of any blood stains had been found.

On a last note, reading your note, it is apparent that you did not agree with the value to price ratio. May – October are peak months for Istanbul and all hotels are very busy throughout entire city. Our hotel being right on the Bosphorus with only 26 rooms, our rates are purely based on occupancy levels.

Once again, I sincerely thank you for your input. My email address is listed below should you wish to contact me with any further questions, comments.

Warm regards,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
bahar.karaca@thehousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
The House Hotel Nisantasi
The House Hotel Nisantasi
#134 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#63 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uskudar
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
#363 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#49 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Sisli
The St. Regis Istanbul
The St. Regis Istanbul
#13 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel Bosphorus

Property: The House Hotel Bosphorus
Address: Salhane Sokak No 1 | Ortakoy, Istanbul 34347, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The House Hotel Bosphorus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House Hotel Bosphorus is a landmark building built in late 19th century with magnificent views of the Bosphorus. Renovated by the internationally acclaimed design firm Autoban, the historical building has been transformed into a design boutique hotel. With its original features that have been restored, the Hotel combines historical glamour with contemporary design. The Ortakoy area where the Hotel is located is a lively area with restaurants, cafes and a wide range of stores. A few strokes away from The House Hotel Bosphorus is the landmark Ortakoy Mosque which is constructed on its own platform in the Bosphorus and offers almost 360 degree view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The House Hotel Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing