We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel stay”
Review of Hotel Momento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Momento
Ranked #365 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 4 March 2013

very central hotel with excellent staff who are extremely helpful.Very good restaurant and bar staff offer very good service. Hotel only two years old so rooms very fresh and clean.
would thourougly recommend for a visit of a few days.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

the location is fabulous.... absolutely no disadvantages there.
the tram stop, grand bazaar, night street shopping, dining options, super market, its all a short walking distance within 5-10 mins.

10 points to the location.

the room once you enter in is a small surprise cos its really small !!! but then thats european rooms for you !!!

rooms are very clean and beds are very comfortable.

the only con.... the bathrooms are overtly small.

the toiletries provided are good too. i was surprised by the mouthwash kept as well... but a good thought !!!

all in all.... great value for money and a very good option to stay near the grand bazaar

if your looking for the party zone then stay in taksim but if your looking for more of shopping and sightseeing then grand bazaar area is best for you as everything is in walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shalink01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This hotel is very modern and clean. The staff are helpful and efficient and the breakfast very good. We had dinner at the hotel one night and this was very good quality. It is within walking distance of most of the major attractions in the old city and very near the tram stop which is easy to use and will take you over the more modern side. There are also plenty of very nice restaurants nearby. However, our room was very small. Only suitable for single occupancy. Nowhere to put things and you couldn't even live out of the suitcase because there was nowhere to lay the case. It was a 3 night city break and although we didn't spend much time in the hotl and it awkward because we could hardly move without crashing into each other. We did ask to change but the hotel was full. For this reason I would not stay her again

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a larger room. Ours was 308 and much too small for 2 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaretCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The hotel has very friendly staff. One night around 11pm I went to reception to ask for an extra blanket. I was met with a smile and five minutes later an extra duvet arrived at our room. I call that excellent service.
One review complained about the breakfast. I have no idea why?The breakfast was excellent with a good selection of cheeses,meats,yoghurts,cereal,pastries,bread,scrambled eggs,sausages, gosh what more does a body need?Perhaps would have liked freshly squeezed orange juice but this isn't a five star hotel.
One night we eat in the restaurant the food was nice, always presented with a smile and at the end of the meal a complimentary beautifully displayed plate of fruit appeared. Again a nice touch.
The room was on the small size but we were only there a few nights.If we had booked longer I would have tried for a bigger room.
When we were leaving a member of staff saw me struggling trying to close my case and ran forward to help.
The hotel is in a good location, but taxi drivers struggled to find it.
Going to Istanbul..take good walking shoes..the hills are very steep.It is a MUST SEE city absolutely fabulous on all counts.
It was a brilliant few days and I will certainly go back just for shopping for spices,leather and other goods.
Two pieces of advice.. If you wish to tip a certain individual member of staff give it to them discreetly in their hand. Don't just add it to the bill or leave it on the dish with payment for drinks or meal,..otherwise we don't think they receive it!!
Also many times we were quoted prices in euros and not in liras which of course means it is more expensive.
Would I stay in this hotel again..yes...

Room Tip: Call to prayer wakes you early each morning I think all rooms hear it..but I rather liked that gives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank manyplaces2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed a few nights at the Momento and had a pleasant stay. Staff at reception were friendly with their limited English but are always keen to help. Breakfasts were to my liking as it is mainly vegetarian. I realised when I was in Istanbul that the their preferred hot drink is tea, not coffee. So I stuck to tea and was good. Location was superb, a hop skip and jump to the Metro, Grand Bazaar, Sulatanhamet, Blue Mosque, Aya Sofiya and Topkapi Palace to name a few. Lots of eating areas about and shops. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Friendly staff especially the bar/restaurant staff. Nice breakfast. Clean and comfortable room with free wifi. Good location-easy walk to lots of nice restaurants down the Main Street to Topkapi palace Blue Mosque etc. and cheap snack food just round the corner. Can also eat in which we did once and the food was good.

Room Tip: 6th floor. Double room. You can see the sea! No noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SisterBliss66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

The hotel was ok. But on the last day i gave the reception a copy of our itinerary and asked them to organise our transfer to the airport as they offered to help us with it. They totally stuffed it up and took us to the wrong airport (on the wrong continent). We nearly missed our flight and it totally marred our holiday. I called and emailed the hotel... But they didnt care, so not great customer service. Also very poor breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Beyazid Hotel
Grand Beyazid Hotel
#644 of 1,163 in Istanbul
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balin Boutique Hotel
Balin Boutique Hotel
#418 of 1,163 in Istanbul
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Inter Istanbul
Hotel Inter Istanbul
#461 of 1,163 in Istanbul
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Niles Istanbul
Hotel Niles Istanbul
#28 of 1,163 in Istanbul
859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beyaz Saray
Hotel Beyaz Saray
#298 of 1,163 in Istanbul
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Selenay Hotel
Selenay Hotel
#859 of 1,163 in Istanbul
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Momento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Momento

Address: Mithat Pasa Cad. Kucuk Haydar Efendi Sok. No:14 Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £39 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Momento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Momento is less than one mile from Topkapi Palace and half a mile from the Blue Mosque. This special class hotel has a 24-hour front desk, a restaurant and free Wi-Fi. All guest rooms at Momento Hotel feature a private bathroom and an LCD TV with satellite channels. Every room includes a mini-bar, air-conditioning and a safe. Buffet breakfast is served in the spacious dining area, and Momento's Restaurant offers delicious examples of Ottoman Imperial and French Cuisine, accompanied by exquisite wines from the hotel's collection. Hotel Momento is less than a 5 minute walk from the nearest train and bus stations, and is 9 miles from Ataturk Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Momento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing