We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST STAY IN ISTANBUL!”
Review of Hotel Momento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Momento
Ranked #350 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BEST STAY IN ISTANBUL!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

In August my husband and I spent five wonderful days in Istanbul. We stayed at the Momento Hotel - The room was wonderful, the service A1, the breakfast was amazing. I cannot fault this place in anything.Very comfortable beds, bathroom clean, modern furniture.
The Momento is close to the Grand Bazaar, walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Hippodrome.
The staff was so helpful. They made our stay in Istanbul so memorable. Unfortunately five days were not enough so we have to return again next year, and i will definitely be staying at the Momento again.
On our last day, we had to catch a plane at 6am, so the Manager got up at 5am and made us sandwiches to take with us.
If you are visiting Istanbul this is the place to stay, although its in the old part of the city, it captures the true meaning of Istanbul - you feel like you were taken back in time! Thank you to the management for everything!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairec0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    115
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
44
86
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Perfect location for sightseeing. Looks a shabby part of the city, but was perfectly safe. Loved watching life going on from our bedroom window. Newly renovated hotel, spotlessly clean. Lots of attention to detail. Staff very helpful and try very hard to please you. Breakfast was plentiful although there were a few things that we Brits would prefer not to participate in at that time of day. But eggs were always available and yummy breads. Never went hungry. All in all very happy with everything. Would we go back - yes !

Room Tip: Think all the rooms were fine ! Some bigger than others but all very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We were in Istanbul only 3 nights, on a "bargain" offer, so were not too concerned that our room was small with a view of others' air conditioning units, because it was extremely well-appointed -- very comfortable beds, good quality bedding, towels, furniture, etc, with free safe, good air con, and minibar for those who wanted. Bedroom and bathroom always spotlessly clean. Breakfast fine, and we had a superb dinner (grilled perch...) on one evening. Bar staff very friendly ! Easy walking distance to Grand Bazaar and related eateries, etc, and ideally situated for BRILLIANT tram line, which gives access to all main places of interest on both European and Asian side, including Golden Horn and Bosphorus boat trips. We actually walked to Sultanhamet Square and all around, to soak up atmosphere. Hotel is in busy commercial area, and we had much fun watching the drivers and barrow-pushers avoiding each other ! We would stay there again -- but would hope to fly in to Ataturk Airport (European side of city) rather than Sabiha Gokcan (Asian side), due to horrendous traffic pressure on motorways. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells, England
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

The Momento is close to the main tram route that runs through the centre of the old city. Close to the Grand Bazaar (10 minute walk) and only a little further to Sultanhamet with it's Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia, Basillica Cistern and Hippodrome etc. Nicely fitted out with good soundproofed windows to close out the hustle and bustle of this great city. There are loafs of restaurants and cafes close by but you have to look if you want something a bit different from the usual fare thats on offer at rvery street corner. Breakfast was plentiful, if not to our taste (meats, cheeses and a lot of lentils and chickpeas) but that is just personal taste. Would recommend the Momento.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astronaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Myself and a female friend spent four nights here on our first trip to Istanbul and cannot fault this hotel or the wonderful staff. The hotel is well located, close to all the main attractions and the tram line (the best way to get around the city at 3TL per journey) as well as local shops, there is one right next to the hotel selling water 0.5TL, snacks, cigarettes (5-8TL depending on brand). The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are modern, stylish and extremely clean. There is free wifi in both the lobby and the rooms. The room itself was a good size (we had a twin room) the room was very quiet at night despite the location and the beds (firm mattresses) were super comfortable. The room had a beautiful, spotlessly clean bathroom, well lit with a large shower cubicle (although no bath). Our room also had a balcony, I am not sure if all rooms have a balcony but as they noticed we were smokers they gave us a room with a balcony so that we could sit outside and smoke, something which was very much appreciated in a world where so often smoking is actively discouraged or completely banned. The staff were really polite, friendly and helpful and always happy to advise us on good restaurants, trips, directions (we did get very lost on our first night there). The breakfast menu was abundant and there was something there to suit all tastes. I cannot comment on the hotel restaraunt for any other meals as we ate out in the evenings, but I would imagine, based on the quality of the breakfast menu that the food is of a good standard. The atmosphere in the hotel is very relaxed and makes for a nice peaceful oasis from the hustle and bustle of the busy city, they have some outside seating where you can enjoy a drink at the end of a busy day. The only disappointing aspect I can comment on is, that while we were there the roof top bar and cafe was not open, which was a shame, if it had been, then I would have rated this hotel as excellent. Four days in Istanbul was not long enough to really see and experience everything it has to offer so I am planning to go back again, and would definately stay at this lovely hotel as well as recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebLeeBSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel provided everything we needed; breakfast was nice, beds were comfortable, AC worked and the location was great - 15 minutes walk to Hippodrome area. Customer service was good and friendly, staff were willing to help with anything.

Room Tip: The room was exactly as pictured in the photos so we were happy. Not big rooms, but everything you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingTravelBug84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namibia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed with our adult son in a triple room, which was very nice with natural light. Had a view of the busy traders in the street below and a little view of the Sea of Marmara. We were also next to a small mosque and the call for prayers didn't bother us at all and it was Ramadan.
Breakfasts were an interesting combination of Turkish and western food with good coffee, variety of teas and fruit juices.
The location suited us down to the ground because we could walk everywhere if we wanted to e.g. 2km to the Topkapi Museum, 1km to the Blue Mosque, Bosphorous, Hammans, etc. The main tram station was up the hill a little, but always very clean and punctual. Otherwise we followed the tram line, walking.
Near the hotel (about 3 shops down) was a little store sold us our beers and sparkling water (the cheapest in Istanbul) albeit a tiny bottle TR.50. Other places charged TR1.50 and up.
As our trip to Egypt was cancelled the Momento were very good in letting us rebook at the last minute and allowed us to stay in the same room. Best of all we had FREE (read FREE:-)))) wifi!
Only one small inconvenient point: we did not have a little kettle and mugs in the room for a very early cuppa or a very late cuppa. We had to go downstairs to get this! Mini bar always stocked next day, although we hardly used it perhaps once.
We would stay there again as they are opening a rooftop cafe and bar in next summer apparently (when we went up there, it was an empty roof top!) and that we know the location, free wifi and know the hotel. Most staff friendly.
that we know the location, free wifi and know the hotel.

Room Tip: I would say corner rooms are larger and most sunnier, especially if one is travelling around and wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GenieNamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Comfort Elite Hotels Sultanahmet
#299 of 1,156 in Istanbul
64 reviews
Grand Beyazid Hotel
#635 of 1,156 in Istanbul
65 reviews
Beyazıt
Comfort Elite Hotels Beyazit
Comfort Elite Hotels Beyazit
#352 of 1,156 in Istanbul
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Balin Boutique Hotel
#400 of 1,156 in Istanbul
189 reviews
Beyazıt
Antik Hotel Istanbul
Antik Hotel Istanbul
#540 of 1,156 in Istanbul
480 reviews
Darkhill Hotel
#369 of 1,156 in Istanbul
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Momento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Momento

Property: Hotel Momento
Address: Mithat Pasa Cad. Kucuk Haydar Efendi Sok. No:14 Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Momento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Momento is less than one mile from Topkapi Palace and half a mile from the Blue Mosque. This special class hotel has a 24-hour front desk, a restaurant and free Wi-Fi. All guest rooms at Momento Hotel feature a private bathroom and an LCD TV with satellite channels. Every room includes a mini-bar, air-conditioning and a safe. Buffet breakfast is served in the spacious dining area, and Momento's Restaurant offers delicious examples of Ottoman Imperial and French Cuisine, accompanied by exquisite wines from the hotel's collection. Hotel Momento is less than a 5 minute walk from the nearest train and bus stations, and is 9 miles from Ataturk Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Momento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing