We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accommodation for your holiday”
Review of Harbiye Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbiye Residence
Ranked #486 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation for your holiday”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

LOCATION: The hotel is located a few minutes away from the Osmanbey metro station. Although not positioned on the main road, the hotel is located close to all the essentials you may require: restaurant options for quick snacks or casual dining (Pehlivan Restaurant definitely recommended), supermarkets. groceries, bakeries etc. Taksim square is just 10 minutes away by foot.
NOTE: The main road from the hotel entrance is only about 50m away, but the path to the road is on a steep incline and can be quite exhausting climbing up - you would have to stop at the top to catch your breath. There is a small set of staircase opposite the entrance (which most people might not notice initially) which eases the climb or the descent.

LOBBY: The lobby is a small area located near the entrance. It can be a little cramped at times, especially if you are carrying shopping bags and have to manage to push a stroller for your little one. It does however serve the purpose of checking-in and checking-out the guests with minimum efforts.

ELEVATOR: The elevator is a very tight squeeze. We just about managed to squeeze inside the elevator (myself, the missus, baby and baby stroller). If there is a lot of luggage, it will definitely require multiple trips.

CHECK-IN / CHECK-OUT: Check-in was absolutely hassle free. Since we had booked online and had requested for transportation from the airport, they were expecting us and after them having scanned our passports, they informed us of any important information that we may require and we were quickly lead to our rooms.

STAFF: This has to be amongst the friendliest and most helpful staff that we have come across during our travels, and we have visited quite a few countries in the last few years. The men at the reception, the nice and sweet mama cooking us breakfast every morning and the rest of the staff in the hotel - never without a smile. Sila (hope I have spelt his name right) is a young man who's enthusiasm and energy really impressed us all. The day that we checked in, we were given a room on the 5th floor. Sila escorted us to the elevator, pressed the button for our floor, and since the elevator was full, told us he would meet us upstairs. The elevator door closed and opened after a minute, and we see Sila standing outside. We thought that the elevator had not moved, but in actuality, Sila ran up the stairs to the 5th floor and was there to greet us when the elevator door opened. Impressive! Definitely the best customer service we have received in a long time.

ROOMS: We had booked the Superior Suite, mainly because it had a jacuzzi. Unfortunately, due to the weather and our schedule, we never managed to utilize it. The room is spacious with a large bed, a sofa-cum-bed, wardrobe, electronic safe, an electric cooking stove top, refrigerator, dining table, television and a conventional oven (this is NOT a microwave oven). The room did not have an iron, but could be arranged on request. The rooms are very clean with unique decor. Our two year old really enjoyed the space and was very happy running around the room - not cramped or claustrophobic. The windows opened to a reasonable view of the city. The room was equipped with energy saving lights - which was both good and bad. Good because it was good for the environment - bad because the lights were not too bright - slightly brighter lights would be called for. The double bed was large and comfortable - peaceful sleep almost guaranteed. Only complaint was that the mattress was two mattresses combined as opposed to a single mattress on the bed.

BATHROOM: The bathroom is spacious, has a hair dryer and a shower or jacuzzi (depending on your selection of room). Soap and shampoo was available at all times. Once again, like the room, the lighting in the bathroom was energy efficient and was quite dull - again brighter lights would have been convenient, but not necessary, as we managed to adjust.

DINING: The breakfast hall is large and spacious. The breakfast buffet was reasonable. A large variety of cheese, vegetables, eggs to order, sausage rolls, cold cuts, coffee, selection of herbal and regular tea, breakfast cereals, bread etc. was available. Most options available were healthy and vegans or vegetarians would not be disappointed.

INTERNET: Wi-Fi within the room was free and allowed multiple devices to connect at the same time. Signal and strength was excellent.

TOURS: The hotel can book all your tour requirements at very competitive prices. We were not aware of this and had already booked the tours online prior to arriving at the hotel. Our next visit, we would definitely book the tours directly though the hotel.

OVERALL: The price was reasonable, the rooms excellent and the staff incredible. Location is convenient and the area lively.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Prezzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    33
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
22
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed 9 nights while attending a conference at the nearby Istanbul Congress Center. Perfect location for the ICC with a short, direct walk to the venue. Hotel also proved to be convenient for touring Istanbul with close links to public transport.
The hotel does not pretend to be a 5 star anonymous chain hotel but is a perfect home base. Very clean, serviced daily, good sized bathroom, excellent breakfast. Kitchenette and table a bonus. Wifi generally good. Airport transfers worked well.
What made the hotel perfect was the friendliness and willingness of the staff to assist. Staff of all levels went out of their way to help, could not thank them enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy traveller S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Enjoyed our home away from home on our first trip to Turkey - Istanbul. As mentioned, not a luxurious hotel but very clean, modern and centrally located. Staff were attentive and we definitely loved our room on the top floor (6th) with a large balcony and a view of the sprawling city in front of us. A hop, skip and jump to the main street to bus services and a 10 minute walk to Taksim square. We especially like the fact that the flooring was not carpet in the room and the bathroom was a fair size as well. A great place to be used as home base for venturing tourists that want to have a comfortable, clean and safe bed at the end of the day!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laineynim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. Even though the hotel is not luxurious like many hotels in Istanbul, it was nice. The staff was very friendly. The day we arrived we had a dinner at one of the local restaurant within walking distance. The gentleman at the front desk was kind enough to walk us to the restaurant.

Since we were three adults we had a room on the top floor with a balcony. The room was spacious to accommodate three of us. The attractive part of the hotel is the staff.

We booked this hotel through Fastbook travel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expat4ever1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Excellent service standards: rooms clean and spacious, breakfast basic but delicious and rich.
if you want to stay away from crowded touristic places, this is the best location perfect :10minutes walk from taksim square. 2mints to the closest metro station, that can take you 15 to 20 minutes to the touristic sites. groceries, supermarkets, shopping mall around
Excellent staff, helpful and courteous, they don't hesitate to give you the best service and provide you with valuable and required information( in Istanbul or somewhere else)
In two years I stayed 3times in Harbiye residence, and definitely it would be my only choice of I go back to turkey.
A big thanks to all managers &staff: Halit,Bashar, Emin, Ramazan and all the rest of the staff for their excellent service .
Thanks Halit for assisting for the trip to Cappadocia

Room Tip: Room with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Ended up staying 4 nights here because I enjoyed it so much. Close to Taksim (10 min walk). great and helpful staff, great Turkish breakfast. The room was very clean, spacious (I was in a room on level three) and very quiet being located just off the main road. Was a great find and exceptional value!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Massweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The hotel is very close to Taxim square (10' walking).Good price including a very satisfactory breakfast.Every day room cleaning and changing of towels and sheets.Kind staff.Comfort and well decorated room.Harbiye Residence is a good choice for a trip to Istanbul.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Constance_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Inncity Hotel Nisantasi
Inncity Hotel Nisantasi
#437 of 1,156 in Istanbul
129 reviews
Sisli
Nisantasi My Residence
Nisantasi My Residence
#642 of 1,156 in Istanbul
39 reviews
Sisli
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye
#347 of 1,156 in Istanbul
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Jazz Hotel
Jazz Hotel
#186 of 1,156 in Istanbul
196 reviews
Sisli
Gallery Residence
Gallery Residence
#361 of 1,156 in Istanbul
116 reviews
Sisli
Bentley by Molton Hotels
Bentley by Molton Hotels
#845 of 1,156 in Istanbul
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbiye Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbiye Residence

Property: Harbiye Residence
Address: Cumhuriyet Cad. Selbasi Sok. No 6 | Harbiye - Taksim, Istanbul 34373, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #486 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbiye Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbiye Residence is located at the heart of the Istanbul city, one side close by just 5 minutes walking distance to the most famous Taksim Square and Istiklal Street which includes the most famous Pedestrian Street of Istanbul with lots of shopping places, art galleries, restaurants, pubs and bars. On other side has 5 minutes walking distance to the center of modern Istanbul, Nisantasi district which includes most popular high quality entertainment, shopping, national and international brands within walking distance also subway and Lutfu Kirdar (Istanbul) Congres Center.The comfortable and friendly atmosphere makes it a warm living place than a luxury hotel. Our friendly and experienced staff is ready to welcome you with simplicity and peace in your business and leisure travels in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Harbiye Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing