We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right place for a city trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amethyst Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #545 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Amethyst Hotel is in centre of the shopping area of Istanbul. If you don't like a pleasant walk you can take the metro from Aksaray metro stop less than 300 meter away from the Hotel. However if you want to enjoy an amusing walk you are not far from the Grand Bazaar and many historical places.
The Amethyst is a clean Hotel wit a free WiFi. The staff are helpful and friendly.
I really enjoyed my 7 days stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isam_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a very good welcome on the reception - instead of the room we make the reservation, they gave us the corner suite for the same price. Suite was very nice, big, clean, with a big bathroom. WiFi available in all the hotel. Hotel has a very good location, near Blue Moscue, Aja Sophia. We were using public transport and also walked to this monuments. In the hotel restaurant there was live music - Russian lady was playing and singing. Everything was much better than we expected. The only thing we didn't like was the noise near the hotel made by the workers that were doing the reconstruction of the neighbuorg building. Finaly, we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miroljub O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Great hospitality and excellent service every time we stay in this hotel I find the employees very friendly and helpful especially Mr. Zeki (the receptionist) who was very cooperative and supported us in everything we needed. Perfect location especially if you are on a business trip, very close to the public transportation stops which makes it accessible to all good business and touristic locations.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rasmiya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

welcome and information given at reception was insufficient and almost unfriendly. They were not even able to provide any information about time table for the spa or the swimming poll of the hotel !!

Quality of breakfast is poor

Warming unsufficient too

Tramway station is 75m far from the hotel. the good point

Room Tip: avoid main street side (north)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel has a very good location with lots of restaurants, shops, monuments and the Bosporus all at different walking distances. The Hagia Sophia, Topkapi, Blue Mosque, underground basilica are all 2.5 kms walking distance straight on the main road.

There is a metro station just outside the hotel and lots of places to eat around. There is free WiFi in all the rooms, a swimming pool and turkish bath - but we did'nt find the time to use any of these facilities. The breakfast is decent but fresh juice is extra.

We used this hotel twice during our visit to Turkey. The first time the room on the first floor was worse then the room we got the second time on the 6th floor.

What I didn't like about the hotel was the noise/sound from the neighboring rooms. The TV from the next room can be heard quite clearly even if it is a soft volume and so do sounds of people moving and talking. We didn't hear any sound from the street though.

Apart from the sound issue, the hotel is well kept and rooms and bathrooms are clean and well equipped with all amenities.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RahulP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

it was our first time in Turkey. everybody says that if you stay in Istanbul as a tourist, go for Sultanahmed area. finally I decided that it is a good advice and narrowed my choice (first i thought to book hotel in Taksim - now I know it would have been a big mistake as it too noisy for a family with two little kids like us)

well, i underestimated proximity to Topkapi and Blue Mosque. we had to use tramways anyway. good thing is that the metro and tram station is very close to the hotel. and my son adores both of them!

the pool is good but i was dissapointed to discover that they charge you until 11am and after 5 pm - do you use sauna and pool any other time? we - not.
the breakfast was wonderful, the staff is so baby friendly, i was afraid they spoil my kids with candies and cartoons to death.

overall, I would say that it is good but little bit overpriced. from Montreal it looked fair to pay 120 for one night in 4 stars. but in Istanbul it looks that we could have found something cheaper for that level of quality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank indirkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights then 4 nights a couple of weeks later. The hotel was used by a tour we were on and we extended for a couple of nights at the end. The second room we had was better than the first room.

The location is ok, if you are there as a tourist then I would suggest somewhere closer to Sultanahmet-Old City otherwise you either have a 20-30 minute walk or need to catch a tram which stops just around the corner from the hotel. If you go out at night it is best not to go too far away from the main road that the tram runs along in this area.

As mentioned in other rooms there is a smell of cigarette smoke - was strongest in the hallway, although on our last day it disappeared.

The rooms are not large and ceilings are low, do get some noise from neighboring rooms.

In the first room we had the fridge was very noisy cutting in and out.

The breakfast was ok but not great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreamtime_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ametistanbul, Satış Müdürü at Amethyst Hotel Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

A message from Amethyst Hotel Istanbul;

Thank you for choosing Amethyst Hotel Istanbul for your recent stay in Istanbul.

We’d be grateful if you would review us on TripAdvisor. It’s the world’s largest travel site, helping millions of visitors every month plan the perfect trip.

Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' reviews before booking their own visits. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Amethyst Hotel Istanbul the next time you're in Istanbul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Darkhill Hotel
#370 of 1,173 in Istanbul
306 reviews
Beyazıt
Kent Hotel
Kent Hotel
#299 of 1,173 in Istanbul
332 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel
Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel
#152 of 1,173 in Istanbul
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
The Time Hotel Old City
The Time Hotel Old City
#867 of 1,173 in Istanbul
202 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Grand Durmaz Hotel
Grand Durmaz Hotel
#501 of 1,173 in Istanbul
151 reviews
Hotel Istanbul Trend
#1,029 of 1,173 in Istanbul
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Hotel Istanbul

Address: Mesihpasa Mah., Aksaray Cad., No 6 | Laleli, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #545 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £50 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amethyst Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of historical peninsula and the shopping center of Istanbul, Amethyst Hotel provides top quality 4 stars hospitality with walking distance to Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Basilica Cistern which are among the world's most important historical and cultural places. Everything you could possibly need is right on the doorstep of Amethyst Hotel - shopping and dining options, nightlife, bars, cafes and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Amethyst Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing