We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amethyst hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amethyst Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #539 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I think this is the same hotel as the photo of the looks the same. But did not book through trip advisor. It has a large amethyst on the reception desk which is clear in the hotel photos.
Thehotel isin Fatih quite ordinary from the outside. In quite a commercial area with alot of russian speakers. So if you are from russia or Ukraine you will feel comfortable as some of the waiter sunderstand and speak russian. The resturant in basement serves good food and waiters are very helpful.
Breakfast on mezzanine floor is excellent. My only complaint would be the juices are artificial with so many fresh fruits available it would be possible to provide fresh juice. I booked a junior suite which was spacious and well appointed. A spa bath which worked well was also a bonus. Room service was prompt and accurate. If like me you like to relax with a film after a hectic day and evening you will be disappointed channels are quite limited. The star of the hotel is the indoor fairy grotto pool.quite amazing clean romantic along with sauna. A definate must to visit. But does not open untill 11 am. So no early morning swims. Unusually for istanbul most prices are in US dollar and as it is a commercial area difficult to buy single items.
but not so far from town and plenty of taxi. But they dont use a meter cost is around 25 tl depending where you go.
Hotel is good value for money based on current exchange rates. When the TL stengthens then I think you can get better value

Room Tip: Pay extra money for a corner junior suite
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeNewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Amethyst Hotel Istanbul
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

This really good hotel with great location. Nice kind staff, I've never had problems there. You can easily reach main sights, near tram and metro station. Nice shopping, little noisy. Normal breakfast - can be little more choice but ok.
Very clean rooms, smalll but good!
WIFI is terrible :) U cant use more than 1device and connection is very poor - this for business is very huge problem.
If u come to Ist for few days this good place to stay in.

Room Tip: choose high floor corner room is small
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PollyAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Very helpful for our first trip to Istanbul Turkey. Had someone at the airport to pick us up and drop us off after our stay. Hotel was nice and easy walking distance to the Grand Bazaar. Everyone at hotel were eager to help with any questions and overall made our first trip to Turkey a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Amethyst Hotel is in centre of the shopping area of Istanbul. If you don't like a pleasant walk you can take the metro from Aksaray metro stop less than 300 meter away from the Hotel. However if you want to enjoy an amusing walk you are not far from the Grand Bazaar and many historical places.
The Amethyst is a clean Hotel wit a free WiFi. The staff are helpful and friendly.
I really enjoyed my 7 days stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isam_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a very good welcome on the reception - instead of the room we make the reservation, they gave us the corner suite for the same price. Suite was very nice, big, clean, with a big bathroom. WiFi available in all the hotel. Hotel has a very good location, near Blue Moscue, Aja Sophia. We were using public transport and also walked to this monuments. In the hotel restaurant there was live music - Russian lady was playing and singing. Everything was much better than we expected. The only thing we didn't like was the noise near the hotel made by the workers that were doing the reconstruction of the neighbuorg building. Finaly, we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miroljub O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Great hospitality and excellent service every time we stay in this hotel I find the employees very friendly and helpful especially Mr. Zeki (the receptionist) who was very cooperative and supported us in everything we needed. Perfect location especially if you are on a business trip, very close to the public transportation stops which makes it accessible to all good business and touristic locations.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better room
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rasmiya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

welcome and information given at reception was insufficient and almost unfriendly. They were not even able to provide any information about time table for the spa or the swimming poll of the hotel !!

Quality of breakfast is poor

Warming unsufficient too

Tramway station is 75m far from the hotel. the good point

Room Tip: avoid main street side (north)
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Hotel Polatdemir
#426 of 1,161 in Istanbul
157 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Sorriso Hotel
Sorriso Hotel
#719 of 1,161 in Istanbul
125 reviews
Kent Hotel Istanbul
#301 of 1,161 in Istanbul
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darkhill Hotel
#359 of 1,161 in Istanbul
301 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Glorious Istanbul Hotel
Glorious Istanbul Hotel
#405 of 1,161 in Istanbul
84 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Samir Hotel Deluxe
Samir Hotel Deluxe
#381 of 1,161 in Istanbul
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Hotel Istanbul

Address: Mesihpasa Mah., Aksaray Cad., No 6 | Laleli, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #539 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £58 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amethyst Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of historical peninsula and the shopping center of Istanbul, Amethyst Hotel provides top quality 4 stars hospitality with walking distance to Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Basilica Cistern which are among the world's most important historical and cultural places. Everything you could possibly need is right on the doorstep of Amethyst Hotel - shopping and dining options, nightlife, bars, cafes and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Amethyst Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing