We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere!”
Review of Stray Cat Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stray Cat Hostel
Ranked #54 of 1,203 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere!”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I stayed at this hostel only for a day, but the atmosphere of this place was very impressive. If you're a young bagpacker looking for a cheap but hip place,this place will be totally it.

This hostel has a public kitchen with refridge and a rounge on the first floor. These places make it very easy to get along with other travelers. It could be a bit noisy, but it's not a big problem at all for sleeping as rooms are on the other floors(this place has an elevator!) The room was normal. Like the name, there are some cats in the hostel. I've seen two cats and a kitty. The owner let the cats chill around freely, so if you have any problem with cats, this hostel is definitely not a place for you. But they're nice kitty cats, and I enjoyed playing with them.You can also find some random drawings on the wall. A girl was drawing an art piece voluntarily while I was there. It shows how much travelers loved the place.

Stray Cat could be just a decent hostel, but what made me to give 5 stars to this place was the receptionist(feeling sorry for forgetting his name). I got a big problem as soon as I got there, but he helped me very nicely. He didn't push me to check in first, but instead showed his hospitality. He moved me.

This hostel is on the hill from the tram station Findikli, and to go to Taksim, you have to walk up more. It can be hard,not gonna lie. But the cheap price and the most awesome receptionist cover all up. Willing to stay there again on my next visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank kforsythia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    45
    11
    1
    8
See reviews for
3
34
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 687 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I can't understand the gushing reviews about the hostel. Having stayed at better ones in Istanbul and at Cappadocia, I would rate this one at just about average.
The location is a bit inconvenient and needs some local guidance to reach from the Havas shuttle station. The walk to Taksim Square is a steep climb uphill (and avoided if dressed for a party/dinner!) but an easy walk downhill to the metro station. There are a few restaurants, convenience stores and a pizza takeaway nearby. The hostel is spread across two different buildings and we were shown rooms (ensure) in the one adjoining the reception. It was AWFUL - dark and poorly maintained. He beds were worn out mattresses! We complained and were accommodated in the main building eventually. Even here the rooms were not well kept, the bathroom had a faulty light, broken shower cubicle, no ventilation and best avoided in summers. Remember, Istanbul can get very warm/hot in August/ September. Well, nothing to expect for a view as it faced the rear and was probably a dumping area for garbage.
The breakfast included was a joke even for a hostel - some tomatoes, bread, curd and occasionally scrambled eggs. So we would buy and bring in some fruits. Only the tea and coffee was easily available and adequate. We did not see much of the staff and came across volunteers at the front desk(?) and did meet the owner on the last day who gave us a few euro's discount for the difficulties we faced initially with the bathroom.
Overall, I would not recommend this hostel unless it catches up with others in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: If you must, choose rooms in the main building and preferably in the front side. Otherwise, there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank deepz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
straycathostel, Owner at Stray Cat Hostel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Hi

Hostel had several construction during this year, several things renewed, just it stays still as a backpacker hostel, not turned to a honeymoon hotel yet, we think will not be also in near future because backpackers who are main guests are happy with who we are and our laid back homely style.

You stayed one year ago here, now there is just one building that had renewed and maintained.This is very nice of you to remember us one year later and write your comment now, and helped us so much again to remember what we are and what we are not, we wish you a better mood for your next Istanbul trip.

Thank you

Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffern, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I stayed at Stray Cat last month and had a great experience. Super affordable, location was ideal, sites and transit were quite accessible. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly- Sedat and Yakup made me very welcome and comfortable. Stray Cat has a very accepting atmosphere where there's always good music in the background and inviting conversation. Thanks guys:)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank the_aprilfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

If you want to meet other travelers, that's the perfect spot for it. The friendly environment in the lobby in a traditional Turkish style encourages conversation among the visitors. The friendly staff will help you out with any questions about the city or the local culture - and even take you to a night out in the city. It might be a bit crowded around breakfast and check-in time is quite late, but the lovely cats will make you forget that. Excellent location close to a stop of the tram that goes to the historical center (Sultanahmet) and only 10 minutes away from the heart of modern Istanbul (Taksim).

Room Tip: Rooms looking at the street might be a bit noisy on open window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Boyan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This place needs to be sampled by everybody wanting to stay in a friendly, clean and welcoming environment with lots of character. It's ideally located, literally 2 mins from the tram and down the road from Taksim ( but off a nice quiet side street). We stayed as a group of 5 girls and they were so cool in letting us share a 4 bed room. Breakfast is AMAZING!!! The owners were brilliant, they helped us with where to go and even took us for a night out on the town! Very clean rooms and bathrooms, I literally cannot fault this place!!! The cats are a very nice added bonus :D One of the best things about it is how welcoming they are! I didn't think I would miss the owners of a hostel as much as I do these guys!!! P.s I cannot believe how cheap it was...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Lorren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The hotel is very well located. A few minutes walk from taksim, the tram down the street to visit the old town and the boat to the islands. Perfect.
the living room is very friendly, I was like in my home.
This hostel is open 24h/24H
Free Breakfast (bread, butter, jam, cereals, yoghurt, laban, etc. ..)
Free tea and coffee all day.
Free wifi in the living room and in the first floor.
Staff very friendly and very accommodating.
You need help ? ask !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank MoughLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

There is absolutely nothing bad to say about Stray Cat. Perfect location, less than 10 min walking from Taksim Sq and 5 min walking to the tram that takes you to the old city in only 4 stops. Very spacious rooms, totally clean, new sheets in your bed the day you check in, the cleaner goes every day to clean toilets, showers and sharing areas. They provide you facilities like towels, lockers, mineral water, tea and coffee all day for free and the best thing is that Stray Cat hostel is amazingly cheap. The staff is excellent; open-minded, easy going and friendly people. We have actually become very good friends. Nice people for chatting, listening music, having some drinks and relaxing after a touristic day. They help you a lot regarding touristic requests, in fact, the owner booked a cheap and fantastic hammam for my friends and me and it was the best experience ever. The people from the hammam picked us up at the hostel and drove us back after it. Also, they recommended us places to go for lunch and differents meals to try. The atmosphere in the hostel is just amazing, we have made so many friends from all over the world and we are still in contact thanks to the chilling nights we had at Stray Cat hostel. We went out with more travellers from the hostel and some of the staff and took us to nice places with turkish live music. We probably wouldn't know that by ourselves.
We really enjoyed our week trip in Istanbul and Stray Cat hostel is one of the main reasons for that. I will come back and no doubt to repeat staying in there. I totally recommend it!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank BlancaMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
InnPera Hotel
InnPera Hotel
#514 of 1,149 in Istanbul
343 reviews
Sisli
Green House
Green House
#19 of 1,203 in Istanbul
239 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#22 of 1,203 in Istanbul
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,203 in Istanbul
900 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Lighthouse
Cheers Lighthouse
#5 of 1,203 in Istanbul
257 reviews
Hush Hostel Moda
#65 of 1,203 in Istanbul
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stray Cat Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stray Cat Hostel

Property: Stray Cat Hostel
Address: Mebusan Yokusu No 35 | Taksim Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 1,203 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stray Cat Hostel in Istanbul offers a simple , laid back, comfortable , affordable accomodation in city center. The hostel is located 5 minutes walk from Taksim City Center, Taksim is full of bars , cafes and clubs for every taste, 200 meter down from the hostel there is a tram stop takes you in 15 minutes to historical monuments of Hagia Sofia, Topkapı Palace, Underground Cistern, Blue Mosque. Stray Cat Hostel in Istanbul has double, triple, four bed and 6 bed rooms . Some rooms have their own bathrooms some has shared ones . Breakfast is included in all prices. Also free tea, coffee and mineral water all day long is included to room rates . Safe deposit in reception for valuables are free of charge . Free bedding , beds, sheets and towels are included in price. Free high speed wi-fi is also available, and we have one kitchenette with tea coffee making facilities, and one equippied kitchen for free guest use.Stray Cat is a quite social hostel but not a party one. We do not serve alcohol just you can enjoy your drinks that you bought from several discount supermarkets and liqour shops in 2 minutes walking distance to hostel in our smoking or non smoking separated common areas. Just please note that although we are a very social hostel with an artistic vibe, that different paintings made by different guests and artists, the Stray Cat is not a hard partying hostel. We offer free night stay to artistic travelers would like to make a paint or performance in hostel . We have 24 hours reception with people working on desk who are knowledgeable and helpful for your possible needs, wishes and questions in Istanbul. We do not tolerate any kind of behaviour that consist of sexual, religious, ethnical, and racial discrimination, we reserve the right to refuse service anyone falls under these categories.Thank You. We wish you a nice stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Stray Cat Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing