We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stray Cat Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stray Cat Hostel
Ranked #54 of 1,187 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

I strongly recommend this place. Very safe, clean, cosy, near to all good sites, and cheap. You will find a friendly staff, always ready to help you. The decoration is charming, the playlist amazing, and the location just perfect to go out or to visit the city. There is a cute courtyard where you can smoke, a free breakfast, free drinking water, and cofee and tea all day long. Enjoy your stay !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Candice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    45
    11
    1
    8
See reviews for
3
34
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Had an awsome weekend here travelling with a friend, it's a good place to meet people, really arty, great atmosphere, with a nice living room area to chill with games and kittens... Breakfast was good, and there's free tea and coffee all day. Staff are really friendly, helpful and good fun :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank effi-kiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

This is one of the best hostels i've ever stayed in. It's not a party hostel, so if you want to do that.. maybe look elsewhere. BUT it is a very social hostel. More low key chilling on the couch, playing with the cats, sipping tea.

There are cats everywhere, except in the rooms, so if you're not a cat person, this isn't the right hostel for you. The cats are clean and healthy.

The rooms are a good size, good bathrooms, nice beds. It is basic, but for the price, very reasonable. close to public transport, near sites, good area.. the owner Sedat is lovely!

I stayed here and then came back on my way home. I liked it that much!

Breakfast is included and it is delicious! I will stay again next time i'm in Istanbul! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Allioz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

I was there with my girlfriend and it was awesome. The hostel is located in a perfect location of the city and close to all attractions. 5 minutes walk to taksim square ,and the most noisy street in istanbul, istiklal street, but you will be safe from the noises here but very close ;) ,also metro and bus stations are 2 minutes away! and also ferry station is close as well... the rooms are clean i think (ours was really good), me and my girl had alot of fun with kittens and also Ginger. with a well select morning music, they have a fresh and full torkish breakfast(don't miss it). the staff are not just friendly and energetic but also good advisors, if you want to be in the right place at the right time, follow their tips ;p I should be honest with you, i'm not sure about all turkish people, but the owner of Stray cat is the coolest turkish that i ever seen. i recommended this place to all of my friends and also you ;) i will be there someday, again...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mehdi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

I had an awesome time here!!
I stayed in Istanbul a few times before, and I started to find the Taksim area a bit overwhelming.. so this one, only a few minutes away from it, and close to the sea was perfect for me. (Lovely tea place right by sea just 2 minutes walk...sea breeze, fish & bread & good tea...yummmmm.)
The people working there are GREAT, they are not only friendly and helpful, but they have great stories...:)) (Thanks guys!! ). Very laid back & warm atmosphere, & good energies around.
This is definitely not the place for you if you don t like cats!! there is 4 here (& an other million around everywhere in Istanbul...)..they are very cool & friendly & they only hang out in the downstairs area, not in the rooms...
The rooms are tidy & clean with showers & toilets very close to each of them... (maybe slightly too simply decorated for my liking)

There is some really cool food places around there, all different...Turkish "home food" in lunch time, cafe with menu in English.. and also very local kebab places & chicken-rice man with his stand & a classic sweet shop on the corner & the famous fish & bread by the sea. Lovely tea place right by sea just 2 minutes walk...Bosphorus, sea breeze, good tea...yummmmm... Shops selling beers are just a few steps away & open till very late.

I see some people here complaining about the climb up to Taksim...i really didn t think it was so bad ..it s about 10 minutes MAX and only the last short bit is kind of steep... and come on, it s a bit of exercise & good for the butt :)) AND: walking DOWN with the Bosphorus in front of you is real fun.

If I really had to say something negative... it would be that "the cleaning lady always seems very grumpy".. but that would be kind of ridiculous .. :))

I will definitely come back & recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank missNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

This is an ideal place for travellers hoping to get their money's worth so they could focus on spendng quality time in Istanbul. You get a wholesome breakfast in the morning and get the latest music from the reception... This place is for the cool dude and dudettes that love travelling, cats, meeting new people and listening to music. Artists, business seekers, students, lovers....People of all walks visit stray cat on a 24hr basis so be sure to spend some time in the hang our space on the ground floor where the reception action happens. The service is professional and you definitely feel at home as soon you get there..................

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gazalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

I stayed there two times and that's definitely the place I'd stay at again next time I go to Istanbul! It has the perfect location for me - so close to Taksim, but a lot more quieter and the Bosphorus is just a few meters down the street. Stray Cat has a lovely atmosphere - I loved the common room, full of friendly people and nice paintings. The staff is always willing to help you out and they advised us the best bars and places to eat in our trip! There's a new kitchen with everything you might need and a nice free satiating breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank frag242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
CVK Park Bosphorus Hotel Istanbul
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#23 of 1,187 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Beyoglu
Neverland Hostel
Neverland Hostel
#181 of 1,187 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Cihangir Ceylan Suite
Cihangir Ceylan Suite
#42 of 1,187 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,187 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#14 of 1,187 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stray Cat Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stray Cat Hostel

Property: Stray Cat Hostel
Address: Mebusan Yokusu No 35 | Taksim Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 1,187 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stray Cat Hostel in Istanbul offers a simple , laid back, comfortable , affordable accomodation in city center. The hostel is located 5 minutes walk from Taksim City Center, Taksim is full of bars , cafes and clubs for every taste, 200 meter down from the hostel there is a tram stop takes you in 15 minutes to historical monuments of Hagia Sofia, Topkapı Palace, Underground Cistern, Blue Mosque. Stray Cat Hostel in Istanbul has double, triple, four bed and 6 bed rooms . Some rooms have their own bathrooms some has shared ones . Breakfast is included in all prices. Also free tea, coffee and mineral water all day long is included to room rates . Safe deposit in reception for valuables are free of charge . Free bedding , beds, sheets and towels are included in price. Free high speed wi-fi is also available, and we have one kitchenette with tea coffee making facilities, and one equippied kitchen for free guest use.Stray Cat is a quite social hostel but not a party one. We do not serve alcohol just you can enjoy your drinks that you bought from several discount supermarkets and liqour shops in 2 minutes walking distance to hostel in our smoking or non smoking separated common areas. Just please note that although we are a very social hostel with an artistic vibe, that different paintings made by different guests and artists, the Stray Cat is not a hard partying hostel. We offer free night stay to artistic travelers would like to make a paint or performance in hostel . We have 24 hours reception with people working on desk who are knowledgeable and helpful for your possible needs, wishes and questions in Istanbul. We do not tolerate any kind of behaviour that consist of sexual, religious, ethnical, and racial discrimination, we reserve the right to refuse service anyone falls under these categories.Thank You. We wish you a nice stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Stray Cat Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing