We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a shame!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rooms Galata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rooms Galata
Ranked #141 of 1,171 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a shame!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Just got back from Istanbul after a 4 night stay in Rooms Galata. Although the rooms themselves were very nice and spacious the management and services offered by the hotel leaves alot to be desired.
This is supposed to be a design boutique hotel. It advertises that there are ipods, safes and a mini fridge/bar in the room and a roof terrace. Well there was no ipod or ipod player. We didnt see a safe and when we mentioned this to the reception we were told that only three of the rooms have safes and that they could bring us one to the room. But surely a safe that can be removed will not be a safe safe, will it? There was absolutely nothing in the minifridge/bar except for two small bottles of water on the first day. There was no telephone in the room so each time we wanted to talk to either our friends in another room or the reception we had to leave the room. We went to see the roof terrace which was tiny, very dirty (with bird droppings on the seats) and pots with dead plants in it.
Our friends stayed in a room which had a balcony , but it neighboured the next door house which was filthy and full of rubbish. The hotel had put up a fence but you could still see through it and also there was bird droppings everywhere on the balcony! So it was never used although the weather was good.
Although the sitting room is very quaint and nice there is an open kitchen by it can be used by the rooms. The kitchen was never clean and was full of flies by the bin. The drawers and cupboards also were dirty and basically it was the last place you felt like cooking or making a cup of coffee or tea in. We did complain to the receptionist about the smell from the bin, we got a shrug of the shoulder and were told that it would be cleaned but everytime we went back it was in the same state.
The hotel also says that it provides small breakfast of tea and Turkish pretzels in the room. Twice when my husband went to get tea, because although advertised other wise we had to go and pour it ourselves and bring it to the room, there was none available and we had to wait 15 minutes for the pretzels to turn up. This was at 9 in the morning.
So to sum it up although it a beautifully renovated building with nice big rooms, in our opinion they have to either change management or give serious thought to changing some very vital things in this hotel, especially when they are charging such high prices.
What a shame! With a bit of TLC and thought given to customers needs and comforts this place could have been really good.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 12 as its balcony faces a very dirty and rubbish strewn house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blablablaathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear blablablaathens, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced and thank you for your polite feedback. Those misunderstandings, which unfortunately may have occurred before our current and new Team was formed, were solved in the meanwhile. Please allow us to redeem ourselves next time you visit Istanbul, as we would love to make this up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    12
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
25
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
warrnambool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

The guys are real helpful,,lovely rooms, is on a steep hill but hills are unavoidable everywhere in taxim. Good exercise..safe area and easy enough to walk to metro to sultenmet..if you get room one its smaller and noisier..can hear reception below and washer going..they will organise pick up for low fee

Room Tip: Not room 1
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank carole127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear carole127, thank you for your really polite feedback. We are waiting for you when you will travel again to Istanbul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Beautifully renovated building in exciting arts area - located on a quiet road off i̇stiklal Caddesi, the main street in Beyoglu area. You'll be close enough to historic center of town but not overrun by tourists. Very safe area and there are great restaurants and bars options close by. Rooms are very comfortable and thoughtfully designed with great attention to detail. Good layout combined with high ceilings, marble bathrooms, kitchenettes, all modern conveniences and restored frescos that echo the rich history of the city. Who knew hip could also be elegant? Fantastic view from the roof terrace makes you want to linger, but the streets and sights beckon and you'll be refreshed enough to tackle the hills of Istanbul in search of the new and old. Truly superior service by flexible, caring, English-speaking staff. Every detail speaks to the hotel's focus on a perfect stay in this vibrant city. I have found my "home" in Istanbul!

Room Tip: Some rooms have small, private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomad202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Your Istanbul-home's doors are still open, dear nomad202... Thank you. Flattered by your feedback, we are waiting for you at Rooms Galata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
md
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Modern renovated old building with tons of charm. Super location and extremely helpful staff. Clean rooms with good layout. Wife and I stayed here for 4 days and we would stay here again.
Nice marble bathrooms and views from the roof deck is fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orourke911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear orourke, thank you very much: we will be waiting for you with pleasure, next time you will decide to be have a fantastic view of Istanbul from the roof deck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

The location is great, three minutes walk to Istiklal and 5 minutes walk to the Tophane tram station to Sultanahmet. The room was fascinating, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We almost didn't want to leave. The staff were kind and helpful, and spoke fluent English. They were very flexible and helpful with us in changing our date of reservation and have a late check out. It was a bit too pricey, but worthwhile.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zahra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Zahra S, thank you very much: we will be waiting for you again with pleasure, next time you will decide to visit Istanbul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Great individual, boutique- style rooms in an exciting area of Istanbul. All mod cons, including wi-fi with a touch of added style. Our room had a nice little balcony overlooking the street which had a lively, homely and honest appearance but was thankfully not excessively noisy. I'd still advise on packing earphones to improve the nights sleep as Istanbul is a naturally vibrant city and an early morning 'call to prayer' from the many minarets is a strange (if eventually endearing) wake up call for an unsuspecting visitor from the west!

The staff are very helpful, guiding our taxi driver in on our arrival, providing directions and recommendations. They do, however, seem to work very long hours and are much more alert with useful advice at the start of a shift than close to the end!

Be prepared to walk up and down steep hills to get anywhere in the Galata area.... No issue for us but might be for some.

Room Tip: The rooms might all have balconies, I'm not sure. Our's did and it made a nice setting for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MXE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear MXE, we thank you for the positive feedback. Hopefully we will meet again during your next journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Really very impressed by this one. This is a small boutique hotel right in the centre of the action. We received a warm greeting on arrival from the young receptionist, who by the way also doubles up as the bar man and tourist information. Situated in between 2 converted town house merged together to make this hotel. The rooms, all individually decorated, extend upwards across 4-5 floors. The contemporary design and decor inside is both modern and wonderfully chosen, wooden floors, leather sofas and lots of natural light through the window. The room I stayed in was beautiful, very large and extremely comfortable. I also had a balcony that overlooked a little terrace garden below, the garden is a nice place to have breakfast in the morning if the weather permits. The inside communal areas are great to, there's room to hang out with friends and relax before hitting the town. The only down side to this hotel is its position on a hill, getting to and from can be tiring after a long day shopping and socializing. However that aside this is a wonderful place to stay, I certainly would return!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Simon2012, we are delighted by such a kind comment. Thank you. We are waiting for you, at Rooms Galata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#87 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#352 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#155 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#231 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Galata

Property: Rooms Galata
Address: Sahkulu Mahallesi, Kumbaraci Yokusu No: 37 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 33430, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 1,171 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the multi-cultural and colorful city of Istanbul, we offer you a luxurious and unique experience at the lively heart of the city where history, culture and night life are intertwined for a peaceful repose.Consisting of 15 rooms in 2 separate, yet connected historic buildings, Rooms Galata has been restored with contemporary techniques that meet the needs of modern living. This boutique-style residence introduces flats with garden, private terraces,maisonettes, single and double rooms with kitchenettes, each of which reflects unique, and trendy decoration, supported by the comfortable and best quality beddings, flat screen TVs, wi-fi, air conditioning, hair dryer and mini bars. Somerooms can accomodate up to 3 people. The rooftop terrace overlooking the sea view of Istanbul, the secret court yard opening from the cosy lounge with bar are designed to meet the guests' comfort. The art pieces in rooms and in common areas are selected, and the room furniture are specifically designed in harmony with the historical character of the buildings. Various places of visit such as the Galata Tower, art galleries, museums, theaters,restaurants, bars and night clubs are within 5-10 minutes walking distance. The staff assists scheduling tours and activities in Istanbul. Do not miss the opportunity of "Sailing on the Bosphorus" with the sail boat of Rooms Galata. Laundry and dry cleaning services are available upon request and with surcharge, as well as VIP Airport Transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rooms Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing