We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel.”
Review of Rooms Galata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rooms Galata
Ranked #131 of 1,221 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel.”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

All the rooms are on the street side. Sometimes you can hear some street noise. They do not serve breakfast, only coffee and some bread.
Overall it was a great experience. The rooms are beautiful and nicely decorated. Very helpful staff. I recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the street side. Sometimes you can hear some street noise. They do not serve br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Annie J, thank you for your really polite feedback. We are waiting for you when you will travel again to Istanbul, hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    12
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
25
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Lovely domestic feel for an independent traveler who wants a genuine Istanbul experience. Very helpful staff and great central location.

Rooms are very tastefully decorated and very comfortable.

Strongly recommend it, especially having stayed in other more expensive or similarly priced Istanbul hotels that were nowhere near as nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Flattered by your feedback, we are waiting for you again at Rooms Galata, dear JRM1980. Thanks a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Stylish and spacious rooms in a unique town house. Small roof top terrace with great views. Also common lounge area with coffee and tea. Bedrooms contain small kitchenette and are stylishly designed. Bathroom small but functional. Located down a steep hill so be aware if you have mobility issues. Owners helpful but not intrusive.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conorlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for writing this really polite opinion about Rooms Galata, dear Conorlyn. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to meet you soon in Istanbul, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful first floor flat, situated in an old Istanbul building 5 minutes walk from Galata tower. The area is the most interesting to be in in Istanbul within walking distance of so many exciting things to see and do.
Ahmed is available by phone all the time and works at the hotel 2 doors away so is often on hand. He is funny and charming and was so helpful whenever we needed advice or answers to questions or recommendations. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilaryjaneelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear hilaryjaneelizabeth, we are really happy you had a wonderful time at Rooms Galata. We really hope to see you soon, thank you for your kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

If you are looking for a "different" place to stay and chain hotels don't mean much to you (regardless of the stars) then you got yourself a beautiful choice! Located conveniently in a small street minutes of the Istiklal avenue, previously being a Greek family furniture factory, this place mixes modern hotel features with a family atmosphere and a genuine welcome smile from the owner. You will feel like you live in your own Istanbul studio! Everything is around- one thing though: if you cannot for physical reasons climb a steep road for 3-5 min, try somewhere else!!!
And do not forget to enjoy a drink at the almost-next door Leb-i-derya bar restaurants and allow yourself to enjoy one of the most beautiful views of Bosphorus.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evie_Vangelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Evie_Vangelis, your kind feedback was really polite. Thank you again, for choosing Rooms Galata. We hope to see you again in the future, and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We were unlucky with our neighbours at galata rooms,no sleep for 2 nights...
even with earplugs you had the feeling that you could understand the conversations.
Around midnight we could finally relax when someone started to „play“ the guitar.
The house next to the galata rooms is very, very close.
The other thing is that you can smell the cigarette smoke even with the windows closed.

The location is fine if you are in to shopping and nightlife.
The Room is well designed.the kitchen lacks teamugs and cups but you have a common kitchen that is well equipped.
We, an middleaged couple that is not in to shopping and nightlife would definitely stay in the asian side next time, we had stayed at sumahan on the water and the rates were even less expensive with breakfast....
I found rooms at galata too pricely.maybe its the location.
The staff was very nice and helpful.

Watch out for expensive and trendy places to eat around there.we did spend more on a breakfast that was not good with watery espresso than a whole delicious lunch at a regular bufetplace.

Room Tip: can`t say, we stayed at the backside to avoid the street but it was noisy due to the neighbours on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxanaurbini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, dear mafaldashweiz.
We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not totally meet your expectations. Please allow us to give you a different impression next time you visit Istanbul, as we would like to make this up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

First impression after p getting out on the steep cobbled streets of Istanbul was "This looks impressive". Rooms Galata has carefully blended the old with the new. If Rooms Galata were a person, it would be someones grandad, with a face that tells a million wonderful stories, and inside shone a heart of pure gold.

Like many other boutique hotels in the city, this one is slim, modern and narrow, nestled away cutely in the centre of where all the action is. Upon arrival we received a warm greeting from the young curly haired receptionist who doubled up as the bar man who we also tapped up for local information which he was able to give us.

Rooms Galata is sandwiched between two converted town houses. It has its own small lift which fits two very intimately - at least intimate enough to identify the brand of toothpaste the other person in the lift uses. The rooms are all individually designed and decorated across all floors. The design of our room was modern and contemporary. A duplex apartment with a kitchenette and a nice large LCD TV.

The communal area is situated on the ground floor with a large seating area outside to eat your complimentary Turkish olive bread and sip your hot cup of coffee in the morning before you take on your day.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COOPSTheNaughtyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Your kind feedback was a really energetic surprise, dear COOPSTheNaughtyNomad. Thank you again, for choosing Rooms Galata. We hope to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,154 in Istanbul
1,010 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#17 of 1,154 in Istanbul
1,016 reviews
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#118 of 1,154 in Istanbul
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#16 of 1,154 in Istanbul
253 reviews
Sisli
Keten Suites Taksim
Keten Suites Taksim
#72 of 1,221 in Istanbul
11 reviews
Beyoglu
Louis Appartements Pera
Louis Appartements Pera
#59 of 1,221 in Istanbul
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Galata

Property: Rooms Galata
Address: Sahkulu Mahallesi, Kumbaraci Yokusu No: 37 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 33430, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 1,221 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the multi-cultural and colorful city of Istanbul, we offer you a luxurious and unique experience at the lively heart of the city where history, culture and night life are intertwined for a peaceful repose.Consisting of 15 rooms in 2 separate, yet connected historic buildings, Rooms Galata has been restored with contemporary techniques that meet the needs of modern living. This boutique-style residence introduces flats with garden, private terraces,maisonettes, single and double rooms with kitchenettes, each of which reflects unique, and trendy decoration, supported by the comfortable and best quality beddings, flat screen TVs, wi-fi, air conditioning, hair dryer and mini bars. Somerooms can accomodate up to 3 people. The rooftop terrace overlooking the sea view of Istanbul, the secret court yard opening from the cosy lounge with bar are designed to meet the guests' comfort. The art pieces in rooms and in common areas are selected, and the room furniture are specifically designed in harmony with the historical character of the buildings. Various places of visit such as the Galata Tower, art galleries, museums, theaters,restaurants, bars and night clubs are within 5-10 minutes walking distance. The staff assists scheduling tours and activities in Istanbul. Do not miss the opportunity of "Sailing on the Bosphorus" with the sail boat of Rooms Galata. Laundry and dry cleaning services are available upon request and with surcharge, as well as VIP Airport Transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Rooms Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing