We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and price outweighed minor issues...”
Review of Ayasultan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ayasultan Hotel
Ranked #338 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Location and price outweighed minor issues...”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We had a few minor issues with noise, lack of hot water and wireless signal, all of which were fixed immediately, and none of which could dampen our pleasure at the stunning location (thirty seconds walk from the Sultanahmet tram stop, three minutes to the Aya Sophia and less than ten to the Grand Bazaar), pleasant staff or amazing low price.

If you are not looking for luxury we would happily recommend the Ayasultan Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDN_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    103
    36
    14
    6
See reviews for
48
85
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Ayasultan is a nice reliable hotel in Sultanahmet - just 5-10 min walk away from the main attractions such as Hagia Sophya, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern, etc. and just a bit further if you want to see Grand / Spice Bazaars. There are a lot of eateries & money-exchangers nearby and the area generally seems safe. The hotel rooms are quite decent - nothing fancy, but clean and cozy, with all basic amenities provided. The breakfast spread is good enough to get you going for a long day of sight-seeing. Staff was generally polite and helpful - they also helped us make local bookings for various attractions. Would recommend for people traveling as a group of friends or small families.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishab M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Booked 3 rooms, with 9 beds for 2 families. On arrival given 3 rooms with one room only having 2 beds. When advising reception was told this was because they were fully booked and they would change the room the next day. But having booked in advance wernt they expecting us? Was tired therefore thought nothing of it. They did put an extra bed in the room - making it cramped but for one night we could survive..the next day went out and back but still no room change- advised reception who promised this would be done the next day. Ok. Following day went out and returned and lo and behold- no room change. Didn't bother to chase after that. Don't think they had any intention to do it. Hidden charges galore and staff very patronising and arrogant especially management when giving them any feedback . Booked for 7 nights wanted to leave and go to another hotel after 4. But refused to give them my money for free! Breakfast was ok with selection. Rooms were decent but I walked in on housekeeping washing the tea cups in the bathroom sink even before she had cleaned the bathroom. Not pleasant. Needless to say didn't use them after that. I took crisps etc for the children and Capri sun drinks from the UK as wasnt sure if thats what we would get here. Heard staff saying how I was cheap. To prove how cheap I was, did not use any of the hotel drinks etc. Management are only interested if you spend money - lots of it with them, or are of a certain class.Also being of British Indian origin - the manager looked down on us, being very patronising when giving any feedback. Also, should you not leave your room for any reason - you will not have housekeeping visit and if they do they will be rude when they go about their duties. Told by manager again in a patronising manner that was my own fault. Great location though.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I searched a place to be in a walking distance to monuments and bazaar. Found Ayasultan on the google chart. Booked a kind of last minute via phone and e-mail. All I was promised I got.
It is really a very good location and very clean. The breakfast was generous. I am looking forward to see them again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front street are bigger, breakfast is on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

It is a modern little hotel in the middle of Sultanahmet, on the European side. Clean room, nice bathroom with hot water. Heating in the room.There is a TV, but the only English speaking channel is BBC World. The wifi turned off a lot of times and after calling the reception it always took a while to fix it. The breakfast is not the best, I guess simply not my taste. But also the eggs and sausage were always cold (for an unknown reason left the holder unplugged). When we left they wanted us to pay for the hotel what we had already done online at the time of reservation...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EszterAr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel for our first visit so we were a little worried. The hotel was literally less than two minutes from the Sultanahmet tram stop coming from the airport. Our room was a little small (crowded with extra beds) but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and well stocked. All fixtures were in working order; many Istanbul travelers complained of low water pressure or no hot water - this was not the case here. Breakfast had a reasonable selection. The staff at the reception was friendly, helpful and polite. The location is very good, close to major sights and in a quiet street. Frankly I would recommend to people looking for good value overall. Perhaps the only reason I would not rate at the maximum for the category is the absence of security boxes in the room although the reception helped us several times on this issue. Would consider it if we were returning to Istanbul.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Isaac R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Walking distance to Blue Mosque and Aya Sofaya. Nice and clean room but breakfast sucks. They have a shuttle service to and from the airport for 30 euros which is very reasonable. Staff was very friendly.
restaurants around the hotel are very nice but very expensive and they are open till 1 AM

Room Tip: Request for rear room. Front rooms have noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kamran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#150 of 1,148 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#28 of 1,148 in Istanbul
296 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tan Hotel - Special Class
Tan Hotel - Special Class
#97 of 1,148 in Istanbul
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#251 of 1,148 in Istanbul
181 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#110 of 1,148 in Istanbul
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayasultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayasultan Hotel

Property: Ayasultan Hotel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Catalcesme Sok. No:26 Eminonu/Cagaloglu, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayasultan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayasultan Hotel is a lovely boutique hotel which was renovated in 2015 and located on the historical peninsula of Istanbul, Turkey. With a mix of classical and modern architecture, the Ayasultan Hotel has 36 attractive comfortable rooms offering a B&B service. Situated just a short walk from the major attractions of Sultanahmet Square, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, and the Basilica, Grand Bazaar, guests will appreciate the great location and easy access to the city delights. Book into the Ayasultan Hotel and relax in style and comfort in this delightful Istanbul boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ayasultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing