We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If we come back to Istanbul, we'll come back to Minel”
Review of Minel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Minel Hotel
Ranked #231 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Minel. The facilities are very new in this hotel. The double room and the bathroom were very clean. The staff was very kind and friendly and make us spend enjoyable breakfast times.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XenDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

Perfect location! Very close to Santa Sofia Mosque and Galata Bridge is just ten minutes walking. Perfect for going by walk to the most importants monuments and importants areas in Istanbul. Good Price. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast (included) and clean and quiet rooms. From our room we saw Gulhane Park. Just 9 rooms. Very familiar :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rakelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The hotel is perfectly situated in the old town of Konstantinoupoli and the street is very quite. The owners are very helpful, friendly and willing, you will enjoy the atmosphere of the place. The only thing to take in consideration is the size of the rooms, are really small. Don't hesitate is a perfect solution!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eirini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

what an excellent hotel! Metin and his staff were very great people and very helpful and friendly. They gave us lots of tips about the city. The hotel is new and the rooms are beautiful and very clean. And what a great location! Walking distance to all touristic places.
I definitely recomend this hotel and I want to come back to Istanbul and stay there again! Thanks Metin and all the staff for the excellent stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ipinheiro81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel just for two nights at the end of our trip in Turkey but I was so impressed that I wanted to stay longer. The rooms are very nice designed, for breakfast you can have anything from eggs to fruits. The manager of the hotel is a very nice guy and very friendly. Also the location of the hotel is in the Sultanahmet which is the center of Istanbul. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyPetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We had one night in Istanbul before our trip really began. We wanted to be as close to the "touristy" stuff as we could so we could maximize our site-seeing and because the rest of our stay in Istanbul was to be in Beyoglu. We didn't want to stay in a hostel, and didn't want to spend a lot... and we also have pretty high standards when it comes to clean/modern... Luckily we found The Minel!

Firstly, the place looks as cute as the photos on Trip Advisor. A very well-designed modern, cute and clean hotel. The room was tiny, but the design was so well done that we didn't miss the space at all. The bathroom was great... all new everything. For the price, we could not have asked for more.

On top of the location and look of the hotel, the owner/host and staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. We enjoyed talking with them, and when we showed up 2 hours before check-in time, they offered us some Turkish coffee and had our room ready about 40 minutes later. After a long trip there, we were incredibly happy about this!

I would say the only thing I would mention as not being great is the noise of the other guest's doors closing. We didn't notice any street noise or anything, but there were a couple of guests who were a bit noisy when walking down to the first floor. It wasn't enough to bother us... we had ear plugs with us, but didn't need them in the end... it was a minor detail.

The breakfast was better than the nicer hotels we stayed at on our trip, and tea/coffee at all times was lovely.

Upon leaving, they helped us get a taxi and helped carry our bags... I offered a tip, and it was very politely refused with a smile. I would HIGHLY recommend this place to a friend traveling to Istanbul or to anyone looking for a great deal in the middle of Sultanahmet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avideno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This has to be one of the best hotels for the price I've ever been to. The rooms are modern looking and very inviting. Food for breakfast is also exceptional, it was the only place in Turkey where I stayed that had gozleme for breakfast (and I've been into 6 different hotels, guesthouses etc. on my trip), which is a Turkish dish that I really loved. Also it is located in the Sultanahmet area which is the old town center, so all the main attractions you want to see are within walking distance. And how can I not mention the host, he is very hospitable, talkative, but not intrusive, a great person overall.

I hope some of you who will read this will find it helpful, because if I ever return to Istanbul I already know where I'd be staying

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#517 of 1,159 in Istanbul
364 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ayasofya Hotel
Ayasofya Hotel
#162 of 1,159 in Istanbul
249 reviews
Sultanahmet
Modern Sultan Hotel
Modern Sultan Hotel
#112 of 1,159 in Istanbul
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Anadolu Hotel
Anadolu Hotel
#401 of 1,159 in Istanbul
203 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gulhane Corner Hotel
Gulhane Corner Hotel
#558 of 1,159 in Istanbul
132 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#33 of 1,159 in Istanbul
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minel Hotel

Address: Alemdar Mah. Guzel Sanatlar Sok. No:11, Istanbul 34121, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £22 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Minel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a fresh, modern and elegant hotel nestled within awe inspiring and unparalleled surroundings of Sultanahmet. We are a small hotel designed with tastefully decorated rooms with your personal needs in mind. You will find yourself immersed in a truly unique and magical atmosphere, providing outstanding Turkish hospitably to make you feel at home.In the heart of the oldest part of the city, you will enjoy simple but elegantly appointed rooms, wake up to a fresh Turkish buffet breakfast and can take a morning walk or run in the Gulhane Park where you will feel like you are in the forest, but in the heart of the city. From our doorstep you can take a stroll on cobblestone streets and enjoy the most fascinating and historically important areas of the worlds great cities. The looming architecture of the famous Aya Sophia, the historical Topkapi Palace, and the eloquent Blue Mosque and Basilica Cistern all within a 2 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Minel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing