We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!”
Review of Minel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Minel Hotel
Ranked #220 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This little boutique hotel was in an absolutely perfect location for visting the main places places in Istanbul. The hotel is is tiny little side street off of the min tramway T1 (take this from ferry port). The Topkapi Palace walls were 50 steps from the hotel!.The Blue Mosque is approx 5 min walk and Grand Bazaar about 10 mins.

Very clean hotel, rooms small, and compact but modern and tasteful. There is a fantastic shower and brilliant hairdryer in the bathroom (not one of those silly ones that don't stay on!!) so leave that at home. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Free tea, coffee and turkish 'Chi' are available at any time of the day or upon your return from an evening out. Just ask!. We were there for 5 days, and the breakfast was a small buffet style, same each day but ok. Fresh omelettes, speciality warm Turkish cheese pastry (delicious) and usual breads, cold meats, cheeses etc. Also natural yoghurt and james/honey.If I was going to be a tiny bit critical , only thing that ruined the breakfast was cheap tasting margarine. Butter would have been nice. Also, we were on the first floor, and as the stairwell is open from the dining area/reception, it was a bit noisy on occasions at night, but not much of a problem.Free cans of drink in mini bar in room.

This hotel is in a perfect location, lovely little hotel and excellent value for money. Upon leaving, when settling the bill, I offered my credit card to pay, the owner was a bit disgruntled and tried to get me to pay cash for our stay (a little moan about charges etc) but I did pay by card as we didn't have enough cash. Just a little tip there!!

I would recommend thi hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: No lift here, but would choose a 2nd or 3rd floor room for quieter sleeping.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazza88871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
There are newer reviews for Minel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed for two evenings at this wonderful little boutique hotel. First,the location is excellent - walking distance to all the major sites, but tucked away in the back of a street so it's nice and quiet in the evening to get a good night's rest. Second, the breakfast is really tasty and healthy. Third, the rooms were very nice - modern and comfortable. And lastly, our favorite part about the hotel, is the amazingly friendly staff. My husband and I commented that it was like staying at a B&B, because the staff were so helpful and seemed genuinely interested in getting to know us. That is something I have never really experienced at any other hotel. The hotel's small size adds to this charm. Thanks for a wonderful time in Istanbul! We hope to visit again someday and plan to stay at Minel!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana_Cabrera-Cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Minel Hotel have a very excellent location, near of all historical Istanbul sites, Sultanahmet, AyaSofia, basilic citern, hippodrome... and 1 minute to the tram station 'Gulham station'.

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, and everytime you can use the library of the hotel and drinking turkish tea/coffee...

The rooms is clean, with a modern design and nice colors...
The breakfast is very good and varied...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdelilah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

very good value hotel with friendly & helpful staff, clean & modern room, and walking distance from tourist attraction and tram line.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shytinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Loved: Hotel is very new (opened May this year) and as such, towels are still plush, comforters are still billowy. Good a/c and heater. Good water pressure for shower. Breakfast is good and filled you up for the morning. With only 9 rooms, it felt like you were staying at a posh friend's guestroom (which was great and I looked forward to coming back after a long day of traipsing around town). Some hotel staff have better English than others. That being said, I got very detailed directions to where I needed to go (even directions for using the bus). Staff were very hospitable, greeting you every time you came or went and offered tea / coffee every time they saw you. Staff were also honest that there are few decent (ie. non-tourist-trap) restaurants in the area. If you can, head over to the Istiklal Caddesi area (across the Galata Bridge) for meals. Much better selection at better prices. Loved being close to all the mosques, palaces and museums. Wonderful to see them in the day and then again lit up at night.

Didn't like: Breakfast never changed, so after five days of exactly the same thing, it got a bit dull. Staircase to rooms is open, so if you have customers speaking loudly in Reception, you'll hear it from your room (at least I did, on the first floor). Otherwise, the hotel is quiet (it's on a side street off a side street). Be forewarned that the rooms are SMALL. Like just big enough for a double bed with a bit of room to spare. That being said, the design was very compact with lots of storage space. So once you get organized, it was good (except for the bathroom, which you needed a bit of acrobatics to negotiate...)

However, I felt the hotel offered great value!

Tips: (1) There is a shared shuttle going back to the airport for only 5 euro, bookable through the hotel. (2) Ask directions from the hotel how to get here FROM the airport. You can use combo metro/tram (but if you're arriving during working hours, the tram will be VERY crowded). It's a short 5-7 minute walk from the closest tram station. (3) Every time you switch lines, you will need to pay. You can either pay TL2 for a token or buy a transportation card which you top up with money (strangely, these are sold by regular kiosks selling other things, like kebabs). The benefit of the card (TL6, non-refundable) is that your subsequent trips (within 2 hours) are discounted (1st trip, TL 1.75, 2nd trip, TL 1.00). Didn't see them on sale at the airport and the ticket booth was unmanned with ticket machines only in Turkish (!)

I totally fell in love with Istanbul and Minel Hotel was a good base for traveling. You could even walk to Eminonu in about 20 minutes (where the Bosphorus cruises leave from). For more tips on what to do in Istanbul check out my travel blog:

http://dreamtravelblog.wordpress.com/2011/10/17/istanbul-a-love-letter/

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jt10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Good location, quiet, nice, helpful and funny staff, room is modern & stylish with white & blue color mix....good design.... just a bit small.

Room Tip: All rooms size is same, no bigger one
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Friendly staff. Very good location close to main sights on quiet street. Tastefully furnished compact, clean and comfortable rooms and bathrooms. Great breakfast, one of the best we've had with excellent fresh fruit, cheese, eggs, jams and homemade breads. Only one minor caveat for people who have mobility problems as there is no lift.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etiernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#514 of 1,159 in Istanbul
364 reviews
Sultanahmet
Modern Sultan Hotel
Modern Sultan Hotel
#112 of 1,159 in Istanbul
341 reviews
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#388 of 1,159 in Istanbul
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Anadolu Hotel
Anadolu Hotel
#381 of 1,159 in Istanbul
202 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gulhane Corner Hotel
Gulhane Corner Hotel
#582 of 1,159 in Istanbul
129 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ast Hotel
Ast Hotel
#1,042 of 1,159 in Istanbul
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minel Hotel

Address: Alemdar Mah. Guzel Sanatlar Sok. No:11, Istanbul 34121, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £25 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Minel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a fresh, modern and elegant hotel nestled within awe inspiring and unparalleled surroundings of Sultanahmet. We are a small hotel designed with tastefully decorated rooms with your personal needs in mind. You will find yourself immersed in a truly unique and magical atmosphere, providing outstanding Turkish hospitably to make you feel at home.In the heart of the oldest part of the city, you will enjoy simple but elegantly appointed rooms, wake up to a fresh Turkish buffet breakfast and can take a morning walk or run in the Gulhane Park where you will feel like you are in the forest, but in the heart of the city. From our doorstep you can take a stroll on cobblestone streets and enjoy the most fascinating and historically important areas of the worlds great cities. The looming architecture of the famous Aya Sophia, the historical Topkapi Palace, and the eloquent Blue Mosque and Basilica Cistern all within a 2 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Minel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing