We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay hotel with a good value for money”

Holiday Inn Express Istanbul-Ora
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Istanbul-Ora
Ranked #947 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Ufa, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Short stay hotel with a good value for money”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed at this hotels 25APR for one night + very late check-out. Chose this accommodation just because of price and proximity to Ataturk airport.

Once you travel with baggage, have to use a taxi (45 TRY=20EUR oneway from Ataturk airport). In fact, the metro station Otogar is nearby, but hotel is located on a hill, so the road from Otogar station takes time and strengths:)

Staff on Reception is very friendly with good English (also on the phone, which is really great). Rooms are very new and clean with reasonable space. Under the flat TV you can find a panel to plug your own devices. They also have a kettle with basic tea/coffe.

We very much appreciated free buffet breakfast.

Next to hotel we found big but empty Ora outlet with local brands. I myself liked MADO restaurant on the first floor. They don't speak English, but there was a menu with huge pictures, food and tea were tasty.

If you have time and want to explore city, you can take a free shuttle bus, which goes three times per day to Sultanakhmet, or go down the hill to a big bus station and take a metro.

Upon checkout we had a trouble with unblocking of deposit from credit card (they should practise more with offline transactions). But i mentioned it in online survey they sent the day after check-out - and it was resolved immediately.

As a summary: a good value for money. Of course, it lacks local flavor (for that you should go to small hotels next to Sultanakhmet), but it's cheaper, has approach to city center and all the good qualities of international chain hotels (rooms, customer service etc.).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tx3hrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
3
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I stayed there for 7 nights. The hotel is new and in good condition, rooms are a bit small but ok for a family with 2 little kids. No frills in the room (no minibar or safe). The staff are very nice and helpful. Shuttle bus goes to old city 3 times a day for free. A shopping center is very close with a supermarket where you can buy water, juices and so on very cheap. You can also walk about 25-30 minutes to Istanbul's biggest mall (Istanbul forum) with lots of shopping areas, restaurants and parks for kids. The main bus terminal of Istanbul (Otogar) is under the hotel (you walk left out of the hotel for about 10 min and then you find stairs down to the terminal (not suitable for strollers). From Otogar there is metro station where you can go almost anywhere. The breakfast at the hotel is complimentary and is nice. The thing I didnt like about the hotel is housekeeping which is not so good (they didnt check if there is soap and they kept taking the bed sheets for my little girl). I also didnt like the pillows as they are so soft

Room Tip: Try to get rooms which are on the side of the entrance as they have good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I traveled with my husband and 2 kids and decided to stay in Holiday in Express in April 2012. Hotel is new and clean, room big and staff is wonderful . Location could be an issue if you want to use public transport .Overall great experience and highly recommended especially if you do not speak the language. Staff is very helpful and extremely nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I travelled with my wife and decided to stay in this newly open hotel for seven days. Location is just a half way between the airport and city center. The hotel is part of new Ora multipupose center in Bayrampase area. Very hard to reach by foot or by public transportation. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Cleaning is lousy. Breakfast is ok but boreing if you stay longer. The staff is nice but English is poor. My feelings are mix. Some are positive and some very negative but I hope they will fix it by time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kulinban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Istanbul-Ora, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear kulinban,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what feel below your expectations. I'm deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Travellers should be aware that hotel asked for a TR 100 refundable deposit at the time of check in. Hotel staff are very quick to take the deposit but do not have the clue ,how to refund it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Istanbul-Ora, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Shahid T,

Thank you for your comments. Holiday Inn's , like many other hotels, hold a deposit for incidentals when you check in. The deposit is not a charge. upon check out it is released. The issuing bank/credit card company governs the release of an authorization hold, and the release time varies according to each company’s individual policies. Some banks recommend against the use of a debit card for travel purposes, as this practice is common within the travel industry. If you would like further information regarding your bank’s individual policies, please contact them directly.

Thank you,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCarec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This hotel is only about a month or two old, so cab drivers don't have any clue what you're talking about when you ask them to take you there. My recommendation is to take the metro to Otaturk and then walk from there. It's a weird walk (up this path that's not a road and difficult to find that takes you to the highway. Once at the highway, make a right and walk straight to the hotel), and probably uncomfortable if you have a lot of bags, but it's only about 15 minutes. Getting there, we took a cab, and leaving, we walked to Otaturk and took the metro, and I much preferred the second option.

The actual hotel is nice, very new, as I said. The staff is extremely nice. There's no free wifi, which always annoys me. There is, however, a free breakfast which was quite good. The rooms are nice. My friend turned on the teapot and that caused the entire room to lose power (although it was quickly fixed)...so there's that.

Seems like they have some kinks to work out, but if you're just staying here as a place to rest before going to the airport, it's a good spot. If you're visiting Istanbul for a longer period of time, you should stay in the Sultanahmet area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AS251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

New hotel, clean, staff is helpful, breakfast is free, reasonably quiet BUT:
1. Traffic in all of Istanbul is horrific. This hotel is close to, but not exactly right against, Ataturk Airport, so give yourself an extra 30 minutes in case of traffic. This is no joke - we used this as a jumping off point to get out of the center of the city, and it still took 30 minutes to get to Ataturk with moderate traffic. Cost is about US$20. It can take longer if traffic is bad, which happens frequently.
2. No shuttle, so you need to order a cab in advance. The Holiday Inn, on the other hand, does have a shuttle, but is more expensive and no free breakfast.
3. Unlike any other Holiday Inn Express I've stayed at, there is no free wireless. You get 15 minutes of free internet in the lobby, which was useless for airline check-in because of a slow connection and firewalls that don't allow the airline's website to work properly.
4. VERY IMPORTANT: Clearly write down the FULL name of the hotel (Holiday Inn EXPRESS) and the address and give it to the taxi driver. Try your best to explain that is NOT the Holiday Inn. Despite doing this, we still got taken to the Holiday Inn, and then had to pay extra to be schlepped over to the Express. The taxi drivers tend to glance at addresses and then wave off any other explanations, so you need to be a bit of a pain and make sure they understand it's the new Express, and not the older regular Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slavaox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Holiday Inn Istanbul City
#318 of 1,155 in Istanbul
603 reviews
Wish More Hotel Istanbul
#254 of 1,155 in Istanbul
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Holiday Inn Istanbul-Sisli
Holiday Inn Istanbul-Sisli
#322 of 1,155 in Istanbul
351 reviews
Lionel Hotel
#249 of 1,155 in Istanbul
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Istanbul-Ora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Istanbul-Ora

Property: Holiday Inn Express Istanbul-Ora
Address: Altintepsi Mahallesi, Ciftlik Cad. 5, Istanbul 34035, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #947 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Istanbul-Ora 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Istanbul-Ora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing