We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property, Exceptional Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler
Ranked #116 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I haven't stayed at too many Le Meridiens, as they are no that prevalent in the United States. That's too bad, as this property sold me on the idea that they offer truly world-class service and much bang for the buck.

As a platinum member of SPG, I received ana amazing upgrade. The room was a suite with a mini kitchen a living room area, and smallish but nice bedroom and large bathroom. But the patio... was HUGE! It was the size of some standard hotel rooms. I could have hosted a party for thirty people, and shared the amazing view from the 29th floor.

Another key reason I strongly recommend this plis the spa. The gym is ok, the indoor pool is quite nice, but the spa is exceptional. They have a hammam, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi, lounge area, and plenty of treatment rooms for spa services. After a long day of wandering around the city, it was fantastic to unwind in the rather luxe spa area.

They have a club lounge with a nice breakfast and evening snacks. Service is very friendly, though sometimes you wish is a little less attentive. I think three different people participated in carrying my one bag thirty feet from the curbside to the front desk.

One disadvantage is location. The hotel is far away from the sites, and clearly meant to be a luxury option for business travelers. Once you figure out the bus and subway system, getting around is not so tough, and you can always splurge on the ever-waiting cabs outside. That can get expensive with the traffic at all hours of the day, so plan carefully.

Room Tip: A hint for booking a good rate: I saw a steep discount on the SPG site for staying four nights inste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kyle34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear Valued Platinum Guest,

It is always a great pleasure to get such thorough and affirmative feedback from our Starwood Preferred Guests. We would like to thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our services, Explore Spa and Club Lounge.

As we understand that you have truly enjoyed staying at our ‘residential suite’ we will make sure you will be welcomed to a similar one on your next visit.

Thank you very much again for choosing Le Méridien Istanbul Etiler.

Yours sincerely,

Elif Aydınlıgil
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2012

Excellent hotel, excellent service. I am SPG member so this hotel is the default choice, and being a gold member they alway bump me up, and I am thankful for that. Last time they bumped me to the Bosphorus view room on a high floor and the views were awesome!

Staff is friendly and speaks good english. Zafar one of the staff leads on the main floor is always awesome, with tips from getting around the city to just making the hotel stay comfortable. He always goes that extra mile, wether its from getting you to your room, to sorting something out for you in the lobby.

Neat quite spacious rooms. Excellent modern decor. I would definatly recommend this hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: 23rd floor and up have awesome views of the Bosphorus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omerasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Valued SPG Guest,

We were delighted to read your lovely comments regarding our team member and that you have received an excellent service. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and your valuable tips for future visitors.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest regards,

Elif Aydınlıgil
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I had a very mixed experience staying at Le Meridien Istanbul. Here's the summary:

Pro's

- beautiful new hotel with great style, nice rooms, cool rooftop terrace, nice gym, etc
- felt safe/secure

Con's

- horrid location if you're visiting Istanbul for sightseeing (without traffic, the cab ride to the main area of Istanbul is 30 minutes - with traffic, it's 1-1.5 hours)...probably better suited for the business traveler
- first impression of the hotel was soured by the person who checked me in (Saldiray Sen) - I always try to be friendly with the front desk staff but this looked like one of the unhappiest employees ever, no smile, didn't ask me how I was doing, seemed arrogant, etc (this isn't what I was expecting, as I had read great reviews on service here)
- breakfast was very expensive ($38-40 for the buffet)

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Bosphorus are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDS426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We were saddened to read that you had a disheartening first impression of our services. Please rest assured that all Starwood team members are selected for their genuine attitude of top-notch service and a deep understanding of the human factor, that we believe is the fundemental attribute of a hotelier.

We were encouraged to read that you enjoyed the property and services as a whole and in this light hope that you will recall your initial arrival experience as an exception.

Yours sincerely,

Elif Aydınlıgil
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We just returned from a long weekend in Istanbul and we LOVED this hotel. It was probably one of the most surprising SPG hotels we have recently visited. The design / style is a mix of St. Regis and W Hotels without being pretentious or dark and over-designed.

We were upgraded to a lovely Junior Suite with a huge balcony overlooking the Bosporus. The room itself was nicely sized with a great design. The living room also contained a kitchen that was hidden behind closet doors and contained an Illy espresso maker, fridge and everything to actually cook - not that I would want to in Istanbul! I liked the design and the light features. The bed was super comfy, the bathroom huge and the shower superb. Again, the style combined the modern, featuring technology of W Hotels and the luxury of St. Regis. I can´t say enough about the design.

We especially enjoyed the lounge with a decent breakfast option (though, if you stay here, go to Sütis in Emirgan for brekky with a view of the Bosporus - the food will wow you), great drinks and appetizers at night and super nice and fun staff. We were looking forward to see them every evening!

Had dinner at the restaurant one night - nice at prices similar to places all over Istanbul. I would come back here. The top floor bar is a terrific place for evening cocktails. The views are amazing, the bartender (I forgot his name, but he was super nice) was great, chatty at times and waiting in the background when required, making excellent cocktails. Great place...

We can´t wait for the summer to come back and enjoy the large pool deck and the jacuzzi. That area looks very nice as well.

Yes, it is a little far from the sights, but taking a taxi and/or the subway is not bad considering that one gets a superb hotel for a very good price in an amazing city... I don´t care much about W hotels and would always prefer this one and the Sheratons are out of the way - so, all in all, a great stay and an amazing hotel that I will definitely come back to!

Very well done!

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you can, they are superb quality and size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFLeonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear SFLeonce,

We are very happy that you had a wonderful stay experience with us and that you could enjoy the magnificent views from BOAZ and the unique delights of our La Torre Restaurant. It is always a joy to get such uplifting and elaborate feedback as it strengthens our resolve to accomplish the best as the Le Méridien Istanbul team .
Thank you very much again for your review. We all look forward to welcoming you back next summer.

With kindest regards,

Elif Aydınlıgil
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

A beautiful modern spacious hotel. Beautiful design rooms with a fantastic view (23 floor). Distance to city center far. Dont take taxi but travel from closest subway station. Perfect wellness area. Nice roof bar ont 34th floor. Elevator system very strange, esp when being with a big group (ANVR congres)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonduursema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review and for sharing your pleasant stay experience with us.
Le Méridien Istanbul Etiler has been constructed as a ‘green building’ and therefore all systems, including the elevators, have been developed from an environmentally conscience and high efficiency perspective.

We very much look forward to your future visits.

Yours Sincerely,

Elif Aydınlıgil
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Nice modern Hotel, I was there for 4 night, and you should do something about the cleaning personal, some rooms smell very bad, wich is a no go for such Hotel, and the cleaning personal toke our Stuff, like my Cigarrs and other stuff, we told receiption but nothing happend?? Anyway I hope you do something in future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cortez B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Cortez B,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We were alarmed to read that this matter was not handled effectively during your stay and that we have let you leave on a negative note. We would like to assure you that this does not represent the level of service we aspire to deliver at Le Méridien Istanbul Etiler.

In hopes to rectify this less than flawless experience with us, we would very much like to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Elif Aydinligil
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This hotel seems to be a very good base for business in Istanbul but I would not recommend it for tourists/sightseers.

I stayed in both a deluxe room (in a corner with spectacular views of the bridge and the Bosphorus) and in a suite. Both rooms were decorated in a clean, modern fashion with spacious, marble bathrooms. The rooms had very comfortable beds, lovely linens, and modern conveniences like ipod docks. The room service breakfast was exceptionally good. For these reasons, the hotel offers excellent value, and a very positive experience.

On the less positive side, the common areas of the hotel (though featuring very interesting modern art) are so large and open and impersonal that it gives a very "corporate" feel. And some of the design features in the rooms are less than sensible, such as low hanging chandeliers that you have to consciously avoid hitting with your head as you get up from the sofa, and coffee tables that are large, unweildly and hard to get around. They look great, but don't win the functionality sweepstakes.

Finally, of course, the location isn't great for tourism, but that's been pointed out many, many times before in these reviews.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are particularly nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoedodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Your constructive feedback on certain design features of our hotel and rooms in which you have evaluated functionality versus style has been duly noted. Please rest assured that all suggestions from our guests are considered top priority for us.

Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are more than happy that you had a lovely stay with us.

We look forward to your future visits and valuable feedback.

Warm regards,

Elif Aydınlıgil
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Levent
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
#100 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,230 reviews
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Sisli
Wyndham Grand Istanbul Levent
Wyndham Grand Istanbul Levent
#84 of 1,160 in Istanbul
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Hyatt Centric Levent Istanbul
Hyatt Centric Levent Istanbul
#281 of 1,160 in Istanbul
51 reviews
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#64 of 1,160 in Istanbul
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler

Address: Cengiz Topel Cad. No:39 Etiler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34337, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £72 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising 34 stories in Istanbul’s prestigious Etiler district, Le Méridien Istanbul Etiler will be one of the city’s most impressive contemporary landmarks. Featuring a modern design with panoramic views of the Bosphorous and the city, the hotel is conveniently located along the TEM Motorway and Fatih Sultan Mehmet Bridge. 259 rooms including 18 Residential Suites of sophistication and elegance with floor-to-ceiling windows that frame breathtaking views of the cityscape and Bosphorus. A club lounge on the 14th floor provides comfort and luxury. Hotel's restaurant promises the ultimate dining and the Roof Bar puts you on top of Istanbul. Seven stylish meeting rooms, two VIP boardrooms and a Ballroom with private foyer feature among Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler's more than 2000 square metres of conference space. For contemplation and vitalization the Explore SPA & Fitness with Steam Rooms, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Hammam and 8 treatment rooms as well as an Indoor & Heated Outdoor pool are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing