We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the top choices in Istanbul!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bada Bing Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bada Bing Hostel
Ranked #74 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the top choices in Istanbul!”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I've stayed at Bada Bing several times throughout my trip as I used Istanbul as a base for exploring the middle east. In total I stayed around 9 days punctuated over different stays.

The staff are great, they are the backbone of the hostel. Everything from advice on sights, eats, etc... to watching the games with you and taking you to the pubs.

The Hostel itself is really well designed. Aside from the oft-mentioned issue on here of the electronic lockers either not working or being broken there really isn't anything to complain about in terms of the dorm set ups. Everything is clean, works well. The internet is fantastic, the rooftop is a great bonus and the ability to get a beer or food if you're too lazy to stroll out is another plus.

The location is probably the final and greatest asset. It's away from Taksim so you don't have the noise issues of several of the hostels, and it's also outside of Sultanahmet, the overpriced tourist-trap. While still being easily accessible to both!

I'd highly recommend Bada Bing to anyone visiting Istanbul.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkubis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    55
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
3
37
56
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Amazing hostel! Excellent location, great price, awesome layout; bedrooms were clean with high ceilings, A/C and large personal lockers with a security system. The rooftop is fantastic- easy to meet people over a pint of beer, check emails with a strong wifi signal everywhere and order food from their cafe (or cook your own). Bathooms were clean and had hot water 24-7, best showers I've had at a hostel. Staff is amazing, friendly, and helpful in planning trips and navigating the city. As a single female traveler, I always felt safe and secure there. Thank you, Bada Bing! I'll be coming back soon!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tpresser123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

While travelling up the coast of Turkey I met backpacker after backpacker who gave this hostel nothing but glowing reviews. I decided to heed their advice, and I'm glad I did.

The hostel was reasonably priced and clean. The showers worked well, and were also clean. The common area on the roof is awesome, with very comfortable beanbag chairs on the patio that proved a great evening hangout area. The two owners were very friendly, as were the many staff members. There is also someone whose job it is to show hostellers where the good bars are, which was far preferable to figuring it out on my own.

The few complaints I have are far outshadowed by the positives. Several of the lockers in my dorm were broken, and the combination locks beep whenever you press a number. This means that you're woken up whenever anyone needs to access their stuff, so expect to be woken up by both the early risers and the late-night bar crowd. Bring earplugs!

Overall my experience here was excellent, and I would definitely choose Bada Bing if I were to come back to Istanbul on my own or with a group of friends (can't speak to what it would be like for a couple).

Room Tip: I stayed in the 10 person dorm. It was fine, just don't expect to sleep through anybody accessin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flagonthebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed here for one week and had a fantastic stay.

The location is great. Not far from the metro, water front and restaurants. You can easily get to the tourist sites by foot (20 minutes) or tram.

The rooms were clean and the big lockers under your bed keep all of your stuff secure and out of the way! The bathrooms were clean and spacious.

The staff were super friendly and willing to help out with anything we needed. The roof top area is a great place to chill out. We didn't get a chance to try the food, but it smelt good and was affordably priced.

The wifi worked well throughout the hostel.

We couldn't recommend this place more highly, it made our stay in Istanbul all the more great!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Our taxi from the airport couldn't find the hostel, so the Bada Bing staff came out to the main street to meet us, and from that point on the customer service stayed at the same superb level! The fish grill one night was one of the best cheap eats in our 10 day stay, and the showers were powerful and clean :-) My girlfriend and I had one of the private rooms on the top floor and being the middle of the soccer season it could be noisy on the roof balcony, but the staff switched us down to the 1st floor no worries. The AC worked great and wasnt underpowered like some hostels. The location was really central but not on a main street so it was quiet especially in the mornings, also as there were no mosques very close by.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davelab6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oporto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I stayed for three days and I just it was amazing!!! The staff is really nice and the atmosphere was great. It´s a calm hostel, with places were you can chill out. The rooms are fine and the bathrooms look super clean. Everything is weel organized. Thank you all! You're really important in the wonderful days I spent there. I I totally recommend this hostel to everyone who goes to Istambul!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatachaLopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I had a great time staying here. It is in a great location, away from all of the tourists but close to all of the good eats, the ocean, shopping and all of the neat nooks and crannys .The staff was super helpful with any of my needs and the hostel was really clean.

Room Tip: I stayed in my own room the first night which was perfect. Clean, safe and quiet. the following nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaReina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
The Haze Karakoy
The Haze Karakoy
#422 of 1,129 in Istanbul
291 reviews
Karakoy
Portus House Istanbul
Portus House Istanbul
#9 of 1,186 in Istanbul
415 reviews
Beyoglu
Stay Inn Taksim Hostel
Stay Inn Taksim Hostel
#30 of 1,186 in Istanbul
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,186 in Istanbul
872 reviews
Beyoglu
Sopha So Good
Sopha So Good
#288 of 1,186 in Istanbul
14 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#26 of 1,186 in Istanbul
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bada Bing Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bada Bing Hostel

Property: Bada Bing Hostel
Address: Kemer Alti Cad. Serce Sok. No:11 Karakoy, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34425, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bada Bing's neighborhood is an up-and-coming area that gives travelers the best of both worlds: a central location that inspires effortless travel to Istanbul’s most worthy destinations. Its strategic locale is within walking distance of the real, modern, buzzing district of Taksim, and the awe-inspiring historical district of Sultanahmet. But if you want to sleep away from the overwhelm of Taksim’s nightlife and Sultanahmet’s hiked-up tourist prices, Bada Bing’s neighborhood is right for you. Wherever you choose to go on a given day, your journey will start in the heart of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bada Bing Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bada Bing Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing