We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOSTEL!”
Review of Bada Bing Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bada Bing Hostel
Ranked #80 of 1,236 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Probably one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! Especially after having to move here from a hotel in Sultanahmet where the owners were very creepy and unhelpful. I travelled with 3 girls and we all felt very safe and relieved to have found such a nice, clean social place. The roof top is awesome to have a pre dinner beer on and the area is so much better than touristy Sultanahmet. The owner is really cool and his directions are spot on! Make sure you ask him for recommendations of restaurants and bars in the area as he sent us to some really great ones!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Bada Bing Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

I stayed 5 days with a friend. The management and staff are incredibly warm, friendly and helpful (and funny). The rooftop bar is great and the location is perfect for exploring Istanbul. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Great lodging and perfect location. Close to everything. Spotless place. Nice and relaxing rooftop verandah. Good staff. The owner showed great concern for us, showed us around town. Had a marvelous time. Chillin' area w/ music/vids/ couches. Real comfortable. Quiet when you wanted to sleep. Comfy beds. Nicely painted and decorated. A great quality place to stay. Prices are real reasonable. Thanks Bada!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanieG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Love the place. He owner and staff are very friendly and helpful. Had great fun during my stay there. They have barbecues and food tasting and a lot of different activities at their place. The owner Volkan Inkaya also cooks up a great meal from time to time.

Had fun.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KunalChandra1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The hostel is very good located (3min from the galati bridge) and has a nice roof top. Unfortunately it is not allowed to bring the own beer to the roof top, but you have still the possibility to buy (expensive) beer there or to drink your own beer at the common area at the ground floor. I meet really nice people there and had a great time. The rooms are clean and have a locker for the backpack.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juergen253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights this week (two australian girls). First time in Istanbul and it was a great location. I took the metro/tram from the airport to the hostel and the directions were very handy. My cousin booked a transfer throu the hostel as she got in at 8pm and she had no problems either.
Janna was great with our booking (I had booked the wrong date but she was able to accommodate us and look after the change in the airport transfer -oops).

We were able to walk everywhere - Sultanahmet, Taksim Square and everywhere in between.

The bunk beds were pretty squeaky but there was air on and wireless in the rooms and a great rooftop deck if you wanted a drink with the other backpackers. Breakfast was pretty simple but we were able to hit up the coffee shop next door for a latte/cappuccino.

Would recommend this place for young travelers.

Room Tip: We were in a share dorm (8pax). the rooms all have large luggage lockers and air on.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candadian_local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

PROS: Roof terrace that draws just about everyone to hang out in the evening; owner organizes late evening trips to Taksim bars; massive lockers; decent bathrooms that always have hot water; quiet non-touristy neighborhood near some really nice coffee shops, the Tophane tram stop and the Karakoy ferry; cold a/c in the rooms; decent food to order if you're feeling too lazy to leave in the evening.

CONS: No kitchen for guest use. Breakfast is hilariously small (one morning we remarked on our good fortune when we received three olives on our plate instead of the usual two) and the breakfast room on the roof is stifling hot (please add a fan!). When we were there, the top floor bathroom plumbing was majorly leaking into through the ceiling of bathroom below it, to the point where the paint was peeling off the ceiling in huge strips. Someone told us the problem began over a week ago, and perhaps they were waiting for later in the season when there were fewer guests, because I'm sure they'd have to close both bathrooms to fix it.

SUMMARY: If you're young and looking to meet people and have a good time, look no further. This hostel is definitely above average in cleanliness and features and you will probably end up staying longer than planned.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsAsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Hotel Morione
Hotel Morione
#408 of 1,159 in Istanbul
70 reviews
Karakoy
The Haze Karakoy
The Haze Karakoy
#417 of 1,159 in Istanbul
299 reviews
Karakoy
Portus House Istanbul
Portus House Istanbul
#15 of 1,236 in Istanbul
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#3 of 1,236 in Istanbul
753 reviews
Karakoy
Galata Palace Hotel
Galata Palace Hotel
#347 of 1,070 in Istanbul
56 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#4 of 1,236 in Istanbul
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bada Bing Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bada Bing Hostel

Address: Kemer Alti Cad. Serce Sok. No:11 Karakoy, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34425, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 1,236 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bada Bing's neighborhood is an up-and-coming area that gives travelers the best of both worlds: a central location that inspires effortless travel to Istanbul’s most worthy destinations. Its strategic locale is within walking distance of the real, modern, buzzing district of Taksim, and the awe-inspiring historical district of Sultanahmet. But if you want to sleep away from the overwhelm of Taksim’s nightlife and Sultanahmet’s hiked-up tourist prices, Bada Bing’s neighborhood is right for you. Wherever you choose to go on a given day, your journey will start in the heart of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Bada Bing Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bada Bing Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing