We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bada Bing Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bada Bing Hostel
Ranked #74 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Above Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

This hostel is located very centrally to the old part of Istanbul, as well as the new club / entertainment / restaurant area of Istanbul. The staff are super friendly and try their best to be helpful.

However, the breakfast that is included is not a "Turkish" breakfast and is somewhat limited. After traveling in Turkey for 2 weeks, I got used to hostels including the normal Turkish breakfast of sliced cucumbers, tomatoes, cheese, olives, boiled eggs, bread and jam. This hostel provides cereal with yogurt.

The cleanliness is also questionable since there seemed to be lots of mosquitoes in the rooms. I was eaten alive at night! They do use bleach to clean the common areas daily, but that isn't the case in the dorm rooms. Also, the showers were not well maintained, as the shower hookups were broken and you could not take a shower comfortably.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyGuy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    55
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
3
37
56
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

AMAZING! I could not be happier with the quality of stay we had. The room and facilities were pristine, the staff seemed like family with good boundaries :), crazy awesome location, nice kitchen access, room terrace, and VERY QUIET at night. Everything is brand new in their "Finch Apartments." Incredible value. Couple of minutes walk from the main tram but also within short walking distance to so many cool things. I thought it was too good to be true and there must be some catch. There's not! LOVED IT!

Room Tip: Their inner rooms of the Finch Apartments across the street from reception are a great choice, altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulettajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Daniela, 49, from Serbia but lives in Switzerland :
This was the 1st hostel I've ever stayed in and I was literaly fascinated, no - mesmerised.
I wouldn't know what was better - the location (in the middle of anything worth of visiting), the accomodation (we were in so-called suite - 2 beds, fridge, air condition,TV, cooker-meaning portable hearth, bathroom of our own and breakfast, for just around 30 bucks per person!) or team (Volkan, Jana, Mustafa, Adnan, doggy à la Marley, turtle & Co. - so competent and familial). Everything was so clean and functional. And new. Not to mention quiet. Oh, yes - there's a terasse on the roof too, which is used by guests and team as a cool meeting point.
As I intend to go to Istanbul regulary, I'm totaly happy I've founded this little oasis.

Room Tip: Word 'suite' is enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I liked the place. First friendly and informative welcome. Everything in order. Big lockers for each bed. People were generally respectful and quiet in the shared rooms. Fine roof top for chats and breakfast (rather frugal) and drinks and snacks. Right between the historic Sultanahmet and the lively Istikal&Taksim areas. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Åke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

I booked this hostel after reading the consistently excellent reviews, whilst I have no complaints and was happy with the accomodation overall, I am suprised at how high others have rated the hostel. I have stayed in plenty of hostels and I always believe you get what you pay for and certainly do not complain when the accomodation is cheap and cheerful as long as its clean but I cant say I was blown away with the hostel as it seems others have been.

The positives....Great location, only 15 min walk from the main tourist attraction of Sultanahmet, and 5 min walk to the bars and lively nightlife. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The dorms were safe and secure and provided plently of locker storage under the bed. The showers were reasonably clean.

No real negatives I just wouldn't rave about the hostel in general. Breakfast was poor, hostel for me did lack atmosphere.

I would book this hostel again, its a good price, and better the devil you know, perhaps I just expected great things given the previous reviews when in fact for me it was just average.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomad l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Probably one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! Especially after having to move here from a hotel in Sultanahmet where the owners were very creepy and unhelpful. I travelled with 3 girls and we all felt very safe and relieved to have found such a nice, clean social place. The roof top is awesome to have a pre dinner beer on and the area is so much better than touristy Sultanahmet. The owner is really cool and his directions are spot on! Make sure you ask him for recommendations of restaurants and bars in the area as he sent us to some really great ones!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

I stayed 5 days with a friend. The management and staff are incredibly warm, friendly and helpful (and funny). The rooftop bar is great and the location is perfect for exploring Istanbul. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
The Haze Karakoy
The Haze Karakoy
#426 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Karakoy
Portus House Istanbul
Portus House Istanbul
#10 of 1,186 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Beyoglu
Stay Inn Taksim Hostel
Stay Inn Taksim Hostel
#30 of 1,186 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,186 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Beyoglu
Sopha So Good
Sopha So Good
#287 of 1,186 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#26 of 1,186 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bada Bing Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bada Bing Hostel

Property: Bada Bing Hostel
Address: Kemer Alti Cad. Serce Sok. No:11 Karakoy, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34425, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bada Bing's neighborhood is an up-and-coming area that gives travelers the best of both worlds: a central location that inspires effortless travel to Istanbul’s most worthy destinations. Its strategic locale is within walking distance of the real, modern, buzzing district of Taksim, and the awe-inspiring historical district of Sultanahmet. But if you want to sleep away from the overwhelm of Taksim’s nightlife and Sultanahmet’s hiked-up tourist prices, Bada Bing’s neighborhood is right for you. Wherever you choose to go on a given day, your journey will start in the heart of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bada Bing Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bada Bing Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing