We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly staff and easy to locate”
Review of Bada Bing Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bada Bing Hostel
Ranked #81 of 1,201 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly staff and easy to locate”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in September and flew into Istanbul late in the evening. The hostel was easy to locate (- follow the directions provided in your booking confirmation if you're arriving from the main airport) and although located outside the historical area of the city, was close to a tram stop, one of the ferry ports for day trips and some good restaurants. The centre of the city was also accessible via foot if you enjoy walking.

A big plus for this hostel is the staff. I found Mustafa, in particular, to be extremly knowledge and friendly, so if you're like me in that you havn't visited the city before or don't have a well planned itenerary, I'd recommend this place. Also of assistance was the travel agency, as it was easy to book cheap tours and shuttle services to and from the airport (including San Gochen). The bathrooms and dorms were clean and the breakfast was also of a high quality, which included fresh fruit and salad.

This hostel attracts a mix of travellers, which I enjoyed. The rooms are sufficient and include ample storage space for each guest. As I don't speak Turkish, the only downside was the staff member at night doesn't speak alot of English, although he tried his best to assist. I'd happily stay here again if I returned to Istanbul, as the service & advice I received from the day staff helped make my stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    55
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
3
37
56
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I arrived to check in and I was greeted with the traditional Turkish tea and a good chat with the staff guy. They helped me with everything. They gave me tips, just about everything planned for me. I am traveling one year in various places and was definitely the best place that I received. Enjoy to schedule your tours with tour agency. Worth.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Very nice stay in this hostel, feeling like in an hotel actually with their very brand new double rooms in the second building they have. Everything is really new and clean, looking like an IKEA room :)
Very well located, nice welcome.
Less expensive than equivalent hostels in which we have been in Istanbul

Room Tip: New double rooms in the other building are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked a private room with three beds, the room being opposite the main building. It was a perfectly fine stay; the room was clean (it was not cleaned during our 5 nights stay however) and the beds were fine too. We asked for an extra blanket on our first night and were immediately helped out. Everything in our room functioned well and it was quiet outside, so really there is no reason to complain. If you are however in search for something more snazzy, don't be fooled by the name! The Bada Bing is good value but it doesn't go beyond that.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmalko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We we're looking for a hostel near centre of Istanbul with reasonable prices and Bada Bing turned out as a great choice. The staff was very helpful with advice, that didn't suggest only the most obvious take-a-photo-and move-on sights. After few nights we left the hostel and came back to catch our flight, but had some spare time and could leave the luggage in the hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 190Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Bada Bing is truly an excellent hostel. To begin, the staff is friendly, helpful and genuine. From the moment I began the booking process to checkout, the staff was always quick to respond with help while never once being misleading. Cleanliness is top priority for me, and this hostel has been the nicest I've experienced in Istanbul. The ten bedroom mixed dorm was spacious, clean and stocked with fresh linens. Each bed had its own respective built in locker to the bunk beds provided an extra level of personal security. The bathrooms for renters who are not staying in a private suite with a private bathroom are free to use bathrooms located on each floor do the hostel. The bathrooms are totally new and maintained very well. Although they are community bathrooms, guests will find it to be surprisingly private, with at least three stalls that have western toilets. The showers are private and spacious. I'd suggest you buy a pair of cheap bathroom sandals at a nearby market. I general, having bathroom sandals is a good rule of thumb when traveling and staying in Turkey. The breakfast offered is wonderful! The staff has utilized the top floor of their unit into an indoor/outdoor area where guests can enjoy rooftop view while eating a fantastic Turkish breakfast spread. Definitely take advantage of the breakfast. As for location, the hostel is in an area of the city that is seeing a rapid process of gentrification and restoration. As a frequent traveler in Istanbul, I personally enjoy the location. It is a short walk to ferry station to Karakoy (a really cool area on the Asian side of the city) and very near to the light rail tramway on the European side which gives you access to many areas (Golden Horn, Dolmabahce, etc.). I will admit that the hostel may feel a little hidden and the streets surrounding it are a little dark at night, but never once did I feel a loss of individual security. Again, this section of the city is up and coming. Overall, it's a fantastic place to stay. I cannot give anything less than excellent rating.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had a great experience at Bada Bing! Although the location is not close to Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque and other museums, we really liked that it was just on the other side of the Galata Bridge and away from the busiest and most touristy areas. It would take about 20 mins to walk to the main touristy area but worth the walk and lots to see along the way. Or you can easily take the train/subway, which is a 5 min walk from Bada Bing. Bada Bing is also very close to the street Taksim, which has lots of shopping and is good for eating and drinking at night.

Staff were GREAT and always answered any questions we had. The owner had a drink with us one night and took us out on the main strip at night! Great value! Comfortable beds with lockers under each bed! Bathrooms were very clean and aesthetic! Nice indoor and outdoor rooftop area with comfortable seating. This area turns into a bar at night. Overall, we were very happy with our stay at Bada Bing and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#74 of 1,148 in Istanbul
198 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#57 of 1,148 in Istanbul
650 reviews
Karakoy
Finch Apartments
Finch Apartments
#101 of 1,201 in Istanbul
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#13 of 1,201 in Istanbul
502 reviews
Karakoy
Twins Rooms Hostel
Twins Rooms Hostel
#487 of 1,201 in Istanbul
39 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,201 in Istanbul
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bada Bing Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bada Bing Hostel

Property: Bada Bing Hostel
Address: Kemer Alti Cad. Serce Sok. No:11 Karakoy, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34425, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 1,201 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bada Bing's neighborhood is an up-and-coming area that gives travelers the best of both worlds: a central location that inspires effortless travel to Istanbul’s most worthy destinations. Its strategic locale is within walking distance of the real, modern, buzzing district of Taksim, and the awe-inspiring historical district of Sultanahmet. But if you want to sleep away from the overwhelm of Taksim’s nightlife and Sultanahmet’s hiked-up tourist prices, Bada Bing’s neighborhood is right for you. Wherever you choose to go on a given day, your journey will start in the heart of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Bada Bing Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bada Bing Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing