We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, friendly owner”
Review of Bada Bing Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bada Bing Hostel
Ranked #86 of 1,241 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in February with a few friends in a deluxe suite. Perfectly located in Beyoglu, close to the Galata Bridge and great restaurants and bars in the area - and a close walk to Taksim Square. Vulcan, the owner, was also great and took the time to point out the best places to eat and go out. Room was very clean and breakfast was great. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go with the deluxe suite if you have more then 2 people - comfortably slept 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaD4784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Great Little place to stay. Helpful and friendly staff. Clean. Economical.

Ideal for a weekend break.

It is a little hard to find without a gps as not many taxi drivers know where it is but. ... its easy to find with gps.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbofIlsan_Seoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hostel got very good reviews...well it is a nice place to stay, but nothing more.
Location wise it is excellent, walking distance to Sulthanamet, and Taksim. And if you don't want to walk, you can always take the tram.

Dorm itself is ok, nice, big locker under the bunks. Showers and toilets are ok, but there is always a lack of toiletpaper. Cleaning lady is not really well motivated: caught her smoking in my dorm and heard from another gay that she was sleeping on one of the beds in another dorm...

Rooftop terrace is ok, Denize ( the girl behind the bar) was always friendly and in for a chat, unfortunately she quitted her job.

Anyway, the location of the hostel is good, but according to the reviews it makes you think why this one has such an high rating...are the other ones really that bad?
On the other hand, if i ever come back to istanbul, then this hostel is definitely on the list.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank hopjesvla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in September and flew into Istanbul late in the evening. The hostel was easy to locate (- follow the directions provided in your booking confirmation if you're arriving from the main airport) and although located outside the historical area of the city, was close to a tram stop, one of the ferry ports for day trips and some good restaurants. The centre of the city was also accessible via foot if you enjoy walking.

A big plus for this hostel is the staff. I found Mustafa, in particular, to be extremly knowledge and friendly, so if you're like me in that you havn't visited the city before or don't have a well planned itenerary, I'd recommend this place. Also of assistance was the travel agency, as it was easy to book cheap tours and shuttle services to and from the airport (including San Gochen). The bathrooms and dorms were clean and the breakfast was also of a high quality, which included fresh fruit and salad.

This hostel attracts a mix of travellers, which I enjoyed. The rooms are sufficient and include ample storage space for each guest. As I don't speak Turkish, the only downside was the staff member at night doesn't speak alot of English, although he tried his best to assist. I'd happily stay here again if I returned to Istanbul, as the service & advice I received from the day staff helped make my stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I arrived to check in and I was greeted with the traditional Turkish tea and a good chat with the staff guy. They helped me with everything. They gave me tips, just about everything planned for me. I am traveling one year in various places and was definitely the best place that I received. Enjoy to schedule your tours with tour agency. Worth.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Very nice stay in this hostel, feeling like in an hotel actually with their very brand new double rooms in the second building they have. Everything is really new and clean, looking like an IKEA room :)
Very well located, nice welcome.
Less expensive than equivalent hostels in which we have been in Istanbul

Room Tip: New double rooms in the other building are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked a private room with three beds, the room being opposite the main building. It was a perfectly fine stay; the room was clean (it was not cleaned during our 5 nights stay however) and the beds were fine too. We asked for an extra blanket on our first night and were immediately helped out. Everything in our room functioned well and it was quiet outside, so really there is no reason to complain. If you are however in search for something more snazzy, don't be fooled by the name! The Bada Bing is good value but it doesn't go beyond that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmalko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Hotel Morione
Hotel Morione
#402 of 1,160 in Istanbul
72 reviews
Karakoy
Portus House Istanbul
Portus House Istanbul
#17 of 1,241 in Istanbul
421 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#2 of 1,241 in Istanbul
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#4 of 1,241 in Istanbul
921 reviews
Karakoy
Galata Palace Hotel
Galata Palace Hotel
#368 of 1,080 in Istanbul
56 reviews
Karakoy
Maproom
Maproom
#199 of 1,080 in Istanbul
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bada Bing Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bada Bing Hostel

Address: Kemer Alti Cad. Serce Sok. No:11 Karakoy, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34425, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 1,241 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bada Bing's neighborhood is an up-and-coming area that gives travelers the best of both worlds: a central location that inspires effortless travel to Istanbul’s most worthy destinations. Its strategic locale is within walking distance of the real, modern, buzzing district of Taksim, and the awe-inspiring historical district of Sultanahmet. But if you want to sleep away from the overwhelm of Taksim’s nightlife and Sultanahmet’s hiked-up tourist prices, Bada Bing’s neighborhood is right for you. Wherever you choose to go on a given day, your journey will start in the heart of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Bada Bing Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bada Bing Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing