We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Ranked #109 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel has a splendid decoration and layout, and the room makes people conformtatble! and the location is good, the transportation is convinient! the foods is delicious and have multi choice! if i have chance to go istanbul again, i will still live in here!

Room Tip: Hiher floors have the best sights!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
There are newer reviews for Sura Design Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

it is very nice hotel,very nice roon,and nice color matching,it will be the first choose for my vaction.i like it

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tina z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This could easily be a rockstar option. Big rooms, overblown decor, the place simply beams with quality.

Its' location is perfect for Sultanahmet. Situated on a nice quiet sidestreet from the convenient tram-road and Sultanahmet tramway stop. The sidestreet I mention is one of the quietest and nicest in the whole old district.

We requested a room specifically facing that street, not the garden. And I think we made the right choice. While I don't think the smoke/smell coming from the chimneys in the garden side, that so many reviews mention, is that of a big deal, I also don't think that the balcony, artificial lawn and unspectacular views fully justify the higher price of these rooms.

I suspect that the garden-facing rooms at the upper attic floors, positioned on the left side might have problems with noise coming from the massive airconditioning systems/generators which are just above.

We were staying in our 'amber' 1st/2nd floor rooms, one floor up from the lobby/restaurant. And had a views to some very important building, patrolled by easygoing guards, who even suggested joining them for a cup of Turkish tea one evening when I went out for a smoke.

You definitely get a lot of envy points from the passers-by, who stare jealously and nod their heads making common remarks like "bella pensione!"

Back to our room... The only problem we had with it is the constant mysterious noise of moving furniture. It couldn't have come from the rooms above because of the carpeted floors, so at first we suspected it comes from the hotel's own cafe/restaurant below. But soon we learned that couldn't be the case either, as cafe and restaurant are being closed at ~23:00 and the noise continues up to 1AM on some nights.

The staff were trying to look into it, though to no avail. Soon we realised the noise comes from another building glued to the hotel. It has a nice Khorasani restaurant on lower floors and some rooms of unidentifiable purpose above. The sound must've come from there... It wasn't superbad, but I'm noise-sensitive and could definitely have lived without it. So my suggestion is - ask for a room that is NOT on the far left (facing the hotel).

Moving back to the rockstar subject... The breakfast is not exactly a star material. The scrambled eggs are bland, the coffee is instant(!) and the artificial orange juice is made from an orange juice powder mixture. What a disappointment. All this in Istanbul, famous for its' Turk Kahvesi (Turkish coffee) and fresh juice makers on every corner. If you invest in your rooms and brilliant staff, why not invest just a tiny bit more in your food?

We went to the lovely closely located Cigdem Pastanesi for simits, coffee and borek.

Speaking about food, the restaurant food is OK, but just OK. Guys, listen, the kofte was tasty, but it was written 'mini-meatballs' - in plural - and you brought just one meatball (for 10 liras!) 4-5 euro for a single meatball, seriously?

Now the staff. The managers and bellhops were brilliant, professional and helpful. Though trying to sell someone a map for the price of a meatball is not the way to greet your guests. Drop this move, fellas. It doesn't look good. I mean, I get it - you thrive on wealthy numb-from-their-wealth German tourists, but that's not an excuse to push a 10-lira map that most hotels give for free.

In everything else you were awesome. And there was no confusing lost-in-translation issues that I've read about in the previous reviews. This is one of the most professionally run hotels I've ever come across.

Time to review the housekeepers. First of all, they could realise that 'do not disturb' on one door doesn't just mean 'do not enter this room', but it also means don't make tons of noise while cleaning a room next door.

I recommend everyone leaving a tip each morning, because when we didn't our soap and tea wasn't restocked and the teacups were gone! One day the soap-bar we were currently using was gone too. Naturally, we nicknamed our mysterious houskeeper The Soap Nazi, obviously after Seinfeld's 'Soup Nazi'. No soap for you! :-)

In conclusion, awesome hotel, number 1 option for Sultanahmet, affordable (if you know where to look --> Splendia.com), great staff, excellent location... and it will make you feel like a sultan. If you'll get your soap, and the orange juice on the next corner. Just kidding. Almost.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sura H, General Manager at Sura Design Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your review which gives us a great opportunity to improve us.
We will surely take care of your review.
I look forward to seeing you here in Sura Hotel soon again.
Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston
14
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Perfect location! The Blue Mosque, the Topkapi Palace and Aya Sophia are right outside. The Metro is very close, too. You can just step outside the door and can enjoy old Istanbul, but at the same time, the hotel is quiet. The hotel itself is beautiful and was kept clean and is maintained meticulously. Not one trace of dirt on the many mirrors or glass surfaces. The hotel offers organic milk for breakfast and the restaurant serves organic meat. Service was friendly and helpful.
Note that the larger rooms are depicted in the photos. The cheapest rooms are rather small. Internet was at times slow but the hotel is new and I hope that will still be fixed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sura H, General Manager at Sura Design Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

dear guest,
We would like to thank you very much for your review which gives us a great opportunity to improve us.
I look forward to seeing you here in Sura Hotel soon again.
Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The decor on the walls of this rest were or actual wooden doors from homes during the Ottoman war times! It's amazing to see such historical artifacts. The food was delicious and the service...sensational! I'd def recommend the rice w lamb, yogurt döner, and the halva ice cream for desert!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natashanoghl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sura H, General Manager at Sura Design Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

dear guest,
We would like to thank you very much for your review which gives us a great opportunity to improve us.
I look forward to seeing you here in Sura Hotel soon again.
Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Sura Hotel is something seen out of a magical fairytale. As soon as you walk in, you are greeted with huge white marble stallions surrounding you all the way down to the concierge. Warm smiles and welcoming staff are ready and eager to serve you with whatever you desire...
The rooms are so clean and tastefully decorated! The restaurant downstairs served the most delicious food along with exquisite service!
My overall stay there was such a pleasure, I can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sura H, General Manager at Sura Design Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

dear guest
We would like to thank you very much for your review which gives us a great opportunity to improve us.
I look forward to seeing you here in Sura Hotel soon again.
Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed with Sura Hotel as part of a tour package with True Blue Tours. The hotel is still new and service is good but many (if not most) of the staffs speak limited English. Also, remember to pack your toothbrush as this hotel does not provide one.
But what makes this hotel really stands out is its location. It's very close to all the local shops, restaurants, cafes as well as all the major historical sites in the Sultanahment area.
I definitely recommend trying this hotel if you're planning to stay in the Sultanahmet area of Istanbul

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#122 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,295 reviews
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Sea Mansion Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER The Home Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sura Design Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sura Design Hotel & Suites

Address: Divanyolu Cad. Alemdar Mah. Ticarethane Sok. No:45, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £74 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sura Design Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sura Hotel is located in the Sultanahmet district,which still protects their authentic historical beauty all through the challenging years.The 60 innovative designed rooms and suites,welcomes you with the latest features in comfort and style for our guest's. Each place reflects fresh and contemporary style.This pure luxury hotel allows its guests a chance to discover the glorious historical places such as Topkapi Palace,Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Grand Bazaar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sura Design Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing