We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, small room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Ranked #105 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, small room”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I had two different rooms in three days. The hotel didn't have the room that I reserved at my arrival. I reserved a Superior room with a king bed or two single beds. I asked for two beds room and they gave me a simple double bed. I reserved a room with a balcony facing the garden, but they gave me a room with a window, and later a room with a "balcony" facing the street. In theory, the room that I reserved had 30 square meters, but the last room, which I had for two nights, had less than 20. Very small room. Their bathrooms had a crystal door that doesn't close. A lot of noise from a construction in front of the hotel. Staff was OK, not completely helpful. The restaurant was very nice! Delicious international and Turkish food! Breakfast was fine: first day a long line for omelets, second day: nobody preparing omelets! The best thing of this hotel is the location, but a little bit pricy for that small and noisy room.

Room Tip: Don't take any room facing the street!!! Don't pay extra money for a room with balcony becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charley_P77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    245
    67
    17
    15
See reviews for
169
361
35
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Really enjoyed staying at this location so close to the Old City. Our rooms were well appointed, clean, and the staff was super friendly. The location just couldn't be beat and you didn't feel like you were in a stuffy designy hotel.The buffet breakfast is great (they had a honeycomb!) and the interio was definitely designed by someone who was intent on creating a mood. I did not think the design was too over the top as for Turkey, it felt right at place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenTristanYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Sura hotel is in the perfect location, just minutes walking distance to all of the major sights. Their staff is extremely friendly and eager to go out of their way to accommodate you at any hour of the day and night!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHTRVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Enjoyed our stay in a triple bed room. Wide selection of breakfast foods. Internet was slow on some days. Room was at the front of the building, which was approximately 20 feet away from a construction site. The hotel location is less than 5 min walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. You can hear calls for Muslim prayers throughout the Sultanahmet area, which starts at about 5am everyday. The elevators are very small, can fit about 3 average size people. Lighting at the stairs is dim and there is no handrail.

Room Tip: For quietness, ask for a room at the back of building and away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
319 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Took about 30 minutes from Ataturk Airport and cost about TL42. Make sure you have the address and phone number written down to assist the taxi driver to locate the Hotel. The Hotel is on a very small street and for my entire 4 day stay there I never figured out which direction traffic was supposed to travel on the street.

Check in was very fast and my room, located on the second floor, was quite nice. I think the floors are colour coded and I got the turqoise floor, a bit of an assault on the senses but grew on you. I had opted for a room facing the garden behind the Hotel which is slightly more expensive but came with a walk out balcony which was very nice during the sunny afternoons. The room had a bit too many mirrors for my liking but it was quite spacious. Seemed to have a problem with detecting the wifi on my iphone but after I detected it on the lobby floor, it seemed to then resolve the issue.

Breakfast is located in the basement and is quite adequate given that it was included in the room rate. Only complain here was that I couldn't figure out their opening times. On the first day I went down at 6.30am and was immediately shown to a table but the following day I was told that they only started serving from 7.30am.

Best thing about this Hotel is it's location, you are about 10 minutes walk from the Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace and the Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Mosque) ...need I say more!!!

Room Tip: Get the garden view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kebuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My sister and I visited Turkey at the end of September 2013 and had a wonderful stay at the Sura Hotel.

Sura is ideally located next to Sultan Ahmet, the main high street in Istanbul, with local attractions, such as Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Hajjia Sophia within walking distance from the hotel.

The hotel was very clean, rooms were spacious and the staff extremely friendly and attentive and gave us genuine advice about the best way to get around the city. We met Oya, the guest relations manager of Sura, a lovely lady who really made sure we enjoyed our stay in Turkey to the fullest.

Breakfast is definitely something to look forward to, offering a range continental dishes, as well as a few local Turkish cuisines. The Turkish tea and fresh pomegranate juice is something not to miss out on. The Kebab House, the hotel’s restaurant also serves delicious Turkish dishes.

It was one of the best trips my sister and I ever had, a beautiful and unique place, rich in its history and culture that we sensed in every small shop we entered and through the people we met.

I highly recommend the Sura Hotel to everyone and I will be staying there again on my next trip to Turkey.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#118 of 1,129 in Istanbul
1,171 reviews
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Sea Mansion Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sura Design Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sura Design Hotel & Suites

Property: Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Address: Divanyolu Cad. Alemdar Mah. Ticarethane Sok. No:45, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sura Design Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sura Hotel is located in the Sultanahmet district,which still protects their authentic historical beauty all through the challenging years.The 60 innovative designed rooms and suites,welcomes you with the latest features in comfort and style for our guest's. Each place reflects fresh and contemporary style.This pure luxury hotel allows its guests a chance to discover the glorious historical places such as Topkapi Palace,Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Grand Bazaar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sura Design Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing