We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Ranked #112 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely accomodations”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Sura Hagia Sophia is a lovely hotel and so close to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, and the Grand Bazaar. Right in the middle of the Historic District of Istanbul. Friendly staff, clean rooms. We were there in the off season, so I'm sure we benefited from this timing.
This was a group trip and the hotel searched of well.

Room Tip: The end rooms are bigger(e.g. 1201, 2201,1301). I think if you have a room on the higher floors, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    250
    69
    19
    17
See reviews for
180
366
39
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The worst stay in Istanbul at all! First of all they try to populate their second hotel across the road, so even when you book in SDHS they send you upon arrival to Sura Hagia Sophia across the road. Secondly they try to place you in a room which is of lower class than you've booked through the site. So, forget about your Deluxe, Superior or Room with a balcony. They simply does not have anything like that in SHS. After showing us 4 rooms one worse than another we had to stop on a small room on the top floor which has a triangular ceiling and a small window, which is so small that you can even not put your head through it and can't see anything, just roofs.
And to compliment all that they do not even want to talk to you. It took us 3 days of constant discussion with them, to get at least some of our money back, to compensate the difference in the rooms quality.
Speaking about the hotel. It is of bad design, so that every inch of it is used for a room, you even have rooms in the elevator halls. And is extremely overcrowded. Lines of people trying to get themselves anything to eat during breakfast.
Bottom line, I strongly recommend not to chose nor Sura Design Hotel & Suites, nor Sura Hagia Sophia to stay there. As they are poorly managed, crowded with organized groups and will certainly ruin your vacation as you'll have to waste your time trying to get the services and quality promised from the management of the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alexey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The location is wonderful - close to many of Istanbul's most important attractions and around the corner from the tram. My issue with the hotel was the service. It wasn't terrible but it certainly wasn't five star service either. For example, the concierge is only available between 9 and 5 and even during those hours, she was rarely around. Definitely not what one would expect at a five star hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jam2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

In April we had our wedding anniversary and wanted to go to Istanbul, in our web page search we came across this hotel. As it was new we were a little apprehensive and may be not completely finished. We took a chance and booked it.
When we first arrived we were very impressed by the decor and cleanliness. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. On our anniversary we had a lovely breakfast, after a full day touring the city came back to the hotel tired and hungry, we asked if there was a restaurant they can recommend. "Zafer" suggested that we try the hotel restaurant, (we took his advice).
They had prepared a fantastic table for two with balloons, candles and flowers. The Turkish cuisine was really delicious,we were really happy, They made us feel like VIP's.
Thank you Zeynep (PR) and Zafer for making our stay so enjoyable. We will definitely come back soon and not wait for our next anniversary :)

Room Tip: Ask Zeynep for the details
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I am puzzled by the mixed reviews that this hotel has received. It's possible that the hotel was undergoing construction during the stays of other guests which affected their experience. Unlike those unhappy guests, my hubsand and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sura Hotel. It really is in a fantastic location, minutes away from the tram station, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. The staff was friendly and helpful; our room, though a bit small, was immaculately cleaned every day and we loved the bathroom with the marble floors and a shower with amazing water pressure. Also, the breakfasts that came with our stay were fantastic. They were classic Turkish breakfasts featuring a lavish array of vegetables, cheeses, breads and fruits plus there was a coffee maker dispensing fabulously strong coffee. Finally, when we checked out of the hotel, the bellhop called our airport shuttle service for us to make sure that we were being picked up on time. My husband and I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angeleno59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Fantastic location! Poor service. We stayed for five days, our beds were made everyday but sheets were never changed, used items were not replaced. Room door was left wide open by housekeeping, luckily everything was all locked. Not much notice was taken by management.

Manager was rude, breakfast was chaos!

Hotel trip adviser was the only good thing! She helped us out a lot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maidda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is in the centre of Sultanahmet District. Location is very good. It is in walking distance to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern and Grand Bazaar. Also, it is only 3 mins away from tram station. The staff is very kind, and the service is very good. I stayed in room 301, and it had a nice garden view. Breakfast was in buffet style, and it was really delicious. We were in Sura Kebap for dinner, and it offered very delicious meal for us. In general, it is one of the best hotels in Sultanahmet district.

Room Tip: Location is perfect, breakfast is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nur a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#121 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,258 reviews
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Sea Mansion Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City
Grand Bazaar
FER Hotel
FER Hotel
#7 of 1,149 in Istanbul
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sura Design Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sura Design Hotel & Suites

Property: Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Address: Divanyolu Cad. Alemdar Mah. Ticarethane Sok. No:45, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sura Design Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sura Hotel is located in the Sultanahmet district,which still protects their authentic historical beauty all through the challenging years.The 60 innovative designed rooms and suites,welcomes you with the latest features in comfort and style for our guest's. Each place reflects fresh and contemporary style.This pure luxury hotel allows its guests a chance to discover the glorious historical places such as Topkapi Palace,Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Grand Bazaar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sura Design Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing