We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Ranked #105 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
181 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Total disappointment”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Sleek but sleezy......I stayed at this and the Sura Hagia Sophia across the street. I was so excited to switch to this hotel from the other....what a mistake. The hotel is sleek but....dirty and sleazy. The carpet in the rooms and the halls is dirty at best. The rooms are a bit larger than the other hotel but everything else about this hotel is below par when compared to the Sura Hagia Sophia which is literally across the street. The rooms are larger but dirty, the toiletries are below par and everything is dirty so feels old. The food is also better across the street as well. The bathroom is all glass and has a blind to block it off to if you are stay with friends....a bit weird. While it looks cool.....not so much!!! The staff at both hotels really is wonderful and they float between the hotels. Could not ask for a better location though.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the street side and especially not on the first floor. This location was very loud e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    245
    67
    17
    15
See reviews for
169
361
35
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The location is splendid if you will be spending most of your time visiting the historical sites in Sultanahmet. Very near the tram station.

Rooms are well decorated but very small.

Reception staff were not very friendly and concierge service is absolutely useless. Breakfast was very poorly organised - the chef frying eggs is VERY slow and quite incompetent and the "waitoring" staff do not reset tables with cutlery nor do they replenish the buffet and tea table when it's empty.

But as mentioned earlier, you can't go wrong when it comes to the location to the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Musuem, Hagia Sophia, etc.

Room Tip: The balcony is TINY so no need to pay extra for these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zakera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The location was the best to see all the old historic structures in old Constantinople.
The staff was very knowledgeable, professional, extremely friendly and helpful. We had access to services 24 hours a day at two hotels by the same owners, right across the street from each other; one more modern and one with an old world aesthetic both charming and clean. Our reservation came with a full service complimentary breakfast, every morning and high tea served everyday from 5 to 6 pm. The restaurant at the hotel had excellent food and service.
The street was alive with restaurants and vendors late into the evening hours and the neighborhood was very safe.
For the price could not have asked for a better experience.

Room Tip: If you want a modern clean design choose the newer hotel, if you want a old world experience choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwendolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Sura Hagia Sophia is a lovely hotel and so close to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, and the Grand Bazaar. Right in the middle of the Historic District of Istanbul. Friendly staff, clean rooms. We were there in the off season, so I'm sure we benefited from this timing.
This was a group trip and the hotel searched of well.

Room Tip: The end rooms are bigger(e.g. 1201, 2201,1301). I think if you have a room on the higher floors, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The worst stay in Istanbul at all! First of all they try to populate their second hotel across the road, so even when you book in SDHS they send you upon arrival to Sura Hagia Sophia across the road. Secondly they try to place you in a room which is of lower class than you've booked through the site. So, forget about your Deluxe, Superior or Room with a balcony. They simply does not have anything like that in SHS. After showing us 4 rooms one worse than another we had to stop on a small room on the top floor which has a triangular ceiling and a small window, which is so small that you can even not put your head through it and can't see anything, just roofs.
And to compliment all that they do not even want to talk to you. It took us 3 days of constant discussion with them, to get at least some of our money back, to compensate the difference in the rooms quality.
Speaking about the hotel. It is of bad design, so that every inch of it is used for a room, you even have rooms in the elevator halls. And is extremely overcrowded. Lines of people trying to get themselves anything to eat during breakfast.
Bottom line, I strongly recommend not to chose nor Sura Design Hotel & Suites, nor Sura Hagia Sophia to stay there. As they are poorly managed, crowded with organized groups and will certainly ruin your vacation as you'll have to waste your time trying to get the services and quality promised from the management of the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alexey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The location is wonderful - close to many of Istanbul's most important attractions and around the corner from the tram. My issue with the hotel was the service. It wasn't terrible but it certainly wasn't five star service either. For example, the concierge is only available between 9 and 5 and even during those hours, she was rarely around. Definitely not what one would expect at a five star hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jam2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

In April we had our wedding anniversary and wanted to go to Istanbul, in our web page search we came across this hotel. As it was new we were a little apprehensive and may be not completely finished. We took a chance and booked it.
When we first arrived we were very impressed by the decor and cleanliness. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. On our anniversary we had a lovely breakfast, after a full day touring the city came back to the hotel tired and hungry, we asked if there was a restaurant they can recommend. "Zafer" suggested that we try the hotel restaurant, (we took his advice).
They had prepared a fantastic table for two with balloons, candles and flowers. The Turkish cuisine was really delicious,we were really happy, They made us feel like VIP's.
Thank you Zeynep (PR) and Zafer for making our stay so enjoyable. We will definitely come back soon and not wait for our next anniversary :)

Room Tip: Ask Zeynep for the details
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#118 of 1,129 in Istanbul
1,172 reviews
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Sea Mansion Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sura Design Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sura Design Hotel & Suites

Property: Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Address: Divanyolu Cad. Alemdar Mah. Ticarethane Sok. No:45, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sura Design Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sura Hotel is located in the Sultanahmet district,which still protects their authentic historical beauty all through the challenging years.The 60 innovative designed rooms and suites,welcomes you with the latest features in comfort and style for our guest's. Each place reflects fresh and contemporary style.This pure luxury hotel allows its guests a chance to discover the glorious historical places such as Topkapi Palace,Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Grand Bazaar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sura Design Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing