We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of bling, but what about service???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Ranked #105 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

First impressions are of a luxury hotel, but this very quickly disappears when you experience the weak service. Just some of our frustrations with this hotel :

- Breakfast buffet items are never replaced, unless you insist on them. They just can't be bothered to serve.

- Food at breakfast had flies on it. Very unhygienic.

- Breakfast staff can't be bothered to lay the table for you for breakfast, and leave dirty plates lying around.

- Room maid didn't Hoover our room once during our 4 day stay, even though there was dirt from the previous guests.

- Previous guests rubbish still in the shower.

- Took 3 calls to reception for them to come to fix the broken air conditioning... We waited in a hot room for over an hour before someone came.

- Maid didn't bother to replace the complimentary and much needed bottled water in our room, despite it being on her trolley.

- Front of house staff are nowhere to be seen. When you do find them, they rarely listen to what you want and instead seem to push what they earn commission on.

On the plus side, it's well located for the old town and has a beautiful pool and garden at the sister hotel over the road.

This could be an excellent hotel if they sorted their service out. Instead I have given it a poor rating, as there are much better hotels in Istanbul such as the Best Western Premier Suites where we also have stayed and offer outstanding service at their hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Travelthew0rld79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
There are newer reviews for Sura Design Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

This was my seocnd visit to Istanbul, the first was last year I stayed also in the SultanAhmet district , but in different hotel, I thought that the hotel I stayed at last year was good until I stayed at the Sura Hotel. We loved our stay here! Amazing hotel! Really nice presentation and set up. Really nice rooms. Very nice people. are free chocolates in the center of the lobby as well! All in all, we loved our stay!

Room Tip: rooms with balcony
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AsiKh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I stayed at the Sura Design Hotel & Suites from the 15th till the 19th of August 2014. This was my seocnd visit to Istanbul, the first was last year I stayed also in the SultanAhmet district , but in different hotel, I thought that the hotel I stayed at last year was good until I stayed at the Sura Hotel, to discover that SURA is the best ever!!!

Great location, great staff, great customer service, lovely rooms, amazing breakfast with rich variety, generous free snacks in the afternoon, wow never happened before. Don't know wht to say more, i have lots of things to say, but what i saw made me speechless. Their twin hotel the Sura Hagia Sofia has a swimming pool that can be used for free too, n addition o the gym & sauna..

Time forchecking innis 2pm, w arrived at 12pm & our room was ready!!! We checked inn immediately which rarely happens in other hotels!!!

Sura Design Hotel, you are the best. Please stay like this, never change instead go forward.
Love itttttt !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rima M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We loved our stay here! Amazing hotel! Really nice presentation and set up. Really nice rooms. Very nice people. If you need help, ask for Okan or Elif Bayram. These are two amazing and funny people and will get anything done for you. The location of this hotel is also perfect. There are free chocolates in the center of the lobby as well! All in all, we loved our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Krish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Unforgettable experience with this hotel. At the beginning, the hotel's rooms reservation system is working perfectly. I strongly recommend using the hotel airport transportation. I stayed with my family from 28th July 2014 till 3rd Aug 2014. The 28th July marked the Eid Alfitr in Turkey. We have felt the joy of the Eid in the hotel. The hotel management provided temporary staff for Summer Season which helps to respond to my requests very quickly. Arabic interpreter is available. In addition to the Swimming Pool, Sauna, Steam, Massage Rooms there is Salt Room. The hotel offers 2 snakes at 13:00 hrs. "Mazza" and at 17:00 hrs. "Tea Time". I liked The Garden, Lock system in the Gym lockers, The Clock in Sauna room (to be repaired), The Direct Speed for the Treadmill (New device to be replaced), The Umbrellas for hotel Guests and location of the hotel surrounding by restaurants, laundry, shopping area, money exchange, metro station, Traditional Turkish Hamami (Turkish Bath) and most important attractions in Istanbul. At the end, I would like to extend my thanks and appreciation to: Selahattin CETIN, Reception Supervisor for allowing early check-in, additional breakfast, extra Mazza and providing local transportation. Mesut TASLIYURT, F&B Supervisor for allowing take away. Billur PERCINEL and her colleagues Pargol (Iranian) and Elif Ogutcu, Guest Relations for taking care of my daughter and clear guidelines for the attractions and recreational. Oyku EFE and Burcin HICYILMAZ from F&B for their great services. Murat BINICI, Bellboy for his distinctive. Aysegul DEMIR, Housekeeping for bearing the mess of my children. Last but not least, Omer KARATAS, the chauffeur for his kindness.

Room Tip: choose to stay in the new extension!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ebrahim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is the twin of the Sura Hagia Sophia and is right next door. It shares the pool and spa with its sister hotel so you can use them free of charge.

The decoration of the rooms is very noticeable! but nice. Each floor has a different theme but the common thread running through them all is "bling".

Breakfast was very good and set us up for the day.

Recommended!

Room Tip: Some "double" rooms have two single beds pushed together. We asked to change to a proper d...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillcoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

There are so many positives that we'll have to sum it up in bullet points.
- Location was the best we could hope for. The hippodrome, Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Bascila Cistern are less than 3 mins walk. Grand bazaar is 10 min walk. The tram line is 2 min, which will take you anywhere. The coastline is 15 min walk for bosphorous cruises. Its surrounded by restaurants, cafes, terraces, and shops.
- Hotel itself is immaculate, stylish, well maintained, with lots of amenities. There is a lovely restaurant for breakfast, lunch, or dinner, and free afternoon high tea. A sister hotel across the road has a second restaurant, lovely outdoor pool and garden as well as a spa with a free Turkish bath, gym, sauna, and steam room. All free too.
- Staff everywhere were super customer service trained. The guest services were always friendly and welcoming. They accomodated our every request, had great tourist information, and always made time to greet us and check we were ok.
- The rooms are beautiful, very thoughtfully designed, with each floor having a unique colour scheme. Rooms come with en suites, chez-lounge, safe, fridge, tv, ipod dock, free water, tea & coffee, ac, and balcony with lovely views on both sides.

We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z_and_A_Razzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#124 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,297 reviews
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER The Home Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Sea Mansion Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sura Design Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sura Design Hotel & Suites

Address: Divanyolu Cad. Alemdar Mah. Ticarethane Sok. No:45, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £72 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sura Design Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sura Hotel is located in the Sultanahmet district,which still protects their authentic historical beauty all through the challenging years.The 60 innovative designed rooms and suites,welcomes you with the latest features in comfort and style for our guest's. Each place reflects fresh and contemporary style.This pure luxury hotel allows its guests a chance to discover the glorious historical places such as Topkapi Palace,Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Grand Bazaar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sura Design Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing