We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”
Review of Neorion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Neorion Hotel
Ranked #8 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Last year, I stayed with a friend at the Sirkeci Konak. I was the 1,000th person to lodge a review of the hotel on Tripadvisor, and received an invitation from the generous owner, Mr Faruk Boyaci, to stay in his newest establishment, the Neorion, for two nights the next time I was in Istanbul. On this occasion, we stayed for 4 nights.

I can only emulate the views of others – a superb hotel with wonderful staff, service and amenities.

The location of the Neorion is excellent for walking to all the main sights in the old city, or catching a tram or ferry to other areas of Istanbul.

As with other nearby Sirkeci Group hotels, the welcome is warm and personable, with a guest relations staff member sitting in the lounge with you, offering a drink of your choice, explaining about the hotel and environs, and answering any questions.

We loved our spacious wheelchair accessible top floor room (606), the exceptionally comfortable beds, quality linen and pillows, the hanging and draw space, the roomy bathroom, and the excellent wifi signal. There was a range of good magazines in the room, a canister of Turkish Delight, a welcome bowl of fruit, and a bottle of wine from Cappadocia.

Our room was at the rear of the hotel, and with double glazed windows, there was no noise.

The room was spotless and housekeeping staff were friendly.

The additional amenities list in the room for forgetful people was a thoughtful touch: tweezers, nail clippers, floss, toothbrush and paste, razor and shaving foam, hair brush, ear plugs, fly spray, iron and ironing board etc.

The pillow list was also terrific: nano tech, plume, ergonomic, orthopaedic and viscoelastic.

The huge rooftop terrace offered expansive 360 degree views.

My travelling companion made use of the swimming pool and Turkish bath, which she loved.

The breakfasts were excellent, with a wide selection of hot and cold Turkish and Western fare. The freshly squeezed orange juice was delicious. You could order any type of coffee e.g. espresso, cappuccino.

The delightful owner, Faruk Boyaci, was often on hand at breakfast to chat with guests.

The generous provision of mezze in the dining and lounge areas in the afternoons was a lovely gesture. The lounge area was well utilised, with a library of cultural and historical books on Turkey. I usually wandered down at about 6 pm for a generous glass of decent wine (7 TL).

We loved the Sirkeci group restaurants last year, and decided to utilise the 10% discount voucher to dine at Imbat and Neyzade this time. The excellent food and service drew us back for dinner to both establishments twice. My reviews of these restaurants have been published separately on Tripadvisor.

In summary, the Neorion is a warm, friendly “home away from home”, as is the Sirkeci Konak Hotel.

The owner, Faruk, is delightful, generous and engaging in discussing his vision for his staff (250 and counting!) and the development of the Sirkeci area.

Highly recommended!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Glynis031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review and it is very nice and important for me to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay.

Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us we are on the right path.

Of course we have some points to improve, we are all working on these.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyaci
Owner of the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,162 - 2,168 of 3,046 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

Start to finish our experience at the Neorion was fabulous! We arrived at the airport to find a driver waiting for us (complimentary!!) and found ourselves at the Neorion about thirty minutes later. We were quickly escorted to their cafe, where Merve helped us check in and plan our weekend break. She checked back in with us frequently and assisted us with tram directions and ferry schedules to the lesser known sites our children had put at the top of their must-see list. Our room was a good size, very well-stocked, and even included a pillow menu. The family room was a favourable deal, as most other hotels required that we book two rooms. The breakfast was wonderful and had changing items each day and the mezze provided an opportunity for our kids to chow down while we regrouped and planned the rest of our day. Wine and salty peanuts on the roof at 7pm were an unexpected treat and allowed us to slow down and enjoy a beautiful view of the city and the water. Thank you to Merve and the Neorion staff. You are number one on Trip Advisor for good reason.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel and was quiet - no view, but we were out and about all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bleuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review and it is very nice and important for me to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay.

Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us we are on the right path.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyaci
Owner of the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

From the moment we arrived at the Neorion Hotel in Istanbul we knew that we had made the right choice in hotels for our stay in Istanbul. The hotel is lovely, but it's the staff that really sets this establishment apart. We received a warm welcome and offered a drink and snack as we prepared to go to our room after our very long flight from California to Istanbul. Everything about this hotel deserves a 10+ on any scale of satisfaction.
We selected the Neorion to stay a few days before our departure aboard the Seabourn Legend for a cruise of the Greek and Turkey Isles. Seabourn is a cruiseline known for their our standing service and attention to detail and The Neorion Hotel falls in this same category.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirley t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

During our last trip to Istanbul, we spent 5 nights in this FABULOUS hotel.

There are not enough words to describe the hotel, the quality of service, the rooms and the people working there. You have a bus stop close and all touristic places are very close (maximum 10 minutes walking).

It is a real 5 stars hotel: lot of amenities, pillow menu, room service,

Rooms are very good: lovely decoration, spacious and warm. The toilet has everything you need. The cleanness is remarkable. And you can feel that they clean up your room with love: you find lokum, towel decorations, everything is organized.

Breakfast: you have lot of things to choose between beverages, cheese, bread, ham, fruits, cereal, yogurt, etc.

From 13h00 there is a "mezze buffet" with lots of specialities from Turkish cuisine. Lovely!!!

At reception desk you can find lovely people ready to help you and to give an advice. Our best host was Ugur. We would like to thank him for everything. He was in the evenings and helped us to organize our visits. With his advice Ugur made our trip unforgettable.

Many thanks to all of you! We will recommend this hotel to our friends and we will come back, for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viviajes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Spending four nights in this small hotel was wonderful experience.
The most notable thing was that they really do care for their guests, trying to help you in every way. Family room was very nice, breakfast standard and afternoon snack ( “mese”) was especially interesting with delicious lentil soup. Spa center with small pool was very relaxing after long walks. The position of hotel is central and could not be better for sightseeing of this gorgeous historical megapolis. Will be back again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stanko U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

My dearest guest,
I am Faruk Boyacı,the owner of the hotel, I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Accepting you also as a member of Neorion Hotel Family, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in Neorion Hotel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,

Faruk Boyacı

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The hotel was fantastic and the location is excellent. The staff was very professional, friendly and helpful; breakfast is good and afternoon meze delicious. Room was nice and clean and even it was small it was big enough for us two. The bed was comfortable. Hammam in ground floor was worth of visiting and massage was unique experiment. We stayed 6 nights and we definitely recommend Hotel Neorion! It is one of best hotels we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sannastiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Incredible service, ammaculate, quiet, great location, outstanding spa, good AM and PM food, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eekeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review and it is very nice and important for me to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay.
Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us we are on the right path.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes from Istanbul Neorion Hotel Family,

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,173 in Istanbul
3,158 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,173 in Istanbul
3,051 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,173 in Istanbul
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,173 in Istanbul
3,008 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,173 in Istanbul
3,562 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#6 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neorion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neorion Hotel

Address: Orhaniye Street No 14 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £54 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Neorion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neorion Hotel is at the very center of Istanbul's history and culture, ancient and modern. Named for Byzantium's grand port (see the map) on the Golden Horn, it welcomes visitors from around the world just as the port did in the great days of Constantinople. Neorion is more than a comfortable travelers' refuge in the heart of the city. It was conceived and designed to honor and reflect all of the cultures who have enriched the city and its empires. To stay here is to learn and enjoy the cultures, cuisines, arts and traditions of all the travelers who have come before you.The hotel's 53 guest rooms and suites bring the past to life, with all modern comforts. The swimming pool, Turkish bath, massage spa, cultural library, and museum-quality decorative arts are supplemented with complimentary fine arts musical performances, cuisine demonstrations and cultural events exclusively for hotel guests. Stay with us! Experience all of Istanbul, ancient and modern, right where you live, and just outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Neorion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing