We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel with family flair”
Review of Neorion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Neorion Hotel
Ranked #5 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous hotel with family flair”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Neorion and were pleasently surprised by the hotel.
We heard so many terrible stories about expensive but dirty and low standard hotels in this area of Istanbul. But we have only good things to say about the hotel and will always recommend you if somebody asks as for a place to stay in Istanbul.

The room including bathroom was spacious, clean and new. Breakfast offered a good range for all needs, not a 5 star buffet but the quality was very good. We also enjoyed the little afternoon nibbles / lunch. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful to all of us and especially to our children. The roof terrace offers a stunning view; maybe it should be used more? The pool and spa facilities are good and sufficient; we only wished it was outdoors as the weather was just perfect.
Overall a well run, clean, spacious hotel in a perfect location to explore Istanbul’s sights with no need to get in a taxi during your stay. Even if you find it expansive it is worth the money if you compare it with other hotels of that category!

Room Tip: We were travelling with a 3 and a 1 year old child and booked a triple room. The room was spacious w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Struppi1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes from Istanbul Neorion Hotel Family

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,644
    277
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
667
1,464
163
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Yes its not in the tourist hub of Sultanamhet or in the trendy Taksim square area but it is a fabulously located hotel to all those areas and has the most helpful friendly staff. Its situated between two tram lines - Sirkeci and Gulhane so easy to get to regardless of which end of the city you're after. For the more enthusiastic its a short walk to Sultanamhet, Galata Bridge and the Spice Bazaar. Due to its proximity to the tram line we were never lost!

The rooms were very clean and of a reasonable size. The bathrooms are lovely and new looking. The wifi is especially good!

The staff went above and beyond what was required and were always courteous and helpful even when I am sure they were tired of us asking so many questions!

Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and drinks on the rooftop in summer are a must. The views are magnificent.

The only comment I have is that the heat of the pool could be a little warmer, I found it too cold to swim in despite the heat outside, but then again the turkish baths, sauna and jacuzzi more then made up for it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisslisOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
My dearest guest,
I am Faruk Boyacı,the owner of the hotel, I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Accepting you also as a member of Neorion Hotel Family, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in Neorion Hotel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My husband and I had the most amazing time staying at the Neorion. The hotel is conveniently located with the Blue Mosque and the Haggia Sophia just a 10-15 min walk away. We received such a warm welcome. Meric, the guest relations manager, patiently explained the best places to visit and eat and drink at. Another benefit at Neorion is that they offer free food (Turkish specialities) throughout the day. Great hotel and have no hesitation in recommending it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNK1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear my guest;
It was our great pleasure to host you in Istanbul, in our hotel.

Thank you for sharing your experinces with other people on this very important platform.

Hope to be together again.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyaci - The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

this is a very nice hotel. the staff really goes out of their way to be helpful. I am sure there are better deals in the city, but this place is not too too expensive, and does deliver a good room, great help, and a friendly atmosphere . besides a good breakfast, they serve snacks from 1 to 7 that can easily work as lunch. Their personal guide was great. Make sure to eat at all four restaurants in their hotel group. each is great, and not too expensive, and located on the roofs of the hotels with great views. you just can't beat these places for a gourmet level meal at almost half the price of a typical NYC meal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenisax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review and it is very nice and important for me to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay.

Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us we are on the right path.


Kind regards,

Faruk Boyaci
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
420 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The Neorion is located in the old city within walking distance of every major point of interest from Topkapi Palace to the Grand Bazaar to the spice market, etc. The staff is very pleasant and eager to please. Free Turkish food is available every afternoon in the lobby. As previously mentioned the customer service and attention to detail are second to none.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank packedandready2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes from Istanbul Neorion Hotel Family

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

There may be cheaper and more expensive hotels in Istanbul,but what earns this hotel #1 rating is the exceptional level of customer service and attention to detail.From airport pick-up,informative check-in,organising of tours,faxing of documents which we needed to do,finding a reputable optical shop to our final departure,nothing was too much trouble.Our room was large with comfortable bed,tea/coffee making facilities,complimentary water and good air-con.Breakfast is fantastic with the opportunity to try Turkish delicacies.The complimentary mezze served throughout the afternoon and the wine served in the evening on the roof-top terrace with spectacular view are amazing extras.The pool and spa area is spotlessly clean and well run and a welcome relief after a hot day's sightseeing.All the major historical sights are within walking distance and lovely restaurants nearby for dinner.We had a fantastic 5 nights at the Neorion and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonfly7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
My dearest guest,
I am Faruk Boyacı,the owner of the hotel, I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Accepting you also as a member of Neorion Hotel Family, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in Neorion Hotel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for five nights. It truly is a wonderful stay and definitely deserves the no. 1 spot.
Location - excellent location, within a 10-15 minute walk to all sights. Tram stop 3 minutes away. It's near all sights but far away from all the hectic activitie.
Staff - the staff is absolutely wonderful. I cannot praise them enough. They really care about the guests. Elvina, the concierge, took care of all our needs. They are all wonderful.
Amenities - This really makes the hotel stand out from the rest. The breakfast is delicious, even our Turkish guide mentioned that it was the best from all hotels in Istanbul. The "mezzes" (appetizers) given during the day are great. We ate lunch there everyday - which saved us money. The terrace is very nice with a beautiful sunset view. They give you a glass of wine. We were there every sunset. The pool area is also nice, with a Turkish bath. Great to do after a long day of touring.
Rooms - on the smaller side, but it's Europe, comfy beds and nice bathroom. Super clean.

All in all, great place to stay. I wouldn't look at any other place if this is in your budget range. One word of causion, be aware of taxi drivers; they try to scam tourist at every turn - even the ones the hotel calls. Make sure the hotel tells them where you are going and to det the taximeter properly (should start with 2_70 rate and not blink too much).

Enjoy Turkey!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.

I will be very happy to host you again in Istanbul or in Neorion Hotel when you come back.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#13 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,879 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#12 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neorion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neorion Hotel

Property: Neorion Hotel
Address: Orhaniye Street No 14 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Neorion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neorion Hotel is at the very center of Istanbul's history and culture, ancient and modern. Named for Byzantium's grand port (see the map) on the Golden Horn, it welcomes visitors from around the world just as the port did in the great days of Constantinople. Neorion is more than a comfortable travelers' refuge in the heart of the city. It was conceived and designed to honor and reflect all of the cultures who have enriched the city and its empires. To stay here is to learn and enjoy the cultures, cuisines, arts and traditions of all the travelers who have come before you.The hotel's 53 guest rooms and suites bring the past to life, with all modern comforts. The swimming pool, Turkish bath, massage spa, cultural library, and museum-quality decorative arts are supplemented with complimentary fine arts musical performances, cuisine demonstrations and cultural events exclusively for hotel guests. Stay with us! Experience all of Istanbul, ancient and modern, right where you live, and just outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Neorion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing