We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is all they say it is!”
Review of Neorion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Neorion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Potomac, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It is all they say it is!”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We were there with a very big group for a wedding in Istanbul. We had heard a lot about this great hotel, and it really is an amazing experience staying there. Location is perfect, it is clean and nice, they have very nice appetizers available all afternoon, they have a beautiful rooftop and a complimentary glass of wine...but what makes this place super exceptional is the staff. They are the kindest and sweetest group of people you come across. They really do go out of their way to make you feel at home, help you out and make your stay enjoyable. At the end we felt we are saying good bye to some great friends and not just a hotel staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kchini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
My dearest guest,
I am Faruk Boyacı,the owner of the hotel, I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Accepting you also as a member of Neorion Hotel Family, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in Neorion Hotel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,670
    281
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
679
1,473
168
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This hotel is great. The rooms are comfortable, location is excellent for ost major tourist sites, and the staff is exceptional. Friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. And the sunset hour on the rooftop patio is great after a long (hot) day of trekking around the city. I never made it to the pool and spa, but I heard others remarking on how nice it was. There is even a connected restaurant (Cafe Mes) that is owned by the same people, and the food is pretty good, service excellent, and prices fair.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing back if street noises bother you. But we were on floor 6 anyway and heard not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear my guest;
It was our great pleasure to host you in Istanbul, in our hotel.

Thank you for sharing your experinces with other people on this very important platform.

Hope to be together again.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyaci - The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

The highlight of this hotel is its super helpful staff. Can't say enough in their praise. They organised a cake for my son's Birthday, sang Happy Birthday for him and finally didn't even charge for the cake. They gave us a delayed check out free of charge as well. The hotel is in the congested Sirkeci area and so do not expect great views if you are on any of the lower floors. However, this is compensated by its proximity to touristy sites in Sultanahmet, the Bosphorus ferries and the T1 tram line. Lots of restaurants within walking distance as well. Free breakfast and free mezze (between 1-7 pm) means that you really need to venture out for dinner. Highly recommended and you won't regret your decision of choosing this great hotel.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Dhritiman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review and it is very nice and important for me to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay.

Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us we are on the right path.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyaci
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The moment you walk into the hotel until you leave the customer service, quality of food and accommodation is par excellence. There is an ongoing commitment to strive to do even better and the hotel welcomes feedback on areas that they can improve upon.

On our first day the lady who cleaned our room left a note asking for feedback about the standard of cleaning which of course was first rate. The staff will book tours for you, confirm dinner reservations and generally make your stay in Istanbul as enjoyable as it can be.

OK it's not cheap but it is extremely good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th floor have terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
My dearest guest,

I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.

If you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey. I will be very happy to host you again in Istanbul or in Neorion Hotel when you come back.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Neorian is ranked #1 in Istanbul by Tripadvisor members for good reason and as a result is not easy to secure a room a short notice as it is desirable for many reasons, the main being the friendliness of the Reception staff.

You are made to feel so welcome the second you put your foot through the door. My wife and I arrived mid-afternoon after a long one-stop flight from Canada.

Unfortunately, the beginning of our trip was not uneventful as my wife ate something on the plane that gave her a case of food poisoning, and to top that, our pre-arranged transportation into Istanbul, did not materialize. We therefore had to traipse passed many unscrupulous 'limousine' vendors asking 3 times more than the 20 euro cost that you can obtain on-line to the old city. We eventually settled into a taxi after negotiating a 25 euro fee to Skireci. Well worth the cost as the traffic was horrendous and the 20 min drive took almost an hour.

A tip. We opted to purchase a Visa on arrival. On arriving at the Visa counter there was one official serving a long line of visitors and it was moving at a snails place. We discovered a second 'Visa on arrival' counter very close to the immigration hall and the rather stern unwelcoming official there was twiddling his thumbs. Took us all of 3 minutes to hand over $120 and get the 3 month Visa, after spending 15 minutes in the previous line-up without moving 5 feet.

At the Neorian, the receptionist understood my wife's predicament as we opted out of the welcome drink and information session, upgraded our room and had the bell-hop show us up immediately. The room was on the top floor, with a private terrace facing west, with a marvelous view albeit it extremely hot, as the airco is operated by placing a room card in the receptacle and therefore was off, since the last guest departed. Thankfully the airco was effective and the room cooled off quite quickly. Istanbul is hot in July.

Location, location, location is what it is all about. I have visited the city before and therefore I am familiar with the city. The Neorian is a short walk away from most of Sultanamets, treasured sites and there are abundant good restaurants to choose from in the immediate neighbourhood including the Pasazade Ottoman and the Hafiz Mustafa coffee bar is just around the corner.

We had dinner on the roof terrace of the former, with marvelous views to Beyogulu, the Bosphorous Bridge and sunset was beautiful. My wife, who miraculously recovered quickly, explored Topkapi, Hagia Sophia,the Blue Mosque the adjacent Sultans Tombs, The Grand Bazaar, the Egyptian Spice Market on foot without resorting to taxis or public transportation.

I forgot to mention that the Neorian serves complimentary on there roof terrace in the evening and the view is similar to that of the Passazade. Unfortunately our short pre-cruise visit came to an end all to quickly and the effusive reception staff were wonderful in arranging transport to the port and presented us with a goody bag of Turkish delight and other local treats on departure.

We boarded the Seabourne Odyssey for what was to be a spectacular two week cruise at 1:00pm and still had time to take a taxi to Taksim Square and meander back to the ship down Istiklal Cadessi before setting sail down the Sea of Marmara to the Ionian Sea.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank montfleurToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes from Istanbul Neorion Hotel Family

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We were a party of 20 people, and from the beginning the staff was great planning our stay.
The hotel is very nice, in a good location walking distance to most of historical places, and the staff all were great and friendly.
The terrace is very nice, it has a spectacular view of the city.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank valenartag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes from Istanbul Neorion Hotel Family

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

What an amazing hotel and staff. It was our first visit to Istanbul and what a find. It was so handy to everything and has an amazing terrace top where you can sit and have a drink. From there you can watch the sunset over the Blue Mosque. The staff are amazing, so welcoming, even gave us a welcome drink. Certainly will recommend to friends. They even had turkish delight in the rooms and reception for you to help yourself. Fantastic, will return them if we are travelling that way in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUPANDMUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
My dearest guest,
I am Faruk Boyacı,the owner of the hotel, I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Accepting you also as a member of Neorion Hotel Family, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in Neorion Hotel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,156 in Istanbul
3,003 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,975 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,156 in Istanbul
3,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,923 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,090 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neorion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neorion Hotel

Property: Neorion Hotel
Address: Orhaniye Street No 14 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Neorion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neorion Hotel is at the very center of Istanbul's history and culture, ancient and modern. Named for Byzantium's grand port (see the map) on the Golden Horn, it welcomes visitors from around the world just as the port did in the great days of Constantinople. Neorion is more than a comfortable travelers' refuge in the heart of the city. It was conceived and designed to honor and reflect all of the cultures who have enriched the city and its empires. To stay here is to learn and enjoy the cultures, cuisines, arts and traditions of all the travelers who have come before you.The hotel's 53 guest rooms and suites bring the past to life, with all modern comforts. The swimming pool, Turkish bath, massage spa, cultural library, and museum-quality decorative arts are supplemented with complimentary fine arts musical performances, cuisine demonstrations and cultural events exclusively for hotel guests. Stay with us! Experience all of Istanbul, ancient and modern, right where you live, and just outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Neorion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing