We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional boutique hotel!”
Review of Neorion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Neorion Hotel
Ranked #7 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

If your preference is for small boutique hotels rather than big, impersonal five-star hotels, then look no further. Neorion is an outstanding boutique hotel and in addition, is ideally situated within walking distance of the main Istanbul attractions; for those who do not wish to walk, the tramline is almost at the doorstep. This exceptional hotel excels with its amenities including beautifully decorated and immaculate bedrooms equipped with the most comfortable beds, robes, slippers, lovely vanity items, tea and coffee making equipment and fresh Turkish Delight each day for the sweettooths! The biggest asset is the staff who are all fully dedicated to client service and are prepared to go that extra mile to ensure your comfort and a worry-free stay . We made some unusual requests for help with luggage and these were met with charm and efficiency and ensured our travel around Turkey and Greece was not the burden it would otherwise have been.
Before booking, we read the reviews about the welcome hospitality and the complimentary 'snacks' provided during the day. This was such an understatement as we discovered that the buffet set up from 1pm to 7pm each day provided enough choices for a 'substantial meal' and judging from some plates, many people took advantage of this option. Upon arrival, guests are invited to have refreshments while being given useful information on facilities and local attractions - in our case we were offered breakfast as we arrived early morning. The breakfast each day was superb with many choices and a happy crew to ensure your coffee/tea cup was always full. The generousity of the hotel extended further during the summer months with complimentary wines being served on the rooftop balcony to enable guests to enjoy the beautiful city lights as the sun set.
The owner, Mr Boyaci, in his welcoming letter advises that in Turkey hospitality goes far byond the definition of hospitality as 'the friendly and generous reception and entertainment of guests, visitors, or strangers.' With the help of his staff, he provides hospitality of the highest order. While he generously provides the facilities, it is his staff that lifts the hotel to be something truly out of the ordinary.

Room Tip: It is advisable to upgrade to a superior room and away from the tram lines - paying cash entitles gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flodora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dearest Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate your comments.
We want to make sure all of our guests are taken care of, so I am happy to hear that we were able to help you out.
Thank you for choosing us , we look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Best Wishes from Neorion Family,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,533 - 1,539 of 3,062 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

I have just had six excellent nights here and I could not recommend the hotel more highly. The staff were outstanding and nothing related to the hotel or sightseeing was too much trouble or inconvenience for them. The rooms were clean, well-equipped, quiet and comfortable. There is an excellent rooftop terrace with superb views of the old town, with a complimentary glass of wine provided between 8-8.30pm each night. The breakfast was also very good, with an assortment of breads, pastries, fruit, yoghurt, cold meats, salads, and hot food provided. The hotel also provides snacks from 1-7pm when guest can help themselves to pasta, salad, bread, homemade biscuits and cake. In short and without knitpicking, it is hard to really fault the hotel on anything during my six night stay here. It was a genuine pleasure and delight to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willsharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dearest Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate your comments.
We want to make sure all of our guests are taken care of, so I am happy to hear that we were able to help you out.
Thank you for choosing us , we look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Best Wishes from Neorion Family,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Indeed I selected this hotel because of the Tripadvisor feedback. Normally I am a bit reluctant to go with other people's advice, because I am well travelled and someone else's perception of excellent may not always be mine. Nevertheless nothing said to much. This hotel is absolutely an excellent hotel in its category. I received a warm welcome and personal information that I have normally seen in the top 5-star hotels in the world. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The rooms are relative small, but comfortable, quiet and clean. A buffet breakfast is served on the ground floor with a wide range of different dishes. From the afternoon onwards there are appetizers and tea served in the same area. In the basement there is a sauna and an indoor pool. On the roof there are chairs and tables to relax from the great view over Istanbul. Last but not least the hotel is located within the old town. On walking distance to the big attractions and a longer walk or close tram drive to the Grand Bazar.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalTraveller3_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dearest Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate your comments.
We want to make sure all of our guests are taken care of, so I am happy to hear that we were able to help you out.
Thank you for choosing us , we look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Best Wishes from Neorion Family,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

If you do not know the area you might be ?but in no time you will get to know that you are in the very center of Istanbul. Everything around you or at an easy access. The hotel itself is very very clean, at the reception they give you a very warm wellcome and absorb all the strees you had through your journey. Very helpful and they come out of their way to help. Cleanliness is obvious, in all the amnities, rooms, bathrooms, spa. Towels are very clean and scented. Teh food is typical delicious Turkish food.
I hope they will keep it so all the way.
The owner leaves his mobile and e-mail in the room in case you have a complaint, and I am sure you do not have to contact him as there are none.
Certainly I will come back if I visit Istanbul again.

Thank Mousa K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dearest Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate your comments.
We want to make sure all of our guests are taken care of, so I am happy to hear that we were able to help you out.
Thank you for choosing us , we look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Best Wishes from Neorion Family,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We just left Neorion Hotel. From beginning till end (a 5night stay), this was a welcoming and friendly place to stay in Istanbul. The welcome package (Turkish tea & coffee, meze and personal information about what and when to visit and how to get there) are truly unique. Located centrally in Sultanahmet area, it is very close to all places to visit. Even the Grand Bazaar is in walking distance (max 20minutes). Our room was neatly clean and was to our expectations. @ Neorion, the staff is very friendly and attentive. The roof terrace with complimentary wine & soda for sunset is a very nice extra to see Istanbul from a bird's perspective.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DMXAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dearest Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate your comments.
We want to make sure all of our guests are taken care of, so I am happy to hear that we were able to help you out.
Thank you for choosing us , we look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Best Wishes from Neorion Family,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The hotel was well positioned in the older part of the city. Short walking distance to the Ferry, train station and Trams. Also close to the spice market. Still close enough to walk to the Grand Bazaar, TopKapi Palace, Hagai Sofia and Blue Mosque (but can take tram). We liked the location and found the city to be exciting and exotic. We felt very safe.
Hotel had lovely fresh food for breakfast and were very helpful in suggestions were to eat. There are many eating places all close by. Hotel had a complimentary wine on roof top at sunset each night which was a delightful sight. We would certainly stay in this hotel again if we return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dearest Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate your comments.
We want to make sure all of our guests are taken care of, so I am happy to hear that we were able to help you out.
Thank you for choosing us , we look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Best Wishes from Neorion Family,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Friendly, clean, comfortable, and quiet. The staff were attentive and welcoming but also kept their distance and were not intrusive. The space was lovely and the rooms were very quiet, even though they overlooked streets that were not. Very well insulated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BessR60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dearest Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate your comments.
We want to make sure all of our guests are taken care of, so I am happy to hear that we were able to help you out.
Thank you for choosing us , we look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Best Wishes from Neorion Family,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,181 in Istanbul
3,178 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,181 in Istanbul
3,066 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#10 of 1,181 in Istanbul
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#20 of 1,181 in Istanbul
2,230 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,181 in Istanbul
3,620 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#4 of 1,181 in Istanbul
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neorion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neorion Hotel

Address: Orhaniye Street No 14 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £52 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Neorion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neorion Hotel is at the very center of Istanbul's history and culture, ancient and modern. Named for Byzantium's grand port (see the map) on the Golden Horn, it welcomes visitors from around the world just as the port did in the great days of Constantinople. Neorion is more than a comfortable travelers' refuge in the heart of the city. It was conceived and designed to honor and reflect all of the cultures who have enriched the city and its empires. To stay here is to learn and enjoy the cultures, cuisines, arts and traditions of all the travelers who have come before you.The hotel's 53 guest rooms and suites bring the past to life, with all modern comforts. The swimming pool, Turkish bath, massage spa, cultural library, and museum-quality decorative arts are supplemented with complimentary fine arts musical performances, cuisine demonstrations and cultural events exclusively for hotel guests. Stay with us! Experience all of Istanbul, ancient and modern, right where you live, and just outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Neorion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing