We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central in old city”
Review of Neorion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Neorion Hotel
Ranked #5 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very central in old city”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Central to most major attractions, staff helpful, reasonable size rooms, a.c. Welcome due to street noise. good value includes breakfast and afternoon snacks, would stay again due to location. Staff gave restaurant recommendations which was excellent, arranged transportation to airport.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxDPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear my guest;
It was our great pleasure to host you in Istanbul, in our hotel.

Thank you for sharing your experinces with other people on this very important platform.

Hope to be together again.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyaci - The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,645
    277
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
667
1,465
163
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We went ahead with our early July trip to Istanbul because of the prime, Sultanahmet location of Neorion Hotel, knowing that we were just a walking distance from the big attractions - Hagia Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, Suleimanye Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Spice Bazaar, etc. It is also 2 minutes from the Sirkeci Tram station and another 5 minutes to the Eminou ferry departure piers and Galata Bridge. I found the hotel because of the rave reviews on TA and I wasn't disappointed. The hotel looks nice from the outside and the common areas are tastefully decorated including a small "museum" of replicas tracing the history of this ancient region. Check in was effortless and one of the staff then spent 30 minutes with us taking us through a map, showing us nearby attractions, answering all our questions patiently with a welcome drink to go with it. We had two adjoining rooms as requested and on our return from Capadoccia two days later, they had honored our request to upgrade us to front facing rooms that offered a view of the constant action on the street below and the busy square next door. The service excels. The breakfast is lavish. The rooms are fine and the large painting/print of a scene from Turkish history adds an authentic Turkish touch to a modern room. They leave a covered plate with Lokum (Turkish delight) and on check out, they also gift you a box of Turkish delight. We had a personalized letter from the general manager and they truly do bend over backwards to help. Fatih at the front desk was exemplary. We forgot a fleece jacket in the room in our rush to catch an early morning flight to Zagreb and when I called, they said they would find out how much it would cost me to have it shipped to the US. Two days later I had an email from them saying they had sent the jacket by mail at no cost to us - that's Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons level service. The hotel is 6 floors tall and go as high as you can especially if you are on the front street facing side since it does get noisy on the street. The rooms on the back of the hotel are very quiet but have no views. Another nice touch is the evening reception each day to watch the sunset over the old town rooftops from their terrace. We loved going up at night to the terrace and seeing the minarets of the Suleimanye mosque, New Mosque, Aya Sofya and the Topkapi tower lit up. The views from up there are beautiful. This is truly a hotel we will gladly return to any time. We used a cab once to get to the Chora Church since everything else was in walking distance which is a real benefit.

Room Tip: see my review for front vs. back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rvansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review and it is very nice and important for me to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay.

Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us we are on the right path.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyaci
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The Neorian is near-perfect in almost every way. Rooms are only adequate, but the high quality service is almost beyond belief for a medium-priced hotel. Absolutely fantastic breakfast buffet: six kinds of cheeses, same number of breads, and an actual honeycomb. Concierge service was excellent; we were known by name within hours of check-in; very helpful with planning. When we checked out, the manager, concierge, and bellman all stood outside and waved goodbye. A follow-up thank you email followed almost immediately. We would never go back to Instanbul without staying at the Neorian.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes from Istanbul Neorion Hotel Family
Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have just spent a delightful 5 days at this charming hotel in the center of Istanbul old town.

The hotel is great, clean comfortable rooms and the location in the middle of old town cannot be beaten. The hotel staff are fabulous and nothing is too much trouble for them. Although we arrived early in the day, they made sure that our room was ready quickly. Our whole stay was terrific and I would not consider staying anywhere else on a return trip to Istanbul

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes from Istanbul Neorion Hotel Family

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Pros:
Reception staff were very welcoming on our late arrival and continued to be so throughout our stay. We received a free upgrade on arrival and the room was beautifully designed and furnished. The complimentary shuttle service (one way) was extremely beneficial. Breakfast was adequate and the concierge service was fantastic - they couldn't do enough to ensure you enjoy your stay. Housekeeping was superb and very mindful of our needs. The sunset hour on the top terrace was very enjoyable and it was a fabulous way to enjoy the sunset. Free WIFI was a very good service. The parting gift from the hotel was a lovely thought and it is little things like this that sets a hotel apart from its competitors. We would definitely stay here again the next time we visit Istanbul as we felt that it was a very homely boutique hotel.

Cons:
There are no complimentary tea/coffee making facilities at evening tea time and a restaurant for evening meals would be an added bonus (these are minor issues that didn't detract from our stay).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leedy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review and it is very nice and important for me to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay.

Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us we are on the right path.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyaci
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was truly the best place to stay! Like the other reviews say, the location was perfect, and the accommodations were top notch. They truly make you feel like a valued guest. The accommodations were perfect too especially as a family with two young teenage boys as they had a fantastic connecting room option. Very clean and very chic, good value. It was quiet at night after the tram services ended, which was early enough. I'm very sensitive to noise, and I was not bothered at all and slept good. Would definitely stay only there! Great airport pick up and drop off service too. Nice breakfast spread as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear my guest;
It was our great pleasure to host you in Istanbul, in our hotel.

Thank you for sharing your experinces with other people on this very important platform.

Hope to be together again.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

First night when we checked in, we didnt understand why this hotel was ranked #1 while the room was small and I didnt see anything so luxury about the boutique hotel lobby. My husband and I were even complaining abt the fact that we paid more for this hotel than other hotels around this area.

But, there was a reason why this hotel was #1 hotel in Istanbul. Infact I strongly believe ALL HOTELS should learn from the staffs and management of Neorion Hotel to be how to run their business.

Neorion hotel looks ordinary when there is no problem. Certainly things can happen. Your shower might have a lower water pressure. There may be a noisr that would wake you up. Anything can happen. Professionalism comes in when there is an issue. The way they listen and response to the hotel guests was above and beyond 5 star hotel. With in a second it is taken care of. All staffs at the hotel were very very friendly, caring, and really comcerned about every single issue coming from the guests.

We have been traveling for 8 months so far. If you see my history of feedback contribution on TA, most of them are horrible. This hotel by far was the best service we have ever experienced. ( it was Capital hotel Tokyu in Tokyo, up until this one)

The hotel has free drink at sunset everyday and free mezza time everyday as well.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Istanbul.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrangeKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
My dearest guest,
I am Faruk Boyacı,the owner of the hotel, I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Accepting you also as a member of Neorion Hotel Family, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in Neorion Hotel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#13 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,879 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#12 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neorion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neorion Hotel

Property: Neorion Hotel
Address: Orhaniye Street No 14 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Neorion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neorion Hotel is at the very center of Istanbul's history and culture, ancient and modern. Named for Byzantium's grand port (see the map) on the Golden Horn, it welcomes visitors from around the world just as the port did in the great days of Constantinople. Neorion is more than a comfortable travelers' refuge in the heart of the city. It was conceived and designed to honor and reflect all of the cultures who have enriched the city and its empires. To stay here is to learn and enjoy the cultures, cuisines, arts and traditions of all the travelers who have come before you.The hotel's 53 guest rooms and suites bring the past to life, with all modern comforts. The swimming pool, Turkish bath, massage spa, cultural library, and museum-quality decorative arts are supplemented with complimentary fine arts musical performances, cuisine demonstrations and cultural events exclusively for hotel guests. Stay with us! Experience all of Istanbul, ancient and modern, right where you live, and just outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Neorion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing