We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The employees of this hotel are outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Neorion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Neorion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The employees of this hotel are outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at the Neorion for nine nights in late-December 2013 through early-January 2014. Our son and daughter-in-law also stayed for six nights. All four of us were very pleased with the hotel.

What makes the Neorion special is the friendly and helpful staff. Çağdaş is the single best hotel administrator I have observed anywhere in the world. He conscientiously looked after the hotel, the staff, and the guests. He also arranged a New Year’s Eve celebration so the guests could enjoy the fireworks all around the city from the terrace atop the hotel. Yet he always found time to make us feel special. Ceyda, too, was extremely helpful, from handling our reservations through advising us on our visit and making our stay special. Most remarkably, when they learned that we would be celebrating our wedding anniversary, they made reservations for us at the excellent Pasazade Restaurant (see my review in the restaurant section). In fact, without exception, every employee of the hotel consistently provided cheerful, competent service.

Our room was small, but spotless. The housekeeper, Kadriye, even made towels into sculptures of an elephant on one occasion and a pair of swans on another.

The hotel also has a great location. We enjoyed walking to the major sights and to the waterfront.

Every time we return to Istanbul we will stay there.

Room Tip: Our room (410), not fronting on the main thoroughfare, was small but quieter; the other room (103) w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FEP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dearest Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate your comments.
We want to make sure all of our guests are taken care of, so I am happy to hear that we were able to help you out.
Thank you for choosing us , we look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Best Wishes from Neorion Family,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,637
    277
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
667
1,459
161
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Neorion is extremely well located, extremely clean, takes good care of you and has a very nice staff. Standard rooms, though, are small and also don't have bathtubs, so if you care about room size or don't like showers, you should definitely get a larger room. We arrived at the hotel without our luggage which was lost for three days and I must admit to being quite upset about our room. The staff was so nice about it and worked hard to find us a better room for the remainder of our stay and upgraded us without charge. The room they gave us, overlooking the Hagia Sofia, was lovely. We had a large party so a lot of rooms and I would say the triples and a level up on the doubles were all very nice. The location couldn't be better -- walking distance to all the major sights in the Old City and then also walking distance to the Galata Bridge and shopping district across the way and Bosporus ferries. Although they don't have a restaurant the food is plentiful and quite good -- wonderful breakfast and free mezze served from 3-7. Very nice to sit and have a snack after a day of touring. You wouldn't want to miss Istanbul eating, but you definitely could never pay for food staying at this hotel. And they were very helpful about our luggage, allowing us free calls to the US to try to track it down. It was also one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in which of course is nice when traveling.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor in the back with a view. Really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJL375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for the time to review our hotel;
We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay, although we regret the
room assignment problem at the beginning;
Hope to have the honor to host you soon at the Neorion;
Best wishes from Neorion Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 8 days in this hotel. We can certainly endorse the comments of other guests that, the hotel provides a first rate experience in providing extremely friendly service, with the staff going that extra step to make your stay a very memorable one. Nothing was a trouble to them, and they were very obliging and the attention to detail works extremely well from a guests point of view.
This ranges from the pre booking of events to recommendations for restaurants, the daily replenishment of Turkish Delight in the room, and the overall cleanliness of the room and swimming pool, sauna area.
We stayed in room 601 which was very roomy and quiet, with excellent views of the sea and Mosques.
I recommend a stay at this hotel, and you will see what is required in order to be rated No 1. A great experience.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SEB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dearest Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate your comments.
We want to make sure all of our guests are taken care of, so I am happy to hear that we were able to help you out.
Thank you for choosing us , we look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Best Wishes from Neorion Family,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poquoson, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here Jan 2-4 2014 based off the reviews on trip advisor. My wife and 4 kids, ages 16,14, 8, and 9. I was nervous about airport pickup as we were in transit, a group of 6, with 12 pieces of luggage. The driver was there with a placard as promised waiting on us with a van appropriate in size. A short drive later, we arrived at the hotel. It is in the heart of the old city, easy walk to Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Haga Sophia. A slightly longer walk the other way gets you to the Grand Bazaar. Tram is just steps away if you want to explore further. We stayed in rooms 308 and 309 which are in a separate little alcove. Very private. One room was a quad--actually two rooms with two full baths. The other was a double. Rooms are small, but this is due to space constraints in the old city. Bathrooms are superb, all marble with nice fixtures, built in Bidet, nice pressure in the shower. Breakfast was wonderful, many many options and very tasty. Afternoon snacks not as varied but for no cost, this is a nice touch. The staff was all super friendly and accomodating. They even included both pickup and return to airport for free. Do make sure to enjoy the pool, sauna and Turkish Baths downstairs. Very clean and nice. My wife and I both got massages, a little pricey, but after a long flight, well needed. So all in all, a wonderful family trip, will definitely stay again and highly recommended for both couples and family.

Room Tip: Room 308-309 were a perfect combo for a large family (6). Very private and plenty of space for all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poqdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dearest Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate your comments.
We want to make sure all of our guests are taken care of, so I am happy to hear that we were able to help you out.
Thank you for choosing us , we look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Best Wishes from Neorion Family,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Easy walk to all the major attractions. Room was very clean and comfortable. On a side street so no problem with street noise. The staff was gracious and accommodating, willing and able to help with all kinds of issues. I would recommend this hotel with confidence. Although it is more expensive than other hotels in the area, it is worth the added cost.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank drmmink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dearest Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate your comments.
We want to make sure all of our guests are taken care of, so I am happy to hear that we were able to help you out.
Thank you for choosing us , we look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Best Wishes from Neorion Family,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

One of the best in Istanbul. It is really perfect. Staff, decoration and location is excellent. If you have budget enough, do not hesitate to stay here. Very close the historical places. It is possible to visit city without considering the traffic jam. Breakfeast and rooms are so nice. We really enjoyed our stay.Thanks

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dearest Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate your comments.
We want to make sure all of our guests are taken care of, so I am happy to hear that we were able to help you out.
Thank you for choosing us , we look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Best Wishes from Neorion Family,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

staff amazing.for me the location is just perfect.room are big enough to have a run :) climate perfect ..what can i say about this hotel ?only positive remarks .thank you Neorion for all good times that i spend there
Razvan

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlad r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Yönetici at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dearest Guest;
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate your comments.
We want to make sure all of our guests are taken care of, so I am happy to hear that you have a nice stay.

Thank you for choosing us , we look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Best Wishes from Neorion Family,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#5 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,915 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#17 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#10 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#12 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neorion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neorion Hotel

Property: Neorion Hotel
Address: Orhaniye Street No 14 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Neorion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neorion Hotel is at the very center of Istanbul's history and culture, ancient and modern. Named for Byzantium's grand port (see the map) on the Golden Horn, it welcomes visitors from around the world just as the port did in the great days of Constantinople. Neorion is more than a comfortable travelers' refuge in the heart of the city. It was conceived and designed to honor and reflect all of the cultures who have enriched the city and its empires. To stay here is to learn and enjoy the cultures, cuisines, arts and traditions of all the travelers who have come before you.The hotel's 53 guest rooms and suites bring the past to life, with all modern comforts. The swimming pool, Turkish bath, massage spa, cultural library, and museum-quality decorative arts are supplemented with complimentary fine arts musical performances, cuisine demonstrations and cultural events exclusively for hotel guests. Stay with us! Experience all of Istanbul, ancient and modern, right where you live, and just outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Neorion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing