We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing service and location-one of the nicest hotel stays ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neorion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Neorion Hotel
Ranked #7 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Amazing service and location-one of the nicest hotel stays ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I have travelled all over the world, and our stay at Neorion was perhaps the most pleasant and generally "above and beyond" experience we have ever had at a hotel. Coupled with the fantastic location---steps from the Blue Mosque and other amazing attractions of Sultanahmet, with gorgeous views from the 6th floor terraces---and reasonable price, I can't recommend Neorion highly enough for a wonderful stay while in Istanbul.

One thing: given the windy streets around Sultanahmet, the hotel is a bit tricky to find from the airport (don't rely on GPS), so be sure to take advantage of their one free ride to or fro at that point. We had friends pick us up, and when we couldn't figure out where to go, we called the hotel and they had a very nice member of staff come to our our location (!) and guide us back. When we arrived, we were taken to the comfortable bar area by Loreta, given a drink, maps and an overview of the area. Loreta then made some recommendations for dinner and made a reservation at a delicious restaurant a short walk from the hotel, serving wonderfully prepared old-school Ottoman dishes. Our room on the 3rd floor was fine, but in hopes of a view we requested to be put on a higher floor if a room came available; the next day they put us on the 5th floor, and the day after that on the 6th floor in a specialty suite (highly recommended!) at no extra charge. I will never forget listening to the call to prayers reverberating over the astonishingly beautiful landscape, birds swooping in the air.

More generally, no matter what we asked, the response was always, 'Yes, of course we can do that', and really, the staff could not be nicer or more pleasant. Beyond the fantastic service, the breakfast spread is outstanding---they even have a honeycomb---as is the afternoon/early evening 'meze' of appetizers. Do not hesitate: reserve a room (on the 6th floor with a view, if possible), and enjoy the incredible hospitality and location of this gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: It's worth it to get a room or suite on the 6th floor, with a view facing the mosques.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoPhilosophers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Yönetici at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for your nice review.
It is a huge proud for us to be considered "above and beyond" by you.
We wish to have you again with us,

Best Wishes From Neorion Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,618
    275
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
656
1,453
161
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bucharest
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Well so far i can say that the city break in Istanbul was perfect.
We received an upgrade from Erboy Hotel where we had made the reservation to Neorion Hotel part of the same group of hotels: Sirkeci.
We stayed there from 21 to 25 February 2014. Neorion it's a luxury hotel, it is located in the walking distance of Haghia Sophia, Topkapı Palace, Blue Mosque, Underground Cistern, Spice Market, Archeology Museum and Grand Bazaar.(10 minutes)
They really care about their clients: they have a person available each day that can provide all the touristic information and reservations to reastaurants... etc... that you need in order to have a perfect holiday.
The staff is very warm, carrying and helpfull.
Spa services (pool, jacuzzi&turkish baths) are free to use for the clients. It's was wonderful to swim in February.
We had a room at 6th floor that was impecable, no noise, cleaned by the staff every day. At the last floor it is a terrace with a nice view of the city.
Breakfast is continental with lots of chioces and good quality products. After breakfast they offers free appetizers until 7PM.
I recommend in the proximity: Imbat, Pasazade and Olive Restaurants.
At the end of our staying we had a free airpot transfer.
I must thank to all the staff of the Neorion Hotel for these 5 days spent here: it was wonderfull hope to see you back in autumn.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michou002002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Yönetici at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for the nice review.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay
It would be a huge proud for us to host you again in autumn.
Hope to see you again,

Best wishes from Neorion Hotel family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Fantastic location, close to the cultural and historical center but not too close to be bugged by the noise. Excellent services, we got a free upgrade! They will do all possible to make your stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Achilles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the nice review

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay

Hope we will have the pleasure to host you soon again

Best wishes from Neorion Hotel family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I have just returned from Istanbul 2 days ago. Before booking this hotel I was intrigued and a touch sceptical at the positive review of the Neorion.

But this is where I was pleasantly surprised. On arrival there was a warm welcome. And it continued until we left to return home.

I only have praise for the staff and hotel. The service and the lovely gift of Turkish delights topped off a fantastic holiday.

I have nothing negative to say about our stay at the hotel. There was a sense of pride in the work that the staff do which was evident in the thought that has gone into the small detail of their hospitality.

The spa was amazing. A perfect way to destress. The rooms were immaculate and every effort was made to make us feel welcome. Even at midnight for a pot of hot milk for our midnight tea sessions!

I hope that the hotel goes from strength to strength and don't lose the intimate feel that they've created. All were very lovely and nothing was too much for the staff. They have mastered the skill of hospitality, professionalism and personability (which can be devoid in larger glitzy places).

The location was quite special as it was equidistant to all the major sites and it was a treat to be able to step out of the hotel and have a midnight kebab/dessert/sheesha. It is tucked beautifully away from the commercial side allowing a glimpse of istanbullions going about their daily routine from the balconies.

We'll certainly be back inshallah! Thank you Neorion for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the nice words

We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay

Hope to host you soon again

Best wishes from Neorion Hotel family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

After another fantastic stay at Neorion Hotel, I feel compelled to write to say that it is the absolute best place to stay in Istanbul! One of the best Hotels to stay in with super spacious rooms with excellent service from the staff. Stay here, and you won't to choose another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the time taken to review our hotel

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay

Hope to host you soon again

Best wishes from Neorion Hotel family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here for three nights with our three children (ages 11, 8 and 1 year), We chose the hotel mainly based on the positive reviews on websites such as this one. For us the main strengths of Neorion are its prime location and the exemplary attitude of its staff. It is located within walking distance of the main attractions such as the Blue Mosque, Haga Sofia and Grand Bazaar. if you are tired, you can just hop on the tram-the hotel is located between the stops of Gulhane and Sirkice. However, what we will really remember the hotel for is the genuinely helpful and cooperative attitude of all the people who worked there, e.g., Mr Fatih at reception and Ms Loreta of guest relations. We always felt the service provided was sincere and genuine and never over the top or intrusive. These are not common qualities you find in hotels around the world and for us count for much more than opulent rooms or state of the art gym facilities. I really hope the Neorion maintains its excellent standards because we will be expecting the same when we return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IYS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the nice words

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay

Hope to host you soon again

Best wishes from Neorion Hotel family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed at The Neorion over New Year for 4 nights. It's a cute little boutique hotel whose owners are so committed to doing the best for the guests, it is beyond lovely. I thinking 5-star big chain hotels would be hard to beat. Our red-eye flight brought us in very early. So early in fact, we hung around at the airport for a couple of hours as I wasn't sure whether the hotel would even be open.

Here are all the things I didn't expect:
1. When I arrived at 8.30 am, it was buzzing with guests having breakfast. The large seating area was a great comfort as we could relax after a long flight. We were even invited to have breakfast. (Wish I'd known this as I would have skipped the rather awful Cafe Nero effort at the airport.) The gesture and the hot meal was much appreciated.
2. We were very early even for an early Check In. Yet they managed to find a room for us by 9.30 am so that we could have a snooze and catch up with the time difference and long flight.
3. The Turkish Delight in the room was divine. I've never been a fan of this sweet until Istanbul, and I've not found Turkish Delight like the one this hotel gets for its guests.
4. They sit down with all their guests to help them orientate themselves for Sultanahmet, with suggestions on all the things you might like to do. This is all part of the welcome experience.
5. Their honesty. I had booked my trip to Istanbul such a long time before I travelled that I had forgotten what offer I was on. One of them is a free transfer from airport to hotel or vice versa. I forgot about this. They remembered. They could have easily not. And I think it is this quality that adds to the entire experience of being looked after.
6. WIFI quality is

The owners take such great care to attend to every little detail. From breakfast, to afternoon snack, to the way the rooms are cleaned, to the ham man, to the fact that they are always available for questions, help and taxis, to little welcome gifts, to farewell gifts. You may be staying in a hotel, but you always feel like you are home. The hotel has a roof terrace with views over the Bosphorous and Asian side of Istanbul.

Hotel Neorion is very conveniently located in Sultanahmet to all the main sites of historical interest. Everything is within walking distance. It's very close to the metro, though we didn't take it, preferring to walk everywhere. It is a very good base to return to during the day for a quick rest before venturing out again. I highly recommend it for your stay in Sultanahmet. If I could give it an extra star, I would, just for all the attention to detail that many hotels don't bother or forget.

Room Tip: If you are a family of 3 travelling, ask for the Triple Room. It is of good size and space. Remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PostcardTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the nice words

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay

Hope to host you soon again

Best wishes from Neorion Hotel family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#6 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,127 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#15 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neorion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neorion Hotel

Property: Neorion Hotel
Address: Orhaniye Street No 14 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Neorion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neorion Hotel is at the very center of Istanbul's history and culture, ancient and modern. Named for Byzantium's grand port (see the map) on the Golden Horn, it welcomes visitors from around the world just as the port did in the great days of Constantinople. Neorion is more than a comfortable travelers' refuge in the heart of the city. It was conceived and designed to honor and reflect all of the cultures who have enriched the city and its empires. To stay here is to learn and enjoy the cultures, cuisines, arts and traditions of all the travelers who have come before you.The hotel's 53 guest rooms and suites bring the past to life, with all modern comforts. The swimming pool, Turkish bath, massage spa, cultural library, and museum-quality decorative arts are supplemented with complimentary fine arts musical performances, cuisine demonstrations and cultural events exclusively for hotel guests. Stay with us! Experience all of Istanbul, ancient and modern, right where you live, and just outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Neorion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing